We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great decor, great cookies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stop B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stop B&B
Ranked #5 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great decor, great cookies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I came to Galway on a sight-seeing and culture trip. We chose Killcullen House from the others because my wife was tempted by the promise of home-made cookies and being an art nut, I liked the sound of a Band B bedecked with contemporary art and with its own mini-art library. Neither of us were disappointed.
When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Emer and because there was more than one room free, we were given the choice of three rooms. The rooms are not huge but all were clean and comfortable. There was heating when we needed it. We were tired from our trip so once we were settled into our room it was relaxing to chill in the sitting room, munch the delicious home-made cookies and browse through a collection of David Shrigley's art work. We were also delighted to discover Russell's connection to the Arts Centre in Galway and read about the exhibition being held there.
Killcullen House is conveniently situated just 5 minutes walk into the centre of town, but far enough out to be quiet at night. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were fantastic. I would recommend Killcullen House to anyone travelling to Galway who wants a quiet and relaxing place to stay and who is interested in culture.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harbourman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    133
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
131
332
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We spent 2 nights here and we absolutly LOVED this special place. Location is great (5 minutes walk from the center, with a very nice supermarket nearby), atmosphere amazing, rooms clean, cosy and confortable, breakfast absolutly... yum-yum! Parking too is very usefull and it was very comfortable also for a big Toyota Avensis.
Emer and Russell will make you feel at home: we have found here all we needed and also more (Emer's homemade biscuits are to die for and we loved Russell's French toast!).
For sure, we would come back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xarajerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

staff is so friendly and helpful, place clean and quiet and also nice and close to city centre.:))

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliviiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunau am Inn, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Emer and Russel, the owners are perfect hosts.
Emer spoiled us by serving home-baked cookies and Russel recommended us travel-routes and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay very much in their cosy furnished B & B (only a few minutes from centre).
We wish them all the best and if we ever come back to Galway we' ll stay again at Kilcullen House.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

The Kilcullen is wonderful little B and B, conveniently located in the center of Galway. Russell, the proprietor, was incredibly helpful and hospitable. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and cozy. We will definitely stay at the Kilcullen on our next trip to Galway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michigan_tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Kilcullen House is an absolute bargain, considering its location and its lovely owners who were very helpful. We would happily stay here again.

Two things that could use a little improvement:

Parking is free at the back of the house, which is much appreciated. However, the lot is so small, and other guests don't always park in a very considerate way, so maneuvering around the tiny (and I mean tiny) lot can be really problematic.

The doors or walls were pretty thin, so we could hear everything going on in the hallway (even though people seemed to be aware of this and weren't at all noisy).

Despite these two issues, we definitely recommend this place--it's just such a deal especially considering how kind the hosts are, where it is, and the fantastic Irish Breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intheleftlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

The Kilcullen House was a really great find! We had read positive reviews on TripAdvisor, and decided to go for it. It's about a 20-30 minute walk from the bus station with suitcases, so you might want to take a taxi. Otherwise, the location is great for getting into town, just about a 5-7 minute walk to the main shopping/restaurant area. Russell is very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. The bedrooms and beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was fine. Plenty of hot water! The breakfast was delicious and homemade - the best brown bread I had in Ireland! They have a traditional Irish breakfast as well as a vegetarian option, so there's something for everyone. The breakfast room was clean and had beautiful chandeliers. My only complaint was about the wireless internet. It went down at night, and nobody was there to fix it. In fact, we couldn't find anyone in charge at all. I'm not too familiar with B&Bs, so maybe this is how it goes, but I'm not sure what we would have done had we accidentally locked ourselves out or something. Overall, a great little B&B with comfortable, homey rooms and delicious breakfast. Also, the common room area always has tea and cookies, and they have a great selection of books, magazines, and announcements about local events.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
1.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stop B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stop B&B

Property: The Stop B&B
Address: Kilcullen House 38 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Kilcullen House)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Stop B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcullen House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing