We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Musical weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Musical weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend to take in the music sessions of Galway. They have an open session on Thursday nights which anyone can join. Good standard, great company and it goes onto the wee hours of the morning. The hotel itself is just of the main square, staff are friendly, place is clean and breakfast will keep you going for a long time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghFamilyOfSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    321
    110
    54
    42
See reviews for
192
302
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived on the Saturday of the bank holiday weekend. Myself and my wife on a first weekend away for quite some time. Galway is a great destination and we wanted to enjoy the beer and the grub and generally have a fun time.
The first thing to be wary of is the car park. It's too small and you are liable either not to get a space or be blocked by another car. On checking in, we were allocated a family room on the fourth floor. The room was not good. The room was L shaped, with a double bed and a single bed. Faults were; only one bedside table, a TV on the wall with wires hanging out and impossible to view from the main bed. We also on checking the bed, found the pillow was ripped. I went down to reception and in fairness, the Duty Manager, Joanne, was pleasant and professional and allocated us another room on the third floor, which was a huge improvement.
The rest of our stay was enjoyable. The rooms could do with a lick of paint and holes in the wall repaired The breakfast was excellent and the staff attentive. I would recommend the hotel but it's a 3 star rating and would be higher except for issues which could be rectified with a little more attention to " the little things".

Room Tip: Avoid Family Room on 4th Floor (410) Good Family Room on 3rd Floor (303)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barty1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had a one night stay here, very reasonable price in comparison to other hotels in the area, a minutes walk from the heart of the city.
Overall it was very good, staff were very friendly and helpful, food was lovely and not over-priced, nice big room and en-suite. Only negative points were the corridor needed a lick of paint and the carpark was full, but the staff took care of that.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel has a bit of character, but by far the best thing was the staff. They were so friendly and really helpful. The breakfast is pretty good also. Rooms were clean and fit for purpose. Really close to downtown shopping, theatre, pubs, whatever you want.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We (my wife and I ) stayed at the hotel for a 2 day break,and while the basics were adequate,we found the following frustrating. There were only 4 channels tuned into the TV and neighter the person who came in to replace a faulty Kettle or hotel reception,"knew anything about whats available on the TV.(Reception should or know who does).Really wanted to watch fair-city and keep abreast of the news over the 2 days...but no rte 1 or 2. Also one chair in the room,and a light flickering over one of the beds. Barmen,got fair-city on the tv in bar for me,and said he could look at the tv in room for me?..he was helpful in fairness,but i didnt f/p with him. We arrived down at 9:55 for breakfast on last morning,having slept in,and we felt totally rushed to get out of there,the fry arrived,before we were almost started our grapefruit,the banging of dishes etc,the circling the table,could even hear one of the staff saying to another,is there anyone left,there were painters coming in,and we could over hear ,oh theres people eating,give us another 10 minutes?? etc .My wife did complain afterwards and reception was very sympathetic,and said they would raise with manager...The thank you,bye bye or whatever as we left felt hollow:-)Just think overall the staff could up their game in terms of helpfulness and friendliness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downings, Co Donegal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times and always found the Staff extremely helpful. Service in the Restaurant was very good and food was delicious. Beds are very comfortable, got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 205Deb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night and would completely recommend. Great price, location is fantastic....so close to everything, and very handy. Breakfast was included and was really good. Everything was clean and room was very big. Given we were only in Galway for one night, this was perfect for us to explore everything, plus it has free parking. The reception is cute, and staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janita_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Property: The Western Hotel
Address: The Western Hotel 33 Prospect Hill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing