We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, great staff”
Reviewed April 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a two night break in April 2009. The hotel is easy to get to and within walking distance of the city centre. The rooms are very comfortable and have everything you would expect. The bar and restaurant were very good and the food was excellent. The buffet breakfast in the morning gives a huge amount of options and the evening food in the restaurant was excellent. The bar is comfortable and the guy on piano Friday nights is really entertaining. The spa is one of the highlights of the hotel with all guests getting access to the thermal suite. Overall, the thing that impressed us most was the level of customer service. All staff we encountered were very helpful and made the stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    427
    202
    81
    34
See reviews for
201
550
53
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2009

This was one of the best Marriott hotels that I have stayed in. It is definitely the best courtyard that I have stayed in. Very modern hotel with very efficient staff. The food was excellent; Club Sandwich was just like it should be! Rooms are very spacious and the beds were very comfortable the only bad thing is the rush hour traffic, and of course the unpredictable west of Ireland weather!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Spent a night here last week and was impressed with the large rooms and great breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We spent two nights here in mid March. We checked into our room early at 11 am. That was wonderful because we were exhausted from jet lag. Very nice, clean room with a beautiful bathroom. There was a carnival in town so we asked to have our room moved and they were able to do that. The breakfast buffet was very good with a variety of hot and cold foods. They cooked us an omlette when we asked. We were disappointed there was no entertainment on Friday night as advertised. If I stayed in Galway again, I would stay closer to th city center. There was too much traffic to drive at night and parking was tough. We did take a cab one of the nights.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DublinGuy2009
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Stayed in Hotel for 2 Nights. Arrived Friday from Galway Airport ... Hotel Located Ideally between Airport and City Centre. Rooms immaculate condition ... Clean, Modern, New Furniture and Excellent TV Functions (for a small fee). All staff friendly and warming. Bar area nice and cosy. Restaurant offered good choice of food (including Pizza's!!!) and provided an excellend Breakfast Buffet.

City Centre a short walk away, passing 3 shopping centres on the way. Nightlife in Galway very active , great selection of pub's with live music, and multiple nightclubs to choose from. All activity based around the shop street area in the city centre. Everything is within easy walking distance of the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinGuy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

Stayed in the Marriot Courtyard in Jan. We were pleasantly surprised with the great rate and no charge for the children. We only had to pay for their breakkfast, however at checkout they waived this fee, probably as we were part of a large group.

The hotel was lovely, rooms lovely and the staff very friendly. (Big thank you in particular to the young red haired girl for her lovely friendly service).

This hotel is on a busy roundabout so if you are a light sleeper it may not be for you, alternatively bring your ear plugs, there are also no views, just be warned. However our two night stay here inc dinner was less than we were quoted for a one night stay in a salthill hotel.

We will deffinetly return and in fact I have had lunch here on three occasions since while on business in Galway. (Hotel next to Dunnes Stores). Lunch is fabulous and reasonably priced with a large menu.

Forgot to mention the scrambled eggs at breakfast were the best I ever tasted. In fact the whole breakfast selection was great.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my family (children, parents, sisters etc) The rooms are lovely and very well equipped. The location is great, it is an easy 10 minute walk into Galway (we walked in twice).
We had a lovely family meal in the restaurant and had great quality food with lovely service, very professional and engaging. We also had bar food on two other occasions as well as breakfast and on each occasion found the quality of the food to be excellent, great value and the accompanying service was top drawer.

The entertaiment in the bar on Friday and Saturday night was great, a lively pianist, a really talented guy I have to say.

The staff at the hotel are obviously very well trained, and professional. In addition I found that they were hospitable, friendly and engaging.

I have stayed at several other Galway hotels over the years and can recommend this one with a heart and a half.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enjoyslifeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,075 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,887 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing