We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pillo Galway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed there last Friday. We like to thank the excellent staff for our enjoyable stay
especially the girls who looked after us in the SPA. would definately recomment
this hotel as rooms are spotless and a great size. Its within walking distance to
the city city and at present the hotel offers free parking all day to hotel guests

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshaw1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I have passed on your feedback to all departments, especially the Spa and the accommodation team. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
There are newer reviews for Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Being honest I never stayed there but i work in Galway. My phone died and my mum was worried about me driving home that night as it was stormy. We got cut off and I was afraid my mum would think something bad may have happened. I went into the hotel and they where so nice, they let me use the phone to ring home and understood that I was in need of a little help. Again I know I didn't stay here but staff play a huge part and this place has it. Thanks :)

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Loula6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Loula,
It was really nice to read how you were looked after when you called to the hotel in need of assistance. I am so glad that the staff ensured that you could put your mothers mind at ease. We are very fortunate to have a team that will go the extra mile and I will ensure that your feedback is shared with them.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed with my wife and son who had a separate room. The beds were not the most comfortable that I have slept in. We found the mattress quite hard. The main fault was the toilets which would not flush very well. I spoke to my son and he said he had the same problem with the toilet in his room. Hopefully the management will get this resolved.I reported the problem to the receptionist. On the positive side they have a lovely barman named Tommy who also serves the food. He has a wonderful personality that all in the hotel trade should emulate. The bar food and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was disappointed to read that you found the mattress too hard. I hope that this did not impact too much on you having a good sleep. I am not sure from your review which rooms you stayed in, however, I have passed on your feedback about the toilet flush to the accommodation manager. On a positive note, it was lovely to read that you enjoyed our barfood and breakfast. It was also lovely to read that Tommy looked after you so well. He was very happy to read your feedback about him. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I loved this hotel. They were always so helpful and knew me by name. One example of their helpfulness was when I decided to go on the cliffs tour so at 11 at night they took care of it and they had the bus pick me up the next morning and drop me off after the tour. They also stored my luggage free of charge for a weekend when we took a trip to Blarney. Great friendly service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kris_bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced a high standard of service and friendliness from the team during your time with us. We hope that you enjoyed your trip to Ireland and that you will return to visit again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our second time staying at Pillo Hotel. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the food at dinner and breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I would highly recommend this hotel for both business and leisure stays.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grue34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post another lovely review. It is always lovely to hear when guests return to stay with us, and that your experience on both occasions was very positive regarding the staff and food. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Pillo Hotel recently and we had the most enjoyable weekend. From our arrival we were greeted by the most friendly staff on reception. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a delicious evening meal in the Hotels Olive tree restaurant and once again waiting staff were kind, friendly and professional. On the Saturday we both booked in for a massage at the Spa. Again staff here were warm and friendly and the facilities and treatments available were excellent. We will definitely be returning and we could not fault this Hotel in any area. Excellent Hotel Experience here and would highly recommend a stay at this hotel to anyone.10/10

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review about your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the standard of your room, our food offering, the service which you received and your treatment in our very popular Spa. We are very happy to read that you plan on making a return visit and we look forward to looking after you both again.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights in this hotel.Our stay was good. The hotel was clean and the staff warm and friendly. Check in time in most of the hotels in Ireland is 3 P.M. We arrive early and so the staff informed us that the room was not ready. We were planning to leave the luggage and go get some lunch. Meanwhile a room opened up and manager informed us that we can get into the room which was very nice. I wish this hotel was close to the center of the city. It is about 25 minutes walk from the center

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expat4ever1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was nice to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and that you were looked after by the team. I am glad that you were accommodated with an earlier check in. For future information, if you prefer not to walk, there are always taxi's outside the hotel which cost approx. €7 to the city, or alternatively there is a regular bus service to the centre of town.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,989 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $86 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing