We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better be playing well if the wind blows! :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Galway Golf Club

Galway Golf Club
Ranked #15 of 37 Outdoor Activities in Galway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 18 Hole Championship Golf Course overlooking world famous Galway Bay Buggy Hire Motorised Caddy Car Hire Pro - Shop Full bar and catering facilities Practice Area Short Game area Putting Green Dr. Alastair McKenzie designed course Course located on the Wild Atlantic Way
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better be playing well if the wind blows! :)”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great test of golf here is the wind is up. Always enjoy knocking about here. Clubhouse is very nice and so are the staff.. even if the members are a bit stuck up. They do a nice steak here if you are hungry! All in all a great days golf to be had here if you get a nice open day to enter! Only negative would be the actual members of the club are not friendly (which may bother some) ad they have no practice ground!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Wesst,

Many thanks for your review of and repeat visit to Galway GC. Practice facilities on-site include putting green, designated short game area, practice nets and also a practice area. We look forward to you sampling each of these upon your next visit with us.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our first links experience.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had about a 15 minute drive to course from city center.Very nice club house .Golf was 66 euro's each with golf,club rental,pull cart and 6 balls.Only disappointment was rental clubs weren't great and a very mismatched set9at least that's my excuse).Course was great and beautiful with may ocean views and some water and marshes to play over.Would be tough on a windy day.We enjoyed it so much,for 15 euro's we played an extra 9 holes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Chris N,

Thank you for your recent review of your time a Galway Golf Club. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and take on board your comments regarding your rental set. Thank you for choosing Galway GC.

Kind regards,
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner, open to the public”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

All the food was excellent quality and beautifully presented. We arrived about 7:30, and in June there is still plenty of light left for golfers to be out, so I'm afraid it was rather noisy. Still, we enjoyed our meals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1Galway, General Manager at Galway Golf Club, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Kate K,

Thank you for your review of your dining experience at Galway Golf Club. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

Kind regards
Dave Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Golf Course”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

A true test of golf in this well maintained and beautifully manicured course. The greens deserve special mention and are a credit to the head greenkeeper.
Beautiful club house serving snacks and full meals very nice cuisine and choice.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank marberryhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value links .”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Testing course , specially when the wind blows . The first few holes along the sea require perfect ball control , the rest of the course slightly less demanding . Good exercise , a few steep climbs, with good views [ on a clear day ] .
We paid 30 EUR , not bad for a course in walking distance from the centre of Galway .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galway Golf Club also viewed

 
Oughterard, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Galway Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing