We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely treat!!”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely treat!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Brought mam for a treat for her birthday. 2 nights. Felt welcome from the moment we arrived. Very nice receptionist upgraded us!!! Hotel location is great. Got the bus into Galway from outside the hotel to do a bit of shopping. Hotel was very nice. Rooms nice, spacious and spotless. Ate in the bar which was very nice and the staff were nice and friendly. Would definitely go back - this says it all

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade!!! It's always worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank declanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    697
    257
    97
    54
See reviews for
649
1,076
71
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just back from a weekend at this hotel, Location is top notch. Right on The Prom in Salthill. Easy access into Galway city. The lobby and bar area are very nice. Checkin was swift with no problems. Room was small but clean,Bathroom was clean with a great shower but could really do with a fan in there. Takes ages for steam to clear after a shower. Walls are paper thin, You could hear conversations from both sides. The hotel was very busy, Weddings on both days We were there. We had lunch in the bar after arriving, Food was ok. Portion sizes were huge. Lounge Girl was lovely and service by her was very good. Grainne was her name but later that night the same could not be said about the barmen, They were shocking. You had to wait forever for a drink. Breakfast was good with plenty of everything and service here was also good. Overall I enjoyed My stay and would probably come back. I would have given the hotel a 3 and a half star rating if possible but certainly not a 4.

Room Tip: Maybe pay that little bit extra for a seaview and definitely get a room on a higher floor to avoid m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom71_Tina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding and had a great time in this lovely hotel . We payed a bit extra to stay in one of the" better " rooms, after reading one of the reviews I am glad we did. Our room was big and clean with a very large bed - no complaints ( except for a wonky toilet seat )Food was fine - from the bar food to the fantastic wedding breakfast . All the staff were very friendly - smiling and helpful - couldn't do enough for you . We used the underground car park which had a lift direct making life a little easier . A sea view, watching everyone out power walking .Even the sun shone two out of the four days we were there - not bad for February. We would stay here again given the chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Delicious food and friendly staff. only downside was very small bathroom and view onto roof tops but a steal at €59.50 so you cant have it everyway. Fabulous location overlooking galway bay and ideal for walk on the prom. would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank node45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding, plenty of parking. Very quick check in. Room was nice but the bathroom needs work. Shower runs off taps which is fine but it was all covered in rust as well the the shower curtain holder. Not very attractive. Also there was a kinda of balcony outside our window but it was covered in fag butts and litter so this ruined the view!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misbookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway,Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel recently for one night to attend a wedding. The lobby area, bar and function room were all lovely. The food at the wedding reception was lovely and the staff at the reception were friendly and professional but........ our hotel room was one of the worst i have ever stayed in and I have stayed in many! What I learned was that there is the "old" part and the "new part". Our room was small, the bed was barely a double. The linen on the bed was just plain white....no throw no nothing. The view was of the roof of some part of the hotel. The TV didnt work. There was no space to put anything anywhere. In the bathroom there was literally a small glass shelf over the sink....that was it. No where to put a wash bag or products not to mention our 11 month old was with us and i had to wash and steralize bottles with no where to put them as I washed them out. THe bahroom was a wet room. My husband had a shower on the evening we arrived for the wedding reception...there was so much water on the floor that we had to use every towel provided to mop up the floor which left us with no towels for our showers the next morning! The shower also went intermittenly from roasting hot to freezing cold as i was standing under it. There was only one (very old, dirty) chair provided in the room which is a cop out if it is ment to be a double room. Lastly the noise from the disco was so loud it was like being at the disco...not good when you are trying to get an 11 month old to sleep!! All this and it was €109!!! We were asked on check out did we enjoy our stay. I said we were disappointed with the room overall. She said we should have asked to be moved and they could have put us in one of the newer rooms. I asked out of curiosity what the price difference is to see if we could bargin our rate down a little and was told there is no real differene in price its just pot luck which one you get. We saw a few other other rooms (my parents and brother were also staying for the wedding) and their rooms were much nicer so we definately got the raw end of the deal. The receptionist also didnt offer to take anything off the bill when we said we were disappointed with the room. Overall I wouldnt stay here again... If i had to (for another wedding lets say) I would ask for one of the "new" rooms. I was not impressed with my stay here at all.

Room Tip: avoid room 249. Worst hotel room ever. Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMR610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our stay at the Salthill Hotel was only ok. The location is beautiful. The lobby and bar of the hotel are very nice but our room was basic and a little dated. The room was far to hot to sleep in and the lighting was very bad...pretty much impossible to do the make up. The food was only average. I just expected a lot more and I think there are alot nicer hotels in Galway even though they might not have the wonderful location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,982 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
297 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Property: Salthill Hotel
Address: Promenade | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing