We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent from start to finish”

Galway Greyhound Stadium
Ranked #29 of 136 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a great night out with a difference why not try a night at Galway Greyhound Stadium and we guarantee you a night at the Dogs in Galway is always a night to remember. The atmosphere, the food, the flutter, the craic and of course the top class racing - they all combine to make you want to come back again and again. Enjoy the fine dining of the Masters Restaurant combined with the excitement of the race night! Catered by Kudos, our restaurant provides excellent track side seating where you can enjoy all of the night's racing with tote service to your table. If you're not in the mood for a full restaurant meal we provide excellent fast food and snacks in our bars. Try the Barker's Bar for more informal packages or Stripes bar offering panoramic views of the race circuit.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had an excellent time the meal was fantastic and the whole atmosphere of the place, someone is always on hand for you to place your bets with.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Clar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    65
    9
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Greyhound Stadium - Galway”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

While on our holiday in Galway in July, we visited the Galway greyhound stadium which shares its grounds with Connaught Rugby Club. Having wandered around for a short while watching the greyhound trainers time trial their dogs, we met the stadium manager Fintan Monahan who made us feel so welcome and offered to give us a personal guided tour of the stadium.
Well worth the time to take a look at the stadium and either watch the greyhound trainers at work or the Connaught Rugby Stars train for the Heineken Cup campaign.
Paddy and Anne Berry

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Paddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judenburg, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

event. A nice evening with diner for a relaxing stay!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank fj53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I will definetely return to the galway greyhound stadium”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I really enjoyed my night at the stadium, me and my sister went on a friday night, and were seated at the window with a great view of the track. our meals were lovely and very filling, the man taking the bets was helpfull and we managed to win a lot of races. there wasnt too much waiting around as its only 15 minutes between each race and there are other ones to bet on the tv if you want to. it can be an expensive night, but you can also be very lucky to win back what you paid and more and the dinner was great. at times they forgot to bring you your drinks and had to be reminded, but i was having so much fun that it didnt ruin my night, i would defenitely recommend a night at the dogs!:)

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank feedup44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fun Night Out”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Went to the the track with a group of couples for dinner. There are 6 people to a table and we had seats along the glass which made for a great view! The lady at the gate and the manager were very welcoming. From the time you sit down at your table, you don't have to get up again. There's a waiter who takes your dinner order, then there's a drink waiter and there's also someone who handles the bets right at the table for you. You can place your bet with them and also redeem your ticket for your winnings. So it's very convenient and comfortable. The meal was very nice. The bar closed around 12. There were taxis waiting at the door and there's also a taxi phone if you want to book a taxi.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tRvlChic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galway Greyhound Stadium also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Galway Greyhound Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing