We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,449)
Filter reviews
1,449 results
Traveler rating
598
474
231
96
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
598
474
231
96
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrefree underground parkingthe penthousenice hotelthermal suitebusy roadnext morningeyre squarehen partyroom was spaciousmin walkcar parkone night staywould highly recommend this hotelfood was lovelyhotel barlast weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,022 - 1,027 of 1,449 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here as part of a hen party which i had organised. From first contact with the hotel when making enquiry,I found reservation department very helpful. On arrival at hotel, reception were well organised with all group details on hand and key cards ready. Bar staff friendly and the breakfast was lovely with a great selection. The hotel itself was clean and stylish with nice decor. Great location as we were only a few minutes from town etc. Great value for money.
Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

It’s still not clear to me if the Irish spell that fluffy thing under your head without the terminal “w” or “Pillo” refers to something different. Anyway, we thought the hotel by this name was pretty enjoyable, with some drawbacks. One drawback for some people is the location: about a 20-minute walk from Galway city center. We are good walkers and in fact liked having to walk into town, but the way is along an extremely busy main artery with its attendant noise and exhaust fumes. (The buses are unreliable and taxis are expensive so if you can’t or don’t like to walk far, you face a problem.) Another drawback is the wi-fi. Yes, it is free and the access is simple, but it is available only in common spaces, not in the rooms. We had a conference room at the head of our hall and as it was used only once during our stay of several days, I just took my iPad the few steps to that room--or go to the lobby with its nice balcony. We had a dinner in the hotel and thought it nothing special. The room, however, was quite nice, with both a safe and frig. There are useful stores close at hand, and we found a peaceful walkway by a nearby stream with wildflowers (alas, amid terrible litter). Finally, the lobby is decorated with beautiful Connemara marble, which you’d be lucky to see anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put overlooking the busy highway where traffic noise at night might disturb your sleep.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked the penthouse suite and a few twin rooms for a hen party. It was great having the extra space in the suite for everyone to come up to before we all went into town. The was a spacious lounge with a wrap around balcony, a kitchenette, dining area and separate bedroom. There was a bathroom and another toilet.

Some of us went for spa treatments which were lovely and relaxing. The girls in the spa were very friendly and the use of the relaxation room and thermal suite afterwards was great.

Breakfast was good, just what you need after a good night out and plenty of options.

The only thing we could criticise was the lack of mirrors in the suite. Only one in both the bathrooms. None in the bedroom or lounge. Not great for a few girls all getting ready at the same time. I would love to see a large full length mirror installed in the lounge where there is plenty of wall space.

Overall this hotel was exactly what we needed for our purpose. The free underground parking was great as most of us drove to Galway and a taxi into town cost about €13 for a 7 seater so only a few euros each.

I would recommend using this hotel for a hen party and definitely splash out and book the penthouse suite for the added luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janenoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in the pillo hotel at the end of Aug, 2 adult 2 kids aged 3 and 5 for 3 nights. When we arrived our room wasn't ready so we had to wait about 40mis the kids were given a welcome bag with a hard back annual and colouring pencils which was great and kept them busy until the room was ready.

The room was lovely, 2 double beds and a fridge which was fantastic as the 3yr old still takes a bottle of milk at night and we could just keep some there rather than messing about getting it from the kitchen at night.
The room was cleaned and beds made everyday. The staff were lovely very friendly, one lady would give the kids a lolly pop from her trolly.
We ate in the restaurant twice, once the night we arrived and again for lunch. The restaurant was fab both times. Very good selection of food and fantastic kids menu and kids deserts were great. The staff were great with the kids, very friendly. A colouring sheet and crayons were given to keep them entertained until the food came. We also had breakfast each morning again couldn't fault it, plenty selection.
I found the location great as there is a Smyths toystore, dunnes, pennys and loads of other shops right beside the hotel and the walk into Eyre square was just about 15mins and at least you don't have to be paying for parking.
I would definitely stay here again, hopefully if my husband takes me for my birthday to see the Christmas market!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweeney10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The bar is very nice, extremely clean and friendly staff. The rooms were hot but overall very good too. Reception staff were welcoming. Breakfast was very well organised... Taxi probably required to get into Eyre Square but I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren-Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews