We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay, comfortable bed awesome location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Griffin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griffin Lodge
Ranked #36 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome stay, comfortable bed awesome location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very glad we chose this B+B. Very close walk to the town center, great price, amazing breakfast spread and awesome atmosphere and experience. The owner, I believe her name was Ann was great. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable and clean and when we needed another night, Ann had had no problem with it. It was very nice of her. She was talkative with all the guests, provided great advice, and had a great personality. If you want a nice place to wake up and go home to while in Galway, stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadnerb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    56
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
89
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
220 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The location was key since you could walk to town within 5 minutes and the room was cozy and warm ( we had heard stories from friends that other B&Bs didn't have heat so it was nice that this one had heat). The owner was so friendly and flexible with the time we arrived, parking, and breakfast choices. She made the stay very pleasant. The rooms were ok- just what you need for the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Ann could not have been more accommodating with our large group. Some of us arrived early in the morning; others late in the afternoon. Nothing seemed to be a problem for her, not even our vast amount of luggage, and we were delighted when she announced she was going to "nip out to the store for a few minutes"! The rooms were clean and comfortable, although the plumbing and the eaves were a little challenging. Breakfasts were divine!

Room Tip: On the top floor, be prepared to duck for access to the coffee and storage areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here on our recent visit to Ireland & were very happy with our choice. Griffin Lodge is located on a side street, hence was quiet at night. It is just one short block off the main road heading west from the city, so a perfect base for exploring the countryside by car. But at the same time it is also an easy walk to the west end and the city center. In short, the ideal location.

Our room was spotless and quite comfortable, if a bit small by American hotel standards. Breakfasts were excellent (including French press coffee!) and Anne, the manager, was always cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reluctantconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you're looking for a B&B in Galway, this is the place to stay. It's within walking distance of the center of town, yet in a residential area so it's not noisy. But the best thing about this place is, Ann, the manager who will make you feel so at home and help you with whatever you need, whether it be advice and assistance with how to get wherever you want to go, booking a tour, calling a cab, or feeding you a good, solid breakfast. The best of warm Irish hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our very recent trip to Ireland. We couldn't have enjoyed it more. Anne, the manager, is fabulous and fun, and her attention to detail is spectacular. The breakfasts were wonderful (never had a bad one in the Country actually) and the room was clean and comfortable. It was a bit small but as we were in a city I really wouldn't expect much more. My husband is a big guy and we had 2 big suitcases and we were fine. Everything was bright and cheery. The building is beautiful on the inside.

The placement of the B&B was perfect, off the main road and quiet. And it was also on the side of the bridge that suited us as the best traditional music venues (what we were looking for) were also on that side.

Have to say my own personal favorite were the facecloths! Facecloths seem to be rare in Ireland!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Griffin Lodge is ideally located to get into the city centre. Ann is an informative hostess. The rooms are small but clean and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank videochick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
Adare Guesthouse
Adare Guesthouse
#43 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sli Na Mara
Sli Na Mara
#22 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#10 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#25 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Lodge

Property: Griffin Lodge
Address: Griffin Lodge 3 Father Griffin Place, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Griffin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffin Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing