We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value.”
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and good value.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight in the Western, Main reason for choosing this hotel was location and we weren't disappointed. 3 minute walk from Eyre Square and the shopping, bars and restaurants. Excellent breakfast and free parking.Staff were very helpful and friendly. Watch out for special deals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    338
    116
    56
    42
See reviews for
212
317
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYCJulie
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is a very short walk, about 3-5 minutes, to JFK Park and all the bars, restaurants, shopping, etc. The hotel is old, but updated and very charming. The rooms appear to all be different. We had a fake fireplace and an oil painting in our room. The staff is very friendly, parking is free, an excellent breakfast is free and they gave us a coupon for something like a bottle, of wine, two 3 course meals for 38 euro. And the food was good! I would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our first night in Ireland, wanted a good nights sleep - got it. Great value - got it. Free on site parking - got it. Wonderful breakfast - included in price - got it. Best of all wanted to experience traditional Irish music - did not even have to drag our tired bodies anywhere - got it in the bar ! Fortuanately it was thursday ! Thanks for a very good start to our trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JumboKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

What made the hotel a good choice was the location, ability to accommodate four in a room, breakfast included and car parking included in the price. Staff was great. It has a nice pub, too. All in all, while the hotel is a very good value for the price. For the budget conscious traveler this is a great choice. Spent two nights there and was very satisfied. Not luxurious but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel was lovely and clean but the room lacked wee things.
No light at the mirror side of the room and only one small dresser where you had to put the kettle on leaving you even less space, although there was loads of room for further furniture.
Big bathroom spotlessly clean.
Room has still not been serviced by 3.30pm, although reception did deliver clean towels at my reuest very promptly.
The meals ok, but good value, breakfast all you need, small portions on hot food,
Good car park and near the city centre with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogly5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is phenomenally disappointing.

#1 - very limited parking
#2 - no Internet
#3 - black mold absolutely everywhere. The ceiling, the wall hangings, the shower tile - you name it.
#4 - smelly room (because of the mold)
#5 - paper thin walls = sleepless nights
#6 - dated and dingy decor (cigarette burns in the curtains)

The list could go on. But hey, the price is right and you get a free breakfast.

I have no idea how tripadvisor is reporting mainly positive reviews. I could literally hear other guests complaining through my paper thin walls.

In summary, avoid this place like you'd avoid black mold.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IHeartTheMitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I 've just returned from a 3 night stay in Galway,I was there for a short city break and concert.I chose the Western as it was central,also it had good reviews.I enjoyed my stay,the room was very nice,as was the whole hotel.The staff were very helpful.It had an excellent restaurant and bar.I had a meal in the restaurant,which is always busy,it's best to book,the fish special was excellent.The same menu is available in the bar area,where there is a good selection of drinks,and they make a lovely Irish Coffee.They have musicians in on some evenings,starting around 10pm.
The breakfast was excellent,such a wide choice,the main breakfast is freshly cooked and brought to you,which is good,also there is a wide choice of cereals,brown bread,pastries and scones to choose from.
The hotel is so convenient for the city,everything you need is only a few minutes away. I would certainly use this hotel again. The only downside was that there was noise from outside at night ,but it is on a busy road so it can't be helped,but everything else was perfect.

Room Tip: not sure where to choose for best, due to the location,but people could maybe ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Junenoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,711 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Property: The Western Hotel
Address: 33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing