We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“arts festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“arts festival”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

just a bit away, for those not wanting to be in the middle of all the hustle & bustle ,but close enough not to cost a fortune to get around ... only €7 in a taxi to Eyre square €15 to salt hill great value over all

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    422
    199
    80
    34
See reviews for
197
543
52
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Ordered a club sandwich at 7pm and it wasn't nice, seemed to have been reheated and wasn't freshly made, room service was €5 quite expensive and the prices in the bar were expensive also, rooms were nice though

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful rooms air conditioned which was wonderful in hot weather, great site very nice staff, perhaps more dining room staff at breakfast time very courteous reception staff would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Germon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights just after the Galway Race week. Very enjoyable stay. The only negative i would have is that the room was incredibly warm and the AC only went down as far as 18 degrees. I admit it's not the hotels fault that the Irish weather was excellent but i do feel the AC temp should go lower.
On a positive note, Rooms were very good / Menu in the restaurant was fantastic / Service was as one would expect and great value for money for a family of 4.
Hotel was superbly located and extra perks like Leisureland tickets was a nice bonus.
Overall, cannot fault the hotel or staff in any way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends during Galway Race week. Had a very comfortable stay. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Nice towels and staff very promptly supplied more when we requested them. Air con and fan in the room made sleeping very comfortable. Despite busy race week we were given a late check out. Good selection of breakfast items. Also had drinks in the bar and lunch before racing - great service and good choice of food. Hotel organised taxis for us to racecourse and town, both were a short commute. Overall, we had a great stay. Free secure parking was another plus. Thank you Pillo Hotel and in particular Lisa who looked after our booking and was extremely helpful and welcoming. Look forward to returning in 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamTrips2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed on 9th August, 2013. The man on reception was good humoured. Our rooms - 2 doubles seemed OK - very hot although the weather was cooler - put the air conditioning on while out so we could sleep when we got back. It was a girls night away and we were looking forward to it for some time. It is difficult to arrange a night away that suits all 4 of us so we had this planned for months. We had prepaid for our rooms including breakfast. We arrived early evening - did a quick change and out on the town. The taxi driver happened to be driving a mini bus and charged us 14 euro way above the recommended price 6 - 7 euros. They queue outside the hotel. I got back first - turned off the air conditioning and went to sleep. Not quiet sure how early in the morning the noise started - approximately 4am - a continuous loud noise, I assumed we were beside the services but there was no way you could open your window so if you don't like air conditioning you're screwed. So on leaving I decided to make a complaint - I felt that we were given these 2 rooms because we Irish do not make complaints and after all 3 out of 4 weren't in bed that long but we did want to sleep for that time. It was impossible. The girl at reception was quick to pass me to the manager - so she arrived. It was very pit pat - like a well learned piece of prose - definitely recited many times before. Siobhan Burke General Manager has to defend herself many a morning I'd say and I also think that she shouldn't have to, I felt sorry for her having to defend a management uninterested in solving this problem - surely for nearly 150 euro a room you can expect to sleep? It is overpriced - yes you can get away with it for a while in a popular city like Galway but it won't last - people won't return - surely that's what every hotel wants - return visitors? The mattresses need to be upgraded - the rooms were clean and the bed linen was OK - the bathroom was clean too and the other facilities provided were good - fridge, tea/coffee etc. Ms Burke suggested that we accept her card as a means of compensation for lack of sleep and if we were ever to stay there again we should contact her. Stay again???? I don't think so. As we were leaving the underground car park we knew immediately that our rooms were precisely over the services and at 12noon were going full blast and Ms Burke's defence on behalf of the Pillo Hotel management was "services only come on when needed and are on a timer" - come on???? Whoever is really responsible for putting people in these particular rooms should at least offer them at a reduced rate stating that they can be noisy - you cannot expect people to pay for a bed and not be able to sleep even if its from 3am to 9.30am. Breakfast was OK - you had to chase the tea/coffee - wouldn't rate the service anywhere in this hotel. If you are on a stag/hen night - you might bring your ear plugs but don't expect to get any sleep. I would ask that management take Siobhan Burke seriously and give her full responsibility to compensate dissatisfied customers who are likely to return year after year as we do because we love going to Galway for the craic, shopping and good food. Please please be realistic about your pricing and start to give discounts for noisy rooms if you still want to put innocent people in them (probably most are one nighters). It's time to shape up Pillo and take responsibility and not leave your General Manager and staff dealing with continuous complaints.

Room Tip: BRING EAR PLUGS and don't be afraid to ask for tea/coffee at the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed at The Pillo Hotel during he Galway Race week. The rooms was spacious and well appointed. Very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and polite. Food was great. All and all a hotel well worth staying in when in Galway.
A/C in all room plus the hotel had put in a large free standing fan in the room to make your stay even more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineG746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,059 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,866 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,821 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#13 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing