We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pillo Talk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

It’s still not clear to me if the Irish spell that fluffy thing under your head without the terminal “w” or “Pillo” refers to something different. Anyway, we thought the hotel by this name was pretty enjoyable, with some drawbacks. One drawback for some people is the location: about a 20-minute walk from Galway city center. We are good walkers and in fact liked having to walk into town, but the way is along an extremely busy main artery with its attendant noise and exhaust fumes. (The buses are unreliable and taxis are expensive so if you can’t or don’t like to walk far, you face a problem.) Another drawback is the wi-fi. Yes, it is free and the access is simple, but it is available only in common spaces, not in the rooms. We had a conference room at the head of our hall and as it was used only once during our stay of several days, I just took my iPad the few steps to that room--or go to the lobby with its nice balcony. We had a dinner in the hotel and thought it nothing special. The room, however, was quite nice, with both a safe and frig. There are useful stores close at hand, and we found a peaceful walkway by a nearby stream with wildflowers (alas, amid terrible litter). Finally, the lobby is decorated with beautiful Connemara marble, which you’d be lucky to see anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put overlooking the busy highway where traffic noise at night might disturb your sleep...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
There are newer reviews for Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

893 - 899 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked the penthouse suite and a few twin rooms for a hen party. It was great having the extra space in the suite for everyone to come up to before we all went into town. The was a spacious lounge with a wrap around balcony, a kitchenette, dining area and separate bedroom. There was a bathroom and another toilet.

Some of us went for spa treatments which were lovely and relaxing. The girls in the spa were very friendly and the use of the relaxation room and thermal suite afterwards was great.

Breakfast was good, just what you need after a good night out and plenty of options.

The only thing we could criticise was the lack of mirrors in the suite. Only one in both the bathrooms. None in the bedroom or lounge. Not great for a few girls all getting ready at the same time. I would love to see a large full length mirror installed in the lounge where there is plenty of wall space.

Overall this hotel was exactly what we needed for our purpose. The free underground parking was great as most of us drove to Galway and a taxi into town cost about €13 for a 7 seater so only a few euros each.

I would recommend using this hotel for a hen party and definitely splash out and book the penthouse suite for the added luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janenoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in the pillo hotel at the end of Aug, 2 adult 2 kids aged 3 and 5 for 3 nights. When we arrived our room wasn't ready so we had to wait about 40mis the kids were given a welcome bag with a hard back annual and colouring pencils which was great and kept them busy until the room was ready.

The room was lovely, 2 double beds and a fridge which was fantastic as the 3yr old still takes a bottle of milk at night and we could just keep some there rather than messing about getting it from the kitchen at night.
The room was cleaned and beds made everyday. The staff were lovely very friendly, one lady would give the kids a lolly pop from her trolly.
We ate in the restaurant twice, once the night we arrived and again for lunch. The restaurant was fab both times. Very good selection of food and fantastic kids menu and kids deserts were great. The staff were great with the kids, very friendly. A colouring sheet and crayons were given to keep them entertained until the food came. We also had breakfast each morning again couldn't fault it, plenty selection.
I found the location great as there is a Smyths toystore, dunnes, pennys and loads of other shops right beside the hotel and the walk into Eyre square was just about 15mins and at least you don't have to be paying for parking.
I would definitely stay here again, hopefully if my husband takes me for my birthday to see the Christmas market!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweeney10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The bar is very nice, extremely clean and friendly staff. The rooms were hot but overall very good too. Reception staff were welcoming. Breakfast was very well organised... Taxi probably required to get into Eyre Square but I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren-Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just back from spending the weekend here. Great hotel to stay in, you couldn't fault it! Everything was just right! The spa was brilliant..like another world. I would definitely recommend it and advise you to go there. Staff were very helpful when we asked for anything.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noeleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and we thought it was a good price for the money. The food at the hotel was good. The bar was nice. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The only thing my husband and I regret was not being able to get to the spa which looked amazing. The hotel is close enough that you can walk to the city center and the main shopping areas and the complementary parking was a plus. If we go back to Galway we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateyes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

this is just an average hotel, its location is quite a distance from the citycentre, the rooms are just ok but there was a constant humming noise which was very annoying and as the night got quieter the noise seemed to get louder, the food was good and very reasonably priced and the staff where very friendly, the breakfast was adequate but i had to remind the reception to open the breakfast area at 7.07am, i would not have chosen to stay here except that the other hotels i wanted where fully booked

Room Tip: make sure you get a room away from the constant humming sound
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Novelty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,989 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $86 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing