We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

really great weekend at the salthill hotel. the staff couldnt do enough to make our stay as comforatble as possible and all so friendly. went for two nights- felt like i had been away a week afterwards i was so refreshed.really looking forward to coming back again before the summer is out.thanks so much to Damien and his team for such a great break.

Room Tip: fab seaview rooms meant it was lovely to open the curtains in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnes r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    674
    249
    93
    52
See reviews for
622
1,041
67
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HonestLady60
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is a great location...walking into Galway is 20 minutes but all on the Promenade sidewalk. The room was a generous size. Very nice pool and health center right in the building.
Breakfast is lovely--hot and delicious, buffet style, everything one could want!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestLady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice, clean and huge room, lovely Sea views.Decent Bar food, Restaurant very expensive and outrageous prices at the bar, 13euro for two Beers ???.meant we went into Town for the evening.Breakfast was very nice and the Staff seemed keen to please.We've rated it average as there is no Good box to tick and the highish room price doesn't justify a Very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzo1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for one night on our way back from Kinvara. We had stayed here several times before and had been very satisfied but on this occasion it was not the case. We rang ahead to make a booking and requested a sea view but there were none left. That was fair enough given we had booked late and there was a wedding at hotel. Check in was fine and very friendly and we went to the room (106). It was a small room and rather stuffy given the heat of the day. There was no air con so we just had to open window. Even though the room was first floor it was very low and people passing could look in. A net curtain would have given some privacy. We just had to close heavy curtains which made room even hotter. Next thing I noticed was there was no bath just a shower - I had been looking forward to a good soak. The bathroom had no extractor fan either so everything steamed up and there was nowhere in shower to hold toiletries. The bed was soo hard and uncomfortable that a good nights sleep was not had. Breakfast the following morning was ok but we had to ask a waitress to bring us tea and toast which only came half way through the meal. All in all a rather disappointing stay and more expensive than all the other hotels we stayed in on our few days away. As I said earlier, we usually enjoy our stay at Salthill but not this time. All the staff were very nice and helpful but maybe management should pay a bit more attention to the small details.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patriciatogher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I've stayed here a few times on business. This is a good modern three star. The hotel has friendly staff and caters well for large numbers of people on bus tours etc. Rooms have tea and coffee making facilities and are clean and quite spacious. In my experience there are lots of toiletries and towels in contrast to what has been said in a previous review. There is a good breakfast though if you are late down in summer you will be in the middle of a crowd. The one major drawback is the policy on WiFi. You get 30 minutes free and after that you pay. This is ridiculous and needs to be changed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grimpils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Friends of ours for married at the hotel. Food - service- accommodation very good. Nice huge front bar, fantastic views. & lovely outside area if you are a smoker.
Was a nice buffet breakfast in the morning - but slow with service but nothing that bothered us. Lovely day & night...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryinmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great location next to the sea. Excellent for walking for exercise both outside and at the hotel - great gym and loved the 25m pool. Great bar downstairs and room very nice. Only disappointment was breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camrun64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.8 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Property: Salthill Hotel
Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing