We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all good”
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's all good”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent hotel. In city center but away from noise. Terrific combination of old Irish pub while also having a terrific restaurant. Serve full Irish breakfast or your choice. Knowledgeable staff who are very helpful. They set up trips,got tee times and recommended where to eat. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They have renovated bathrooms ( en suite). Only negative is Sat night bar is loud and open late if you have a room on the street it is noisy all night. Be aware in June it is light out from 5AM until nearly midnight

Room Tip: Avoid room on street side Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    338
    116
    56
    42
See reviews for
212
317
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great place to stay in Galway. We were able to get a room for 4 that was a good size and very clean. The staff was great and very helpful. We were able to walk to all the places we wanted to go. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanSMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent location. Easy to walk to all areas of interest, yet not in the middle of things so noise on the weekend was not a problem!

My husband and I got lucky and received a free upgrade to one of the Western's apartments. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. The location was great with an outdoor terrace (shared by all apartments) with a View of Eyre Square and Galway Bay (in the distance). It had all of the essentials + a washer/dryer. Modern design, clean, comfortable, and warm. Several windows to maximize natural light. Lovely!

Staff was professional and friendly. Parking was free. Breakfast was OK. Not great, not terrible. Service at breakfast was wonderful. Coffee was mediocre. Several options including some fruit (I wish they offered something other than apples, bananas, & kiwis). Some made to order breakfast items (irish breakfast, veggie breakfast) were good.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuthatch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently placed within 5 mins walk from the centre of Galway. Friendly helpful staff. The breakfast menu was extensive and delicious. The rooms are large and comfortable and clean. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We arrived in Galway without any reservations and found this hotel located near the edge of city center. It is a short walk to restaurants and pubs. Staff was friendly and gave us a good size room with 2 extra twin beds in addition to our double bed. Beds were comfortable and room and bathroom was clean. Although small, there was a free parking garage below the hotel, nice since all the street parking has meters. Nicely decorated pub in the hotel and the bartender was very friendly and charismatic. The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant was very good. Price was good and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonezin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after booking on Wotif for Easter Sunday night, really well located for wandering in beautiful Galway. Staff were friendly, rooms clean warm and comfortable, even if not huge. Bar is a lovely snug, and meals surprisingly good quality and big (I don't think we made particularly good choices on the night, but it was a lovely menu). Brekky good and efficiently served, again huge! Car park a bit of a tight juggle but very handy to have as Galway was pumping on a Bank Holiday eve, despite the freezing weather (for Aussies anyway!).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMac1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Hi stayed at the western hotel apartments on the may bank holiday for a hen weekend. The apartment was outstanding spacious, clean and very up market! Had an apartment with sea views! Had breakfast and evening meal up at the hotel and the staff where very friendly and food was lovely. As I said we where on a hen weekend I can only comment on the apartments as we did not stay in the hotel! Very impressed keep up the great work!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,709 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Property: The Western Hotel
Address: 33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing