We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect everything-Choose Kilcullen!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stop B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stop B&B
Ranked #5 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect everything-Choose Kilcullen!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Emer and Russell are lovely people. Their B+B is cosy and good value. I came alone but never felt lonely once here. Breakfast is lush. Try Emer's homemade cookies and bread-delicious! Galway is great, Ireland is great, I shall be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabama_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    133
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
131
333
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

Loved Kilcullen House...rooms spotlessly clean, breakfast was lovely and tasty - everything freshly cooked. Great location, just minutes walk to the city centre and Salthill. Cool artwork in the house & the host & staff most helpful with great tips on bars and restaurants. Would stay here again on return to Galway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

Well the location for this bed and breakfast was great and the owners recommendations for things to do and places to eat were excellent. That being said, I would never stay here again. There were rather large spiders everywhere in the place, including my room and my bathroom. The shower water was way, way too hot and the owner couldn't fix it. The parking was very tight and there wasn't enough for all the guests. The room was very small and sparce (except for the 8 legged decorations) and the bed wasn't comfy at all. The breakfast was good but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingpixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilcullenHouse, Owner at The Stop B&B, responded to this review, February 7, 2010
Emer and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of our guests that have taken the time to leave feedback on Trip Advisors. We are constantly looking to make our B and B the best it can be and find all the comments really useful. We have spent the winter renovating all our bathrooms and are delighted with the result. We really enjoyed 2009 and we look forward to welcoming returning and new guests in 2010.
Best Wishes, Russell and Emer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed here in Nov and our stay in this B+B very good. Warm room, good service, host friendly, room clean and value also very good. Large breakfast helped for trip away to Burren and Connemara, fruit and ˇ´frý´ˇ was good also!! Walk to city and all restuarant, bars took 5mins maximum. Owner said closing before Christmas holiday to renovate bathroom, would stay again and really recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavelstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

This was easliy the most dissapointing B&B we stayed in over 2 weeks touring Ireland. The room was small, the bathroom tiny, and sadly the shower unit was not cleaned until I rinsed away the previous occupants stray pubes myself. The Water Bolier was in our room, so susbequently the room was too hot. Though I was asked exactly what time I wanted to eat my Irish Breakfast (the afternoon before) this info clearly wasn't passed to the kitchen as they made a point of telling me I hadn't stipulated what I wanted in advance.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Statto74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed here for one night and paid 80 euros which was a rip-off. The best thing about this place is its location - less than 5 mins walk from Galway city. But the room was very basic and the bed was dreadful - the most uncomfortable bed I ever slept in...I had to put a pillow under me to sleep. The bathroom needs updating, was tiny and the extractor on the ceiling was filthy. Our hairdryer didn't work and when we brought this to the staff attention that night, they said they would make a note of it for the morning but nothing was done the next morning. I think this place would be fine if they charged 40-50 euros per night but 80 is just too steep.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueskiesireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

I drove from Dublin and stayed at this great B&B for a short stay in Galway and cannot fault this place. It is only a 5 min walk from the heart of Galway city and the rooms are spotlessly clean. Great to get safe parking so close to the city too. This B&B has a lovely arty feel to it, with beautiful pictures and prints on the walls. I thought the breakfast was delicious with a variety of fruit, cereal, cheese, yogurt etc as well as the yummy irish breakfast. The owners were really friendly and gave us great recommendations for local bars and restaurants. Lovely ambience, quiet and relaxing. I will definetely be returning to this B&B again as it would make a great base for sightseeing around connemara and the west.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sindisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#17 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stop B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stop B&B

Property: The Stop B&B
Address: Kilcullen House 38 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Kilcullen House)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Stop B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcullen House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing