We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
Review of Asgard Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asgard Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Don't stay in the loud city centre! Stay with Mary in her quiet house and safely walk 5 minutes to where the activity is. A lovely homey house with a garden to envy! Delicious food in a sunroom overlooking the garden. The room was small but clean and very comfy.

Mary and Ron's recommendation on where to eat turned out to be wise beyond compare. Martine's did not disappoint and Tigh Coili was our go-to pub. I think we went there 4 times in 2 days.

This is a perfect location to use a your home base while you explore the area.

(Mary will give you a discount if you pay cash)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordnShumway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    107
    22
    8
    16
See reviews for
106
176
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a great stay in July '13 for two nights. Mary and Ron were fantastic hosts. The days were in there the temperatures were in the 80s F and our last b&b was uncomfortably hot, Mary gave us the option of a couple different rooms and moved us to one that was much cooler. Ron was a great help in giving us idea on where to eat and see live music. The walk into town was very short and easy. I'd definitely recommend this place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenjleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

First trip to Ireland with my wife and family. The home is beautiful, and the diningroom/sunroom that overlooks a garden is wonderful. Get the full Irish breakfast....you won't be disappointed. Mary and Ron were both amazing hosts, and were spot-on in recommending the best Galway has to offer....all within a short walk. Ron gave my brother and law and I an education on the differences between Gaelic football, rugby and hurling. We found out that our travel agency hadn't paid them at the time we were checking out, and Mary wouldn't hear of us taking time out of our travels to worry about it (we still made sure the check was in the mail before we pulled out of the lot). I'd post a picture of us, but Mary made me promise....so I'll post one from the outside. Ron also takes great pride and does a great job with the flowers and garden, which just adds to the whole experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rodney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenried, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

warm welcome; great sightseeing and other tipps by owners mary & ron; excellent breakfast (best french toast ever); fantastic hospitality; we really enjoyed our stay and always had a great chat with the owners!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle_RAY-G_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The owners of this B&B, Mary and Ron, were incredibly accommodating. We were traveling with a 10 month old infant and they went out of their way to make sure we were settled and helped us out whenever we asked. The place is located in a strip of B&B houses a short walk from town. The walk was short enough to go back and forth several times a day for us with the stroller. There was even a park nearby for the baby to go play in (opposite direction from town). Everything was clean and the bed pretty comfy too. We slept with the window open and the road was not too loud (and we were in the front of the house).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empeterson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

this was so close to city center as we could get, maybe 5 minutes walking, Mary was so helpfull and kind to make us feel welcomed and at home. there are many b&b's to choose from on this street so we felt lucky to choose this one. Her breakfast was wonderfull (french toast) i have never seen this on any b&b menue so far was just like i make at home. her husban Rob and her grandson were a delight to be around, rob has many stories to tell if you get him started. diffentley would stay there again. amazing time we had. great to be close to city center and just walke back as we did one night around 1:00. very clean and personal.

Room Tip: in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucky1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had an amazing time in this B&B. The room was fairly modest though very clean. What made this place stand out was the personal attention showered on us by the hosts - Mary and Ron. They went out of the way to make our stay comfortable, had excellent recommendations for what we wanted to do, and accommodated our requests with a smile. The hospitality in itself is enough to rate this place 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KosTravelisLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
877 reviews
2.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 187 in Galway
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asgard Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asgard Guesthouse

Property: Asgard Guesthouse
Address: Asgard 21 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Hotel Class:3 star — Asgard Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Asgard Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asgard Guesthouse Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing