We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice and affordable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extremely nice and affordable.”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

If you prefer large, modern hotels, the Pillo is for you. My husband and I were impressed with the comfort, cleanliness, decor and value of the Pillo. The free use of the computers in the business center and free parking was nice. We didn't eat breakfast there, so we can't comment on that. There are two coffee shops, Bankz and Arabica, in the nearby business park that are good options for breakfast if you choose not to eat at the hotel. The walk into town was a little longer than we expected but not a problem. The only negative things we experienced were no hand towel in the bathroom until our last night, and one small bar of soap for a three-night stay! However, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    422
    199
    80
    34
See reviews for
197
543
52
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We are a golden years couple and stayed 3 nights B&B and evening meals mid week. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was very good and excellant value.
The hotel is almost 20 mins walk from Eyre Square and we did each night after the meal and enjoyed the entertainment in "An Pucan" bar.
The Spa in the hotel looked very good but we didnt avail of any of the treatments.
I will be going back to the Pillo again as it is a great base for touring around County Galway.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Customer service on this hotel was way below par. Made to feel quite unwelcome by certain members of staff. Buffet breakfast was awful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meowmix025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardgalway-GM, Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, please accept my apologies for the poor experience. Naturally I am surprised to learn that our team did not live up to our normally high levels of customer care.Please rest assured I will follow up on this with the Team at Pillo Hotel Galway. I would welcome the opportunity to follow up on your comments and can be contacted directly by e-mail: cian.landers@pillohotelgalway.com. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Cian Landers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I got a good deal with Pigsback.com including a spa treatment. It was great value for money. The staff were friendly & helpful. Free parking too which was nice. It is a bit outside the city but it's only a short taxi ride into the city centre. The view from our room was awful (Just over the garage)...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I stayed for one night only on business and had a very nice stay. Room was very nice with comfortable facilities. Had a good nights sleep and had a really nice breakfast. The scrambled eggs were much nicer than the usual porridge-like eggs in other hotels. Will definitely stay here again when I'm in Galway. Underground parking facilities are great and the hotel is suitably located so you can walk into town in no time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We booked a luxury double room and assumed (incorrectly) that this automatically included a king size bed. Although initially being shown to a room with 2 normal sized double room, we expressed our confusion to the helpful receptionist who promptly gave us a choice of 2 other rooms available with a larger bed. The room was extremely bright and clean with huge windows facing out to sea.

Staff were extremely helpfult throughout our stay and the location is fabulous with just a short walk to Galway city centre. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing break just a step away from the chaos and bustle of the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishiwereonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Fab Hotel from start to finish. Friendly staff , great food, lovely room and amazing value. We stayed with another couple, strolled into town Friday night and got a taxi home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanmanMallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,059 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,869 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing