We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid At All Costs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockbarton Park Hotel

Rockbarton Park Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockbarton Park Hotel
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid At All Costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

While the staff was very friendly and helpful, I cannot believe that this hotel is still operating .... and charging prices of more modern hotels in the area!

This hotel was opened in the 1970's and appears not to have been refurbished since. Where to begin ... the cabbage smelling room... the towels smelling of chicken stock..... the lack of warm water or water pressure ..... the curtains which did not close .... the sink almost falling off the wall ... or simply the awful & very dated decor....? We have never been so dissatisfied by the standard of hotel we stayed in!!

Basically, our stories of our stay at the hotel provided friends staying elsewhere with much entertainment over the course of our stay!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abcdefg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed in this hotel in March 2008 over the Easter break. Patsy the owner is a lovely person and is very helpful with directions and attractions etc. She made our stay very comfortable and welcoming. The rooms are a bit dated and there were no tea coffee making facilities which meant we had to buy cups of coffee from the bar each day after we had been out and about around Galway. We had a nice evening meal in the hotel on one occassion but the breakfast did leave a lot to be desired. I think there could be an improvement in this area. Again the owner is lovely friendly person and I would go back again just because of her. We had two small children with us and the hotel suited us because noise was limited and the children were able to keep to their normal bedtime routine. Not for a romantic getaway but friendly for families.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debsmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

LIMERICK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

I stayed at this hotel/B&B in Jan 2008 with my wife upon recommendation from a family member and must say I was extremely disappointed for the following reasons.
1. We booked a double ,the bed was 3/4 size which was tiny and very uncomfortable with a lumpy mattress and old style pillows (which were rock hard) .This resulted in no sleep .
2. Room decor like something out of a retro 70's movie horrid.
3.Cold ,no working shower with 0 hot water ,towels were sparce and not v clean.No Soap/Shower gel or even enough toilet paper.
4.Noisy guests in the restaurant which didnt vacate until 2am and when they did you could hear them clearly from the room.
5.Horrible breakfast which consisted of Full Irish with ingredients that clearly were not fresh and no veggie option. Fruit jucie straight from the carton ....disappointing!!
6.Very slow service while checking in and no tea/coffee facilities in the room???what surely this is to be expected in the lowest star hotel these days....???

The only good point is the owner is very pleasant and has a great attitude to the trade with a welcoming smile and charm.

I won't be back and with a cost of 90 euro's there is by far more choice with better facilities in Salthill and Galway for that matter..

Very disappointed customer.

  • Liked — Owner is friendly and pleasant and the atmos is relaxed
  • Disliked — No working shower and terrible beds.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LIMERICKLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2007

Stayed here for one night mid September. Location is great as it is in a upper class neighbourhood just outside Galway City (about a 30 minute walk or short bus/taxi ride). This is a very small hotel and rooms are old and basic, but clean (which is most important to me). Breakfast was great and included in the room rate which is among the lowest in Galway. Upon checking out, my rental car would not start. Staff member (executive chef I believe) went out of his way to get a hold of the car rental company to arrange a repair. He drove us to town in his own car so we could explore Galway city while our car was repaired. Could not have asked or expected such great customer service!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArcticGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed there for a weekend, it's very close to the main strip in Salthill and a short stagger home :-)
Staff were very friendly, bar was very comfy, we ate here and the restaurant food was excellent. Rooms were basic but for the price were very good value for money. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank daithioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

where to start?The room was very dated,the towels smelled of ciggarettes,our feet hung off the end of the bed,the toilet required 1/2hour to refill between flushes,the bedside light was fitted with a flurecent bulb that was extremely bright,the curtains blocked out NO morning sun,noise from people chatting in the corridor....theres many hotels nearby that are much more modern and professional for the same price.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank vickylondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2007

The Rockbarton is a quiet family hotel located in Salthill, away from the hussle and bustle of the promenade area. The hotel is in a quiet estate two streets away from the main artery of Salthill.

The rooms are simple but comfy. the best point is the quality of the warm welcome delivered by Tamara and the astounding quality of the food prepared by her husband, Ciaran.
The restaurant is highly esteemed and appreciated by locals.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Tourist-from-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#30 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Galway
Travelodge Galway
#21 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#34 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockbarton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockbarton Park Hotel

Property: Rockbarton Park Hotel
Address: The Rockbarton Park Hotel 5/7 Rockbarton Park, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rockbarton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing