We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,449)
Filter reviews
1,449 results
Traveler rating
598
474
231
96
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
598
474
231
96
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrefree underground parkingthe penthousenice hotelthermal suitebusy roadnext morningeyre squarehen partyroom was spaciousmin walkcar parkone night staywould highly recommend this hotelfood was lovelyhotel barlast weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,029 - 1,034 of 1,449 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

this is just an average hotel, its location is quite a distance from the citycentre, the rooms are just ok but there was a constant humming noise which was very annoying and as the night got quieter the noise seemed to get louder, the food was good and very reasonably priced and the staff where very friendly, the breakfast was adequate but i had to remind the reception to open the breakfast area at 7.07am, i would not have chosen to stay here except that the other hotels i wanted where fully booked

Room Tip: make sure you get a room away from the constant humming sound
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Novelty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Vistied this hotel last weekend, found very clean and friendly staff. Underground carparking complimentary. About 20 minute walk to city centre, however also a bus stop outside 407 bus takes you to city centre an runs to midnight all weekend. Excellent breakfast. Shops within minute of it Spar, Dunnes large store, McDonalds etc. retail park on same grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroline_b_mcmanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our second visit to Galway and once again we chose the Pillo Hotel. The room was extremely clean and great facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the city so we were able to walk in...only 15min walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Awful place, beds are terrible, bar stinks, football blaring with locals screaming at the screen, check in staff didn't look at you in the eye once, rooms are basic and not worth the money, room was not clean. I travel a lot and this has to be one of the worst places i've stayed for that money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ciaran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

my partner and i spent the weekend in the pillo hotel for our anniversary. we booked the deluxe king room but when checking in they had upgraded our room to the penthouse suite we where over the moon. Our room was absolutely gorgeous it was huge and had a lovely big balcony. The staff where great and very helpful. The buffet breakfast was lovely. we also used the spa it was so relaxing we didnt want to leave. i couldnt fault this hotel it was just amazing i would recomend this hotel to everyone and i cant wait to return in the near future.

thanks so much for making our trip more memorable

Anthony & Denise

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you posting your review on your recent stay with us for your anniversary. It was lovely that we were able to have you stay on such a special occasion and we are delighted that you got to experience all of our faciltities and were so happy with them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Siobhan Burke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews