We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”
Review of The Stop B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stop B&B
Ranked #5 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Kilcullen House was perfect for us (two young women). The hosts are very nice, down-to-earth and courteous. The B&B is close situated to the centre of Galway and the room was small but comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed our daily breakfast with the homemade bread (delicious!) and the large assortment of breakfast (irish, porridge, buffet, french toast etc). Kilcullen House made our stay in Ireland perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivianeTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for The Stop B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 694 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was the second time my boyfriend and I stayed at Killcullen House-and once again it was a real treat! It's the perfect location in Galway- a short walk to the bustling bar section, but still a quiet getaway at the end of the day. Emer and Russell are the perfect hosts-they make you feel as if their home, is your home! Best part- this Bed and Breakfast is so clean and reasonably priced compared to other places in Galway!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davaliant00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Located in Claddagh between Galway and Salthill. Small rooms but lovely breakfast. Owners are young couple, knowledgeable about sights and restaurants. A 10 minute walk into Galway; 5 minutes to pub with outstanding traditional music.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Interesting, travelled hosts. Excellent standards and service. Calm and homely, lovely pictures to look at. Like staying with friends. Very close to city centre, easy to walk in and out. Easy to find. This will be my first choice when I'm staying in Galway from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_R_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Wonderful experience. Anyone visiting Galway should put Kilcullen House at the very top of their list. Was traveling with family, including my one year old nephew. Arrived to the B&B, when my nephew started to cry. Russell greeted us warmly, gave the baby a toy, and immediately made us feel welcome. My room was large, spacious, and sunny and very clean. Besides the excellent hospitality, things that make the B&B unique: a) it has a wonderful artsy vibe, lots of different posters and prints on the wall b) Personal touches such as the home baked biscuits in the living room, handrawn maps with Russell and Emer's restaurant recommendations, etc. c) Great location. Within a 5 minute walk of city centre. Also, it is across from a SuperValu grocery store so very convenient. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShuliQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I came to Galway on a sight-seeing and culture trip. We chose Killcullen House from the others because my wife was tempted by the promise of home-made cookies and being an art nut, I liked the sound of a Band B bedecked with contemporary art and with its own mini-art library. Neither of us were disappointed.
When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Emer and because there was more than one room free, we were given the choice of three rooms. The rooms are not huge but all were clean and comfortable. There was heating when we needed it. We were tired from our trip so once we were settled into our room it was relaxing to chill in the sitting room, munch the delicious home-made cookies and browse through a collection of David Shrigley's art work. We were also delighted to discover Russell's connection to the Arts Centre in Galway and read about the exhibition being held there.
Killcullen House is conveniently situated just 5 minutes walk into the centre of town, but far enough out to be quiet at night. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were fantastic. I would recommend Killcullen House to anyone travelling to Galway who wants a quiet and relaxing place to stay and who is interested in culture.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harbourman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We spent 2 nights here and we absolutly LOVED this special place. Location is great (5 minutes walk from the center, with a very nice supermarket nearby), atmosphere amazing, rooms clean, cosy and confortable, breakfast absolutly... yum-yum! Parking too is very usefull and it was very comfortable also for a big Toyota Avensis.
Emer and Russell will make you feel at home: we have found here all we needed and also more (Emer's homemade biscuits are to die for and we loved Russell's French toast!).
For sure, we would come back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xarajerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,976 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,814 reviews
1.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,560 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 188 in Galway
710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 59 in Galway
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stop B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stop B&B

Address: 38 Father Griffin Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Kilcullen House)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $117 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Stop B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcullen House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing