We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We spent a week in Ireland in early October and the G Hotel was our second to last night. The G Hotel is about a half mile from downtown Galway and is attached to a movie theatre and shopping. It is not, however, difficult to get to, there is plenty of parking without safety concerns, the service is excellent and it overlooks a bay that for many would be a pleasant diversion from downtown streets. The interior design of the main floor is unique and striking. Although the standard rooms are not huge, they are more than adequate, perfectly quiet, and contain the most comfortable beds and linens I have ever experienced. Hotels are for comfort and service and this one provides both of the highest quality.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WAYZATA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,292 - 2,298 of 2,764 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2010

On arrival we through it was a supermarket and drove past. Then we drove around Galway town looking for it and after seeing some nice hotels with good views asked for directions. We arrived back at what we thought was a supermarket and found it to be the G hotel? I went into reception and was told the car park was around the back and how to get there. Even though it said “Valet car parking”!!! NOT. We drove around the back and we were in the middle of a shopping centre!!! Eventually found an underground car park and was worried about where to park and was it safe? Actually nothing happened to my new car…

This was supposed to be a 50th birthday surprise, balloons were ordered in advance. When we entered the room there was no balloons and the view from the window went right out – to B&Q… Not a great start by any means. The tea and coffee making facilities were also not there, after a long drive we needed a brew and not able to have one? The staff apologised and laid on a couple of chocolate cakes. I’m diabetic and can’t eat chocolate so that p’d me off too. But they were not to know that.

On arrival we were asked to leave card details as an assurance that we didn’t do a runner or damage anything, fair enough. When we left, we paid our bill and returned home. Two weeks later my partner (who arranged it) went to the bank machine and found £350 had been taken from her account on top of paying our bill. The hotel didn’t cancel the assurance and the amount went through to a suspense account. She was told the hotel had not ordered to take the money and the bank said they have not been ordered to debit her account either. The money had been taken for 10 working days, 15 days later and still not got the money back. The manager (Fagan – I think) was extremely rude to my partner and was shouting at her on the phone and when she tried to put a point across he shouted even louder.

This hotel provided us with the worst experience of my life. After a year of travelling to some very nice hotels like the Lindos blu in Rhodes, this was quite categorically the worst experience ever and it’s still going on, they still have my partner’s money and will not return it. We are now contacting the banking Ombudsman and the police. The hotel G is supposed to be a top hotel; its rubbish and the staff are extremely rude and unhelpful, they have not even apologised.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
11  Thank CharlieBalloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorgalway, General Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

Dear CharlieBalloo,
Thank you very much for your recent review, I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience with us and also that the hotel was not to your liking. With relation to guest parking we do indeed offer Valet parking and we also offer self parking to our guests.
I sincerely apologise that the birthday balloon that had been arranged was not in your room upon arrival. This was indeed an oversight on our part and I believe that our front of house manager had spoken to you immediately and apolgised and was under the impression that we had resolved this unfortunate situation to your satisfaction. We were unaware that you were a diabetic and it was not our intention to give you something that you were unable to enjoy, we simply meant this as a gesture to apologise for our error. With relation to your credit card payment I can assure you that this is not the case we have been in touch with our bank on several occasions and we have also been in touch with your own bank. Our bank has assured us that we had no funds held in addition to your hotel bill. We also contacted your own bank to verify that we were not holding any funds, which your bank also confirmed. I am aware that our accounts team worked diligently to resolve this issue and spoke with you on serveral occassions and I am very sorry if you perceived any member of our team to be rude as it would never be our intention to upset or disappoint any of our guests.

Best Wishes,
Damien O'Riordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed here with my partner as we got a great online deal and had heard wonderful things about the G hotel. When we checked in there was no one on Concierge to assist with our luggage- this was ok as we only had small weekend bags but not standard for 5 star hotels I am assuming? Reception could not find our online booking and didnt put my mind at rest over being charged twice as on completion of my booking the site said my card would be charged- it turns out it wasnt. The room was ok- big stain on the carpet in the room and overall not too impressed. I did get a great deal on the room so I overlooked all these things but wont be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelchic1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This was one of the last hotels we stayed in during our 9 day tour of Ireland. It's a fun and funky modern hotel. The rooms were large and clean and the food at the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessiDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed at The G with a group of girl friends last Saturday night. From the moment we arrived we had a wonderful time, surroundings were so luxurious, staff were so helpful and welcoming, food and cocktails were amazing, everything was first class. Can't wait to go back !!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PfrancisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We've stayed there with my partner last June for a romantic weekend. We had a good time. The hotel is nice. We had room service and the food was fine. My only concern is that I would have loved more friendly contact from the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We recently stayed in this hotel and were very impressed. We were greeted well and speedily dealt with. We were escorted to our room by the receptionist and when she discovered there was a problem with the keys she immediatly up-graded us. Our new room was at the front of the hotel, bigger and brighter (decor was similar) While we were facing a busy road the room was totally sound proff. The bed was very comfortable. All the staff were friendly, effecient and helpful. Breakfast was great, with the usual choices of juice, cereal, fruit, cold meats and fresh baking and we had several options from the cooked section over our stay which was cooked to order and never disappointed. The hotel while not to everyones taste is uniquely designed and provided a relaxing base, a nice 15-20 min walk to the city.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbt.ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $152 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing