We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,449)
Filter reviews
1,449 results
Traveler rating
598
474
231
96
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
598
474
231
96
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrefree underground parkingthe penthousenice hotelthermal suitebusy roadnext morningeyre squarehen partyroom was spaciousmin walkcar parkone night staywould highly recommend this hotelfood was lovelyhotel barlast weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,101 - 1,106 of 1,449 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Four of us stayed here for 1 night in December.
The rooms were quite nice, but a bit cold. One of our rooms had a small fan heater, but the other one didn't. However when we rang reception to complain about being cold, they sent up a heater immediately.
The bar food was very tasty & reasonable & the breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinTherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Excellent overall hotel friendly staff and very efficient.fridge wasn't working and sorted straight away food was very good and a good atmosphere in the bar.would highly recommend a visit

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PUR-DU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night only, 2 adults & 2 children. We arrived at 1pm and check in wasn't officially till 3pm so we went to the bar to have a bite to eat, the girl on reception said room should be ready in an hour. We had a nice lunch which was good value, they gave us a complimentary drink because we had to wait for our room, I was most impressed by that as afterall we had arrived early. We found all the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. Room was nice, I think I'd have preferred more pillows on the bed but apart from that it was a clean and comfortable room in a quiet area of the hotel on the first floor. I stayed in this hotel 5 years ago and still remember it having one of the nicest spas I've ever frequented, unfortunately I didn't get an opportunity to visit this time round but would trust it's still as nice. We ate in the hotel restaurant that evening and were served by Diego, great with kids and a lovely manner. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here for a mini break over the NYE period. The hotel has a great location - didn't walk it but - it was less than a 5 minute taxi ride from the hotel to Eyre Square. Free underground car park at the hotel too.

We ate in the hotel one night and it was nice.

The room itself was nice, only problem was the people next door we could hear their entire conversation when they were getting ready to go out on NYE! Other than that the room was great.

The only grip we had on the whole trip was we had booked late check out, it was confirmed when we checked it and then on the day of check out the reception rang and quite rudely asked us why we were an hour late checking out!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _hjm_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cian L, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear Guest

We wish to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us at Pillo Hotel & Spa in Galway.

We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our location and room however we apologise for the noise disturbance from the next room.

Your feedback regarding your late check out is of great concern to us and I wish to assure you that this is not our normal standard. We continually strive to deliver excellent guest service and measures have been put in place to ensure this does not happen again.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Pillo Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for assistance with your next booking.

Kind regards

Cian Landers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I am a regular visitor to Galway and always use this hotel. The staff are excellent and attentive, alwasy remembering requirements and preferences. The hotel is very coomfortable and the food very nicely cooked. Always a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews