We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Just back from a lovely weekend at this hotel. Food excellent. Staff very friendly. Highly recommend it. Easy walk to city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublincrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2011

comfortable and efficeintly run hotel, good location for access to the city and also business parks. easy parking and easy to find from the airport

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Had a fabulous time in the Pillo. Rooms spotless and very spacious. Staff excellent. Extremely friendly and professional, especially Micheal in the bar and the night porter. Did not use the Spa but got a lovely phone call from the lady who runs it the day before seeing if we wanted to book treatments.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matilda03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This hotel is perfect for the business traveller. Staff are very welcoming and the rooms are large, clean and bright. The standard of food was excellent and nothing seemed to be a problem for the very attentive reception staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PesoMillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Stayed in this hotel July 2010 after travelling from a Dublin hotel with my sister and her husband. In the restaurant the waitress was pleasant, my husbands meal was inedible. We complained to acting manager and got no satisfaction, we didn't want to create a fuss as this was the end of our holiday but this hotel was awful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mangtout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardgalway-GM, Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and please accept my sincerre apologies for the poor experience at Pillo Hotel Galway. We pride ourselves on our good reputation for quality food and beverage and would welcome the opportunity to follow up on your comments. I can be contacted directly by e-mail and look forward to getting more feedback on your stay.

Sincerely

Cian Landers
General Manger
e-mail:cian.landers@pillohotelgalway.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

A fine hotel, nothing wrong with it. The rooms were basic but they were clean, comfortable and relatively modern, they are very good value. He air-conditioning in our room was very noisy. The receptionist was lovely and very welcoming. The first evening we ate in the bar, the barman wasn't great and made no effort with the customers and the food wasn't great. There is a nice spa at the hotel and they have great discounts for guests, the hotel is very handy for Galway city centre maybe a 10 minute walk, they have free secure parking, yeah it was........ Fine....

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazzardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I just want to thank the staff at this hotel, recently I had a family emergency and I needed somewhere to stay in Galway. It was extremely late on a Saturday night, I spoke to the night manager Muiriz (excuse the spelling) and he gave me a very generous B&B rate for the night. The hotel is lovely, well located and the room was modern and very comfortable. The breakfast is very extensive with a huge choice and was delicious.. I will definitely stay here again. Its good to see that not everyone is out there to rip us off. It was a great opportunity to charge a high price as it was an emergency, late at night but no thay were very understanding and decent. I will highly reccommend this hotel to my family and friends.
Thankyou!

N.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrygirl147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,166 reviews
5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,352 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
2,026 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Address: Sandy Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $74 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing