We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and happening bed and breakfast”
Review of The Stop B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stop B&B
Ranked #5 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We loved our stay at The Stop in Galway. The location is excellent - took us about five minutes (strolling) to walk to Quey Street. Breakfasts were awesome - my kids say that they were the best we had during our stay in Ireland. The rooms and bathrooms are a tad small and the mattresses are really firm, but bedrooms are exceptionally clean and updated. We loved hanging out in the front room and tea and cookies were always available. We have stayed at a couple of more luxiourous bed and breakfasts, but The Stop is our favorite by far. Russell is a great host and is always around to give suggestions and input.

While in Galway don't miss a stop in at the Pie Maker - best pies ever!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melindamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 705 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

needs new mattresses and please use top sheets...we can deal with the small clean rooms but a horrible nights sleep is not accessible! who wants to sleep with just a comforter and no top sheet...ridiculous :/

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevegBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have stayed at this B&B as well as the Prague House next door about four times now. These B&B's are in an excellent location, close walking distance to Galway city center. The Stop has a really neat style with the newer owners, Russell and Emer. It's trendy and feels younger than any other B&B I have stayed at. Really neat furniture in the rooms which Russell made, you can slide your luggage right under the bed. Absolutely delicious breakfast, and a break from the normal if you're on your 14th day of Irish Breakfast. Russell and Emer made nice recommendations for things to see/do and also places to eat/drink. Comfortable sleeping and great eating, also yummy biscuits in the lounge. They do have off-street parking, but it's tight and almost a game to fit all the cars in the back. ;-) Thank you Russ and Emer, we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessiegirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, especially access to tea,coffee and homemade biscuits on arrival.An easy walk into the city center,with helpful recommendations from staff as to where to eat.Our room was comfortable and relatively spacious however the bathroom's sloping ceiling provided a challenge when using the toilet for males. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was a problem for the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I am so happy to have found a great city B&B in Galway. If fun, a little funky, very reasonable and one of the best breakfasts I've had in a long while! Also, I was staying here on my own and felt completely comfortable which is a very big thing for me.

The only reason it didn't get a 5* from me was because the room I was in was very near the entrance to the Kitchen/breakfast room and so was a little noisy in the morning. But having said that I would happily stay in The Stop B&B again, solo or with friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cece2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend our friends and family and would stay again if we are lucky enough to return to Galway!

The location is great, especially for the price. An easy 7 min walk to the bars and restaurants/downtown.

Super clean, rooms basic, quiet. Breakfasts amazing, a selection which you can order from for the morning. Not large portions, easily supplemented with the fruit, cereal, fresh breads and juices laid out for you.

House very nicely decorated. Beautiful artwork.

Staff very helpful and friendly. Helped us with maps, phone calls to book activities etc.

You should stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Galway, mostly for a friend's wedding but took in the sites nearby as part of the trip. the stop is perfectly located, right over the river from the city center, so it was easy to get around. We were planning on visiting the Aran Islands, we mentioned it to Russell one morning at breakfast and he phoned up the bus company to see when the next bus to the ferry was going to be - turns out it was right in front of the B&B, saving us a walk. The breakfasts are ample in Ireland and this was no exception - a good base to start out our days of wandering about! I would definitely stay there again, should I have the opportunity to return to the west of Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,044 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,866 reviews
1.2 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 60 in Galway
627 reviews
0.4 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stop B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stop B&B

Address: 38 Father Griffin Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Kilcullen House)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $115 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Stop B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcullen House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing