We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quite hotel, very reasonable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice quite hotel, very reasonable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Myself and my sister stayed at the Pillo Hotel Galway on Saturday 12th October 2013. A Lidl break which was only 39 euro each, bed and breakfast.
On arrival we checked in at reception , the two ladies at reception were very polite. It was not yet 3.00pm so our room wasn't ready; We went to the bar for a drink and a bit of lunch. We were served by Tommy who looked after us very well. Lunch was very good value and quite nice too.
We strolled into the city which is only about ten - fifteen minute walk.
When we went to our room it had two double beds, the room was quite spacious and very clean. We were meeting friends in the city for the evening so we were delighted to find a few taxis waiting outside the hotel that took us into Eyre square which a short taxi ride is away costing about six euro.
Later that night when we returned to the hotel and retired to our room.
We had a pleasant night’s sleep and breakfast is served until 11.00 am on Saturday and Sunday mornings, but you have to get there before 11.00 am as they start clearing up before 11.00. There was a great range to choose from including a cold buffet, cereals, fresh breads, fruit and yogurts and cooked breakfast.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Pillo Hotel in Galway and its great value too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyaug2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read that you and your sister had an enjoyable time with us and that your room, our food offering and our proximity to the city helped to enhance your break away. I will pass on your kind feedback to the staff who looked after you, in particular to Tommy who looked after you in the bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    413
    189
    77
    34
See reviews for
192
524
51
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beattyville
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

By the time I arrived at this hotel, any place to lay down would have been good, however the Pillo was an excellent choice. It was very clean & quiet, and just a short distance away from the town center. The staff was very courteous and the room was great, bedding was good quality & I slept very well. They have a large, hot breakfast and the food was yummy! I would definitely stay here again if I ever find my way back to Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy-145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely, spacious and clean. We had dinner both nights in the restaurant and we were very pleased. Very child friendly which was great as my little one was treated like a princess. I had treatments in the Spa both days again very nice and relaxing. While I had my treatments the babysitter supplied by the hotel was excellent and brought loads of games etc for my daughter to play with. We will stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I just want to say a big thank you to all the staff and manager of the Pillo Hotel in Galway. I stayed there recently with some of my friends and we had a great weekend. The staff could not be nicer and were curtious at all times.
The hotel has all the facilities you would wish for on a girlie weekend and we had a great time enjoying the Thermal Spa suite and not to mention the cocktails and the fab food.

You wont be disappointed with your stay at this hotel.

I

Room Tip: You wont be disappointed with this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann1799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is labelled a four star, that it is not... Average three star except for a beautiful spa.

On arrival the receptionist was very professional and prompt but that was it, not friendly, no real greeting. Our room was fine, quite bright and airy and the beds were comfortable. But... And oh god it's a big but, the noise! Our room was over the carpark and the noise was awful. We got no sleep.
Next morning we asked to be moved and the receptionist who was on duty, a male, was so helpful. He moved us straightaway and to make up for the disturbance and the hassle upgraded us to a suite.
The suite was very nice but again, ruined by the noise. At about 6 the fan in the bathroom came on and would not shut off, on ringing reception we were assured that maintenance would fix the issue while we were out for the day.
Next morning, same problem, 6 o'clock on comes the bathroom fan and no stopping it. On checking out we were informed that the fans in the hotel are on a timer from 7-10. I'm sorry but why would a reportedly four star hotel have fans timed to do this, what need? And if there is a need,time them to come on when guests are likely to be out of the hotel not when they are trying to enjoy a lie in. Which was ruined, twice. Very disappointing.
Two positives, very nice bar staff who gave us glasses and opened a bottle of champagne for us to take to our room. The spa, staff, treatments and surroundings were just lovely. I would certainly revisit the spa, but sadly would be a day visitor staying in a better and I would imagine quieter hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blonde1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
I was disappointed to read that the enjoyment your stay was impacted by noise. Please be assured that we have since looked into the timing of the fans and have tried to have them as undisruptive as possible. I was glad to read that David tried to assist you by upgrading you to a suite after your first night. It was also lovely to read that the staff in the bar and the Spa looked after you so well. If you did wish to return to stay again with us, then we would do our very best to ensure that your room was quiet and peaceful for your stay. Please contact me directly and I will be very happy to personally look after your booking.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. Wasn't impressed from the start due to the poor welcome at reception. We arrived about 12.30 which was a lot earlier than check in at 3 but the guy on reception didn't try to accommodate us at all and didn't even bother to tell us the hotel facilities we could use while we waited. We came back and asked again to which he pointed to his watch and told me it was only 2.50. No welcoming words given. Rooms ok, breakfast terrible, again poor service from staff and the place was filthy, dirty dishes everywhere and the buffet was half empty. I stayed in a B&B the night before and the breakfast was far superior. Only good thing was the receptionist who helped with our spa booking. Definitely not a 4 star in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmoon1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the Pillo Hotel Galway on a Friday night. One night stay with 3 course dinner and breakfast for €109 was excellent value. Food was amazing and the room was excellent. Staff were so friendly. I never write comments, but its the least I can do to show my appreciation to the great stay we had.

I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Galway. 5 min away from the town too

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay in the hotel. It was great to hear that you both had a very positive experience overall and I have passed on your feedback to all of the team. We look forward to welcoming you both back to stay in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
2.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing