We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice But Overrated”
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Just back from a two night stay with my boyfriend, as it was my birthday. We had heard that this hotel was supposed to be amazing in everyway. When we arrived the staff were very friendly and park your car for you no matter what time of the day or night - god knows where however! Staff were all very attentive and helpful, carrying bags etc. The hotel is slightly smaller than i imagined and was decorated in the brightest tackiest colours imaginable - pink, black and silver. I think they are attempting to create a 5 star hotel, but are certainly missing a trick when it comes to class. Nouveau riche springs to mind! The hotel caters for two types of guest im my mind - couples or early to middle aged hen parties / ladies whom lunch!

The spa was nice, slightly corporate as opposed to luxurious - very dark as were all of the hotel corridors. The room was nice, but again, not a 5 star hotel as everywhere we turned reminded us of the price we had to pay for simple pleasures - for example there was an umbrella in the waredrope with a €30 sign around it!

Breakfast was plentiful and varied, if not slightly bland - but again if you are not on an B&B basis, then prepare to pay €25 for a basic, but a la carte breakfast! We asked to watch the Ireland vs France World Cup match, but the hotel wasnt showing it, though they did offer to put it on for us in the Corporate meeting room, so we walked across the road to the Huntsmann Inn hotel and had a nice meal and drinks there for the match with great atmosphere.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here and staff will go that extra mile, but if I was going to go back, i would only stay for one night. It is certainly not worth the price - there are far nicer classier hotels to stay in, even in Dublin! Also, make sure that you are in your best attire, as there is an air of ''pretence'' over the hotel.

  • Disliked — It was very pretentious!!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank missyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    579
    336
    135
    75
See reviews for
274
1,574
35
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

I just returned from Staying at The G and I was very dissapointed.
Good news:
The staff is very nice and helpful.
The breakfast was one of the nicer ones we had in Ireland.

Bad news:
The hotel is VERY DIRTY.
I don't believe they own a vaccum, as all the hallways and guest rooms I were in were dirty.
With all the glass, lucite, mirror and chrome furnishings, you would think they would keep the dust, fingerprints, glass rings... cleaned off, but everywhere you look there is dirt.
The phone, toilet and air conditioning did not work in my room, after 2 calls to the front desk, the issue was finally resolved.
They forgot to do turndown service on one night during my stay, which is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel.

I had been waiting a year to visit The G, and after all the money I spent, it was NOT WORTH IT.

Like the previous reviewer said, they have not upkept the hotel.
A coat of fresh paint on all the main traffic areas would do wonders.

I was expecting WOW, but all I got was YUCK.

If you're going to Galway, stay closer to town and just visit The G for afternoon tea, until they hire a housekeeping staff.

  • Liked — The bathtub
  • Disliked — The overall cleanliness, very dirty
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tottiisahottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Having previously visited Galway (stayed at the Radisson) and having planned a trip for my husband's birthday I was very much looking forward to seeing what The g had to offer.

Reservation was easy and extremely efficient - I was especially impressed by the cancellation terms given that we were arriving by private plane which would have meant cancelling the trip in bad weather.

Check in was great but all a bit diappointing thereon in. The state of the property and the service weren't really what I'd expect of a 5-star hotel: the reception area looked shabby (paint peeling off the famous white curve behind the concierge desk); the carpet in the room was stained (not a good look); paint was worn off the doors and glass tables chipped and tatty - generally the property seemed to have seen better days or be in need of some serious upkeep. The food in the restaurant was very average given the price and the waiter seemed a bit surprised when we asked for our bottle of red wine to be brought to at least room temperature.

At breakfast, surly staff but good food . The best service we had was from an Australian guy behind the bar who told us off the record that we could watch the Ireland rugby match in the bar across the road because it wasn't been shown in the hotel!

Overall disappointing, doesn't feel like the hotel takes much pride in its appearance - highlighted by the dog poo left uncleared in front of the main entrance for the two days that we were there. Just not what I would expect of a 5-star hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service and quality
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kasbah_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

Made a return visit to the "g" and just like our previous stay it really was an enjoyable experience ! The restaurant and bars are a litle pricey, but the service and quality offered makes it well worth it. Before bedtime try the hot chocolate with a kick...it's really yummy! Breakfast is varied and very generous, the bedroom was really comfortable with lots of little extas we really enjoyed our two nights and will return again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Micam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2007

I stayed in this hotel in august with my parents and my sister for 3 nights. My parents had a king room and my sister and I a twin. Our room had no counter top around the sink so we were forced to put all our toiletries on the floor. Our window was just a pane of glass the didnt open which made me feel very closterphobic. Bad selection of TV channels for late teens, only all news channels. The food was ridiculously over priced and there was definetly an air of snobbery around the hotel, something which it could do without since the hotel was practically empty during our stay peak season. Change you menus. I would not reccomend this hotel.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank likefriendlystaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We stayed here for a few days after we got married before going to Paris and Spain. The G Hotel was so nice - they come and park your car for you and take your bags up to your room. The rooms were lovely, very comfortable and very clean. The maids even come in at night to turn your bed down and leave out your slippers for you - it was great, very well looked after.

The drinks in hotel are expensive however and to eat here as well is expensive too - but its well worth a visit to this hotel. We loved checking out the different bars, the pink room was brill! They even have their own cinema out the back of the hotel.

Will def return to this hotel again!

  • Liked — the rooms were so comfortable
  • Disliked — we loved everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pink123belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2007

My boyfriend recently took me to stay at the G Hotel and it was the most amazing weekend ever. We arrived at the hotel to be met by someone to take our bags for us and park the car. The reception was really nice and the staff on the desk were so helpful. One of the reception staff showed us to our room which they up graded for us. The room was massive, the bed was fab and the bathroom was beautiful. The cup cakes they left for us were also a lovely touch. We had dinner in the restaurant on the 2 nights and both nights the food was superb. The breakfast was delicious with a wide range of diiferent foods. I will defo be back to stay at the G Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Joey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,887 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing