We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hosts but busy street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hosts but busy street”
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We booked this B&B because of the wonderful reviews. Yes, the hosts are very nice and the breakfast was tasty. The room we stayed in had twin beds and was tiny-- we had to stack our two suitcases. The bathroom was modern but since we were on the top floor, the ceiling slopped in the bathroom and so it seemed claustrophobic in the shower for someone 5'10.

The side of the property where our room was located faces a very busy main street and we couldn't sleep with the windows open because the traffic was loud even into the night.

If I was booking again in Galway I would book something closer to the center of town-- this place was about 3km into town-- and on a quieter street.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DCSenorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

To use Mary's own words the Auburn House in Galway is "Brilliant". Mary and Roddy are the hosts of a most wonderful B&B in Galway. From the day that we arrived until the day we departed, we were spoiled with the utmost care and hospitality. The Auburn House is an excellent place to stay when visiting Galway and the surrounding area. It is close to downtown and the bus pickup (if you don't want to drive) is just down the street. The rooms are very clean, neatly appointed, and above all cozy. (A good selection of books to prevue as well). The shower is a wonderful treat.
Above all, Mary and Roddy's hospitality is genuine. We so enjoyed our stay, that we left a bag just to go back and pick it up again to say hello!
I cannot say enough about the experience at the Wyer's home, and would highly recommend it to anyone with good taste and the desire for an enjoyable stay in Galway, Ireland.
PS. Mary is an excellent cook. The breakfast was fantastic.

  • Liked — The genuine hospitality and great food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank somewhatirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2007

We booked here after reading these wonderful reviews. We're a family of six (four kids, ages 16, 14, 12 and 6), on our first trip to Ireland, and stopped here one night while visiting Galway. We arrived somewhat late (and a bit cranky and tired), but immediately Mary and Roddy made us feel warm and welcome and happy again. They were so sweet to our kids, including our special-needs 16-year-old (who wanted -- and got -- a hug from them every five minutes). Roddy gave us great tips for our "night of music" in Galway. Our rooms that night were cozy, comfy, clean and very quiet. The firm beds are suprisingly comfortable. The next morning I opened my door to the wonderful smell of Mary's breakfast. She cheerfully accomodated all of my picky kids' individual menu orders. It was our best breakfast of the trip! This was my kids' first experience in a B&B, and now they're hooked (if only all B&Bs were as nice as this one!). Mary also followed up with a nice e-mail, offering to send me (for free) some Ibuprofen I'd left there. As others have mentioned, this is not in Galway City Centre (it's about a 5-minute drive), and it's next to a busy street, but please don't let that deter you. Mary and Roddy's warmth and hospitality are not to be missed!

  • Liked — The great hosts, wonderful breakfast, and comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay more than one night
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mcpooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We arrived on Sunday afternoon as the owner Mary was painting her front door. She eagerly showed us around their beautiful home. All of the bedrooms were cozy and comfortable. Both mary and Roddy gave us ideas of tourist sites to see while in the area. For 35 euro per person, (70 euro total for our room), it was well worth it. The breakfast was delicious! We would definitely stay again next time we go to Ireland!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dream530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We chose this B&B because Mary sent us a lovely email "looking forward to welcoming you to our home". The welcome in the email was extended wholeheartedly on our arrival. Both Mary and Roddy could not have been more accommodating - they looked after us so well and made our stay in Galway perfect! Great breakfasts - wonderful homecooked food that filled us up for the day (which was good news because eating out can be expensive). Mary's home-made bread is divine!
The B&B is on the main road into Galway centre, served by buses that generally came on time but not always the same number as the bus route number (one of the charms of Ireland!).
Galway is a fantastic city - great restaurants and lovely people.
You don't need to hire a car if you don't want to - plenty of trips out to choose from.
But if you are bemused by the number of B&Bs available - do try Auburn House. You will love it & be totally spoilt!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank madness_hamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Wanted to say that our stay at Auburn house this summer for our first trip to Ireland was wonderful. Mary was more than accomidating to our needs. She had no problem letting us check in late and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Moreover, I was able to check my email and she even mailed a sweater to me that I had forgotten when we checked out.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious, comfortable and a great hostess
  • Disliked — Could have been a little closer to town
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahaOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We had decided to drive the Dingle Penisula after leaving Killarney. At 6 pm we called Auburn House to alert them of our late arrival, Mary was so gracious and we didn't feel any pressure as it got later and later. We finally arrived at Auburn House at 11 pm and Roddy graciously carried our bags in. The place is beautiful and immaculate. In the morning we found that the shower had wonderful water pressure (not the case at other B&Bs on our trip). The breakfast was wonderful! We only had two nights at Auburn house, and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.
Wendy Morris

  • Liked — The proprietors
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wlmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.6 mi away
Abacus Guest House
Abacus Guest House
#41 of 185 in Galway
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 185 in Galway
288 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 185 in Galway
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
829 reviews
1.5 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 185 in Galway
606 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons B&B
Four Seasons B&B
#34 of 185 in Galway
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Merlin Gate, Merlin Park, Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Auburn House B&B)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Dublin road, 5 km from Galway city center. Bus to city center 50 meters from our front door. Free private parking and free WiFi in every room. Each room comes with breakfast included. We have a guest computer and a free printing service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing