We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely stay here if you're visiting Galway”
Review of The Stop B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stop B&B
Ranked #5 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The B&B is very nicely decorated with artsy pieces but in a homey, not pretentious way. The hosts were super nice and gave us a self-drawn map of their personal recommendations in the city. Location is great--less than 10 min walk to city center and grocery store right across the street. Bedroom was clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water and good wifi connection. Breakfast was top notch too. Definitely stay here if you're visiting Galway!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amysmhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 706 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at The Stop last summer and found it to be clean, friendly and modern. I would recommend it to anyone. Russell, Emer and the other staff members were perfect hosts and were very helpful in helping us to locate local attractions. Russell's breakfasts were generously sized and Emer's homemade cookies were delicious. The Stop is ideally located close to the centre of Galway City and is also within easy walking distance of Salthill. I'll definitely be booking to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our stay at The Stop was cozy, clean and comfortable - Russell is so kind and welcoming, he looked after us so well and had some really great Galway tips. The breakfast each morning was delicious and we loved the bright dining room and the quirky sitting room (where you can help yourself to tea, coffee and delicious homemade cookies) The location is perfect and there's a shop and ATM right across the road which is a bonus. Rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. It was my first B&B experience and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ems54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

What an amazing Bed and Breakfast. Russell and Emer went out of their way to insure that we had an enjoyable stay. Their hospitality was beyond expected, so much so that we extended our stay. The breakfast like everything else was incredible and I could not recommend this Bed and Breakfast enough!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here last week - got great help from the outset from the owner , Russell and also he communicated with us en route and showed us to the car park on arrival. The place is very clean , simple and the breakfast was really really good. definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBM97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Title says it all really. Yes, it is quite small and so too are the rooms but it is all superbly well done. Breakfast is worth the stay alone. What really make it are the owners though - their personal approach and hospitality is simply a cut above.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife, myself and 2 other adults enjoyed a great stay at Kilcullen House last fall. The B & B is in a great location - easy walking distance to the center of Galway City. When we arrived we were pleasantly greeted by delicious smells from the kitchen (food was being prepared for breakfast the next morning). We were asked to choose our breakfast options from the blackboard in the dining room. The breakfast was awesome! Very delicious and plenty of options to choose from. The rooms were comfortable (basic but all we needed). It was the little touches that made this place special - the décor in the common area was really cool, they provided cookies and refreshments in the common living room area that you could help yourself to at any time of the day, and they provided every guest room with a list of dining/drink options in the city which was super helpful! Thanks for the fantastic stay and we hope to stay with you again if we ever return to Galway City!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mash460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,100 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 189 in Galway
703 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 189 in Galway
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stop B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stop B&B

Address: Kilcullen House 38 Father Griffin Road, Galway H91 FH76, Ireland (Formerly Kilcullen House)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $104 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Stop B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcullen House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing