We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making up for mistakes is a quality”
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
parma, italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Making up for mistakes is a quality”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had booked two rooms for two nights. On the first night it was difficult to sleep, though we were at second floor, because there was a party in the tavern. We complained and found the Manager of the hotel really keen on listening and finding a positive solution, given there would be another party on the second night as well. She placed us in a very quiet apartment across the street. Great reaction, very much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceciliaParma_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    343
    123
    58
    43
See reviews for
219
327
46
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My boyfriend stayed here in May 2009 while I was with a group from college traveling around Ireland for 2 and a half weeks. I spent one night with him here, and it was a great hotel. I felt safe there and the rooms were very large for Europe. It also had a very deep bathtub that after having to shower in very sketchy showers (and sometimes not showering at all!) felt like heaven!

The hotel was clean, neat, and very close to the Sleepzone hostel where I was staying. My boyfriend picked it based on its proximity to where I would be staying, and it turned out to be a perfect place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonouraryBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice clean hotel with friendly hotel staff, the building itself had some character, location is very close to eyre square

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lackastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed here midweek, Wed & Thurs in early April 2012 . I was with a group of lads on a 2 venue golfing break. The staff were excellent, friendly, polite and attentive. Our rooms were very clean and well presented and the food was fantastic. ( I can highly recommend their 19 euro 3 course evening meal with a bottle of wine deal.) What more can I say, the hotel was just fabulous. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Galway area. Well done the Western Hotel!

Room Tip: Look no further... This hotel offers first class accomodation and service at hard-to-beat prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustJohn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

we really liked this hotel: great location 300 metres from the city centre and right next to great shops. There is a lovely pub in the hotel with musicians coming and playing typical irish music on thursdays.

The restaurant was excellent and they had great prices.

We stayed in a family room on the last floor and we had a nice view on the ocean in the back! it was confortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Good hotel, free secure car parking in the city centre. Location was great, right beside Eyre Sqaure in the centre of Galway. Rooms were fine no complaints except TV was wall mounted and every remote they gave me failed to work! Breakfast was fine and didnt use any other facilities

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckybox101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Clean rooms, good food in adjacent bar/restaurant. Located just a few blocks from main square of Galway - a short 2 min walk. Friendly staff. Wished we could have stayed more than 1 night, but being on a budget didn't want to splurge on a more expensive room on the weekend. Good value for the price. Couldn't have asked for more, would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashinyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Property: The Western Hotel
Address: 33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing