We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. While I agree with other reviews about staff and food, we spent most of our time on Quay St or Eyre Square so this meant a 10 euro cab ride one way or waiting for a bus. I found the rooms had paper thin walls could hear the tv and conversation in room next to me unfortunately it was 2 am and they had been at the wedding in the hotel. On another night I had to call desk because kids were running and screaming in hall at 11 pm. The hotel was clean and staff were great,but I don't think I would stay here again because of location, noise problem and lack of sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmf507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    716
    266
    97
    55
See reviews for
674
1,094
72
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, all 3 rooms were well maintained and large. Friendly staff and large bar area. Wedding there the first night and bar was lively and a bit noisy, but did not go too late. Pretty good selection of beers and wines. Breakfast included, smaller Buffet than other hotels we stayed at, but was a "full Irish breakfast" selection. Located across from The Prom that allowed for our family to go for a run each morning. Walking distance to the Salthill area restaurants, bars and aquarium.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdmcsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel recently needs updating urgently! Very dated, there was a wedding on Saturday night all we could hear was loud music. The shower was a walk in one, again it had not been maintained as water was very slow to go down drains, we thought bathroom was going to flood at one point. Would not stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed in the Salthill Hotel for 4 nights last week. From check-in to leaving, there was nothing I could fault the hotel on. From the receptionists to the management, bar staff, restaurant staff, room staff and leisure centre personnel, they really prove that a stay in a hotel can be rewarding. The food was excellent as were the rooms. Nothing wasa problem when requested and that is how it should be. The General Manager was willing to involve himself in ensuring the guest was the number 1 priority.
Having stayed in many hotels across the world, I would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation

Room Tip: A slight problem was the loud air-conditioning vent outside my bedroom window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 days on B & B in mid-September in an executive room 135 with sea view. Our first floor room very clean, well equipped and comfortable, the view restricted by gymnasium building part of hotel complex. Breakfast taken in Amber restaurant, good choice of both cold and hot food which was continually topped up to keep fresh. In the evening this restaurant was used by coach parties. The Prom restaurant served Italian menu too pricey for us. Outside nearest restaurants some mile away, had dinners in Bar. This is large area and popular but was well under staffed on two occasions we used it. The food was well cooked and plentiful and worth the 40 minutes we waited to have order taken.
The staff were friendly and helpful, hotel clean and well furnished with large comfortable lounge area as part of reception. Free WIiFi, ample free parking in front of hotel and in underground car park below the hotel. Placed conveniently on beautiful promenade about 2 miles from Galway town. Bus stop outside hotel with 10 minute run into Town, where parking is difficult. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Best sea views at front in centre of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidney90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are so helpful and willing to give you their attention despite two weddings over the three days stay there. On the down side, while the weddings were on, the noise level was such that it would disrupt your sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Salthill for 2 days as part of a CIE tour. Beautiful, spacious lobby and quick check-in. Dinner in the dining room was great. Service was good and food delicious. I liked the ambiance of the Bar, friendly staff helped me select an Irish whisky, and atmosphere was cozy on a very rainy night. My room was large with a very comfortable bed and modern bath with lots of counter space. WIFI connection consistent and appreciated. Lovely View from window overlooked the bay and Promenade walkway. Comfort and quality...what more can you ask for?

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurogirl1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,063 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,688 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
335 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,891 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Property: Salthill Hotel
Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing