We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place for our needs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for our needs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend with three other couples. The hotel was perfect for our needs. large, well decorated rooms. The beds were really comfortable and as large as you can get. the bar was nice and actually hasd a bit of atmosphere which is unusual in a lot of hotels these days. we had dinner included in our deal and the food and service was excellent. we were really well taken care of and we actually felt that the waiter cared that we had a good experience. the breakfast was also very good with frest fruit available which is always a nice bonus. Late breakfast on saturdays and sundays which is also nice. Complimentary newspapers also available which is a nice extra. Rooms were warm. Free car parking under hotel which is a real bonus these days.

i cannot understand some recent reviews criticising this hotel. i had some reservations as a result but they were totally unfounded. 10 minutes walk from Mc swiggans pub which is the start of the lively pub scene in Galway. Incidently, there was a session there on Friday night which was as good as you will get. Check it out. Enjoy Galway. It's as good as ever.

Room Tip: We had a view of the roundabout but you are not going to get good views froim this hotel. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read your review on your recent stay with us. I have passed on your kind feedback regarding the food and also the service that you received to all of the team. I am glad that you also got to avail of our free parking.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to stay in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    407
    188
    75
    34
See reviews for
191
515
51
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with the girlfriend and can't fault the place. Spotless room/bathroom, and overall was very good value compared to other places we have stayed in the same area. Taxi in/out of the city would be €6-7 so not too bad either.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFitz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
I was very happy to read that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel to be of a good standard and value for money. I have passed on your feedback to all of the team.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed in the Pillo for one night, thought it was a nice hotel, rooms are decent size and clean. theres an underground carpark which is handy. i found the staff to be nice as i was worried because i had read reviews about how rude the recepion staff can be but i found the girl ok, not extremely friendly by any means but fine. taxi's are parked up outside the hotel which is great also, i'd recommend this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and also availed of our free parking. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I picked this hotel due to its location, I was aware of the traffic and busy roads before I arrived, however none of this matter once I got to my room, the outside noise disappeared.
The room was clean and tidy, but very cold. The AC unit did not make it ant better. There was a small heater supplied, but this too was no use. The bed was hard, made sleeping hard also.
Breakfast next morning was not great, Barely eatable.
Staff were pleasant enough, but i was never once asked how my stay was.
Overall it served its purpose, but there are other choices I'd consider first next time.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevator or the service areas.rooms to the back of the hotel are bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
I was sorry to read that your recent stay did not fully live up to your expectations. I was glad that you found your room to be of a good standard, however, I apologise for the fact that the room was not warm enough. Coming into the cold season we are working to ensure that all of our rooms are adequately heated for our guests and we have taken this point on board. I was disappointed that you were not happy with breakfast, as we would normally receive good feedback, however, our breakfast chef has seen your review so he is aware of your feedback. I have brought your point of not being asked about your stay to the attention of the team as it is very important that we do find out how our guests stay was before departing the hotel, so that we can have the opportunity to address problems like you experienced before you leave the hotel. I would hope that you may reconsider staying with us again if you do return to Galway in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just back from a one-night stay at the Pillo Galway - we had a family room, very comfortable and clean. Location of the hotel is handy - as per other reviews, a 15 minute walk will get you into Eyre square. Just has bar food and it was really good with big portions and attentive staff, breakfast next morning was equally good. The welcome packs for the children were a nice touch and a welcome distraction for them! Would have no hesitation in recommending!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. I was very happy to read that you and your family had an enjoyable time with us. I have passed on your kind feedback to all of the team regarding their service, the standard of your room and also that you enjoyed your dining experience which the chefs were delighted to hear. We look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We found the staff to be friendly and the room was clean. However, the room was very dark and the light fixtures in the room and bath could use bulbs of higher wattage. The WiFi was available only in public areas which was a bit inconvenient. The walk into town takes about 20 minutes, the roads are busy with several round-abouts, and the scenery is strip malls. If it is raining or you have luggage, you will most likely want to take a taxi. The breakfast buffet was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judsonjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
I was very happy to read that you found the staff to be friendly and they were delighted to hear this. I am sorry that the bulb wattage in your room was too low. We are ensuring that as much as possible that we are using energy efficient bulbs in our rooms, however, it is still important that the lighting that they provide is strong enough for our guests, so we are checking this out as a result of your feedback. We are hoping to have Wifi available in all of the hotel in the future, especially with the increase in smartphones and ipads that our guests have. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will return to stay with us if you are ever visiting Ireland again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I sent my wife to this hotel during the week, the hotel i was informed was a nice hotel and the rooms were clean however the dinner that came in the package was poor standards and the people that were beside her and her friend told her that this is the best food they had all week. they had steak that was poor standard for sirlon which was extremely fatty. The guy was from italy and when she asked him about things to do in galway, she was told " do i look like im from here" and after that she and her friend was ignored by him the bar man was equally rude to them and when asked to turn off the tv to listen to the music they were told its only Tuesday and not Friday so no. it was Friday for my wife and friend as they work weekends. there was no manager around to talk to so she went home. I was disappointed as i bought the holiday for her and feel disappointed the hotel was nice pity about the staff and food

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Alan,
I was very disppointed to read about your wife's recent stay with us, especially in relation to the feedback on the service that she received in the bar and restaurant. I was concerned to hear of her experience as the staff members that she was served by would normally receive good feedback about their service. I spoke to the staff who were on duty that evening regarding your review, and they remember looking after your wife and her friend. The waiter does recall looking after them for their meal, and also that they enquired about things to do in Galway. He assured me that his conversation with your wife and her friend was meant in a light hearted way and would not have intended for it to come across as being short or unprofessional. He is very sorry if this is the way that it sounded to them. I have also passed on your feedback regarding their meal to the Chef and he has taken this on board. The barman who was on duty that night does recall being asked to turn on the music later that night by a guest. As some of our bedrooms are over the bar area, he was a bit concerned that the music may disturb other guests, as during the week some of our guests would be in their rooms a bit earlier than at weekends. Again, I appreciate that your wife was on a night away and as you said it was her Friday, so I can only apologise that she was upset by this. I am sorry that they didn't get to speak with a manager about their experience, as there is always a manager on duty throughout the day and evening, including myself and we would have been very happy to speak with her before she left. It is always our priority to ensure that all of our guests are happy with their stay and if something happens, that we have the oppportunity to recify it while the guest is still at the hotel. Thank you for sharing your wife's feedback and please be assured that we have addressed all of the issues raised. We would hope that they may reconsider returning to stay with us in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#8 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#14 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing