We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, and oh, so comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Warm, welcoming, and oh, so comfortable.”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

It was our first trip to Ireland. We spent the first few days in Dublin, planning to wrap up our dream trip in Galway, enjoying all of the near-by sights. The Pillo was to be our destination once we arrived in Galway.
From the beginning, even before we left for the Emerald Island, I found the staff of the Pillo to professional, patient and ever-so-helpful. They confirmed our reservations; answered the many questions we had about currnecy and even arranged for our transportation to the airport. So that we could stay an extra night, they arranged for a cab to transport us in the dead of the night to the bus terminal for our trip back to Dublin. On every occasion, with every question they met and exceeded our expectations. I'm not sure what our favorite part of the Pillo was: the close proximity to town, the helpful staff, the cleanliness and comfort of our accomodations or the free internet access. It was great at the end of a long day of sight seeing, eating and just enjoying Ireland to come home to a restpit as welcoming as the Pillo.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erieites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    427
    202
    81
    34
See reviews for
201
550
53
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Funny thing was the pillows were ridiculously small! Looked crazy in king size bed. Room was nice but hotel is on busy roundabout so quite noisy. Have absolutely no problem usually with 'foreign' staff but receptionist was Oriental and very difficult to understand her. Breakfast was good and generally happy but would I stay again? ........ I really would give it a 3 star rating

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervynnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed here for a weekend and found the hotel to be very good. I didn't eat in the hotel, but the rooms were very clean and comfortable. When we asked about taxis, reception said to call anytime and they would have one waiting for us. We asked for extra towels and they were up to us within minutes. Overall, it was very good for a mid priced hotel. The only thing to mention is it's a bit far to walk into the city centre, you would really need to get taxis. But, besides that I would recommend it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights on a 2 nights b+b 1 evening meal and bottle of wine deal. The beds were comfortable and the room was fine. We were a bit disappointed with the quality of the shower head and pressure on the water. The water trickled out and sprayed in every direction.
Our meal in the restaurant was ok but when we asked for something from the a la carte menu it was an issue. We were willing to pay the extra but were only allowed to order the steak and nothing else.
We also went to visit the Spa which was included in the package but were charged €5 each to enter. Its not the cost that is the issue,its the advertising.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoddGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardgalway-GM, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Coddgolf,

Many thanks for your informative comments and apologies for the poor experience in our Olive Tree Bistro. You are correct regarding the charge in the Spa and you should have had free Thermal Suite Access. If you would be so kind as to contact me at cian.landers@pillohotelgalway.com I would be delighted to put things right and refund that charge.
The Olive Tree retaurant offers a set menu for all out inclusive dinner customers , we also offer the a la carte however there is supplelmental charge for the Steak. It would appear that the way this was communicated to you was not very well done and I apologise for the misunderstanding. Thank you for mentioning the Shower Head we will ensure that it is corrected by our maintenance team .

Through your valuable comments we mantain focus on what are the important issues in delivering a superior Hotel expereince . Thank you for your time and cosideration.

Sincerely

Cian Landers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights got a great rate on it, walked in and out of centre no problem aprox 15 mins near lots of shope, 24 garage, penneys, dunnes, McDonalds, cinema. Staff were only ok though had mentioned it being partners birthday but was not even mentioned at check in. We went room only so cant comment on food. Would recommend for cheap no fills hotel near centre. One little thing was the massive king size bed turned out to be two double mattresses. Would stay again though no problem

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue79Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Although the hotel's location may be less than ideal, the hotel itself is close. Very clean, comfortable room., but the highlight for me was the people that worked there. I wish that I could remember the name of the bartender in the hotel bar, because he was one of the nicest people that I met. We didn't have an itinerary, and he got a map and not only showed me some of the best places to go to, but the best (most scenic) routes to take as well. I can honestly say that our trip was better because we stayed here. As for the location, it is a relatively short walk to the city centre, which isn't a big deal, but there isn't really much around the hotel area to do. There is a 24 hour shop connected to the hotel, which is nice.

Overall, a great stay. Thanks again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank matty373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I went to the spa here with my mom. The treatments was excellent and the service was awsome, but the thermal suite was not that good and did not have a pool or jacuzzi, just hot rooms and cold showers. They have some good package deals which are great to save money on multiple treatments.

The Olive bistro cafe was great! they have yummy wraps and sandwiches for lunch as well as more filling stuff like salmon or pasta. It was really cheap too!

Room Tip: Get a spa Package!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lava Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,075 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,887 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing