We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Stars is not enough!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Stars is not enough!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

We have travelled all over the world and this hotel is the one of the best we've ever seen..
Everyone from the doorman to the Reception & Bar Staff was warm, couteous and professional.
We loved the location, ambience, helpfulness of the staff.
We were made to feel like there was only us in the hotel.
The bedrooms are beautiful and the quality of food is fantastic .
Cant wait to go back!!!!!
Thank You to Everyone at the G Hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eimear7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,481
    558
    323
    132
    71
See reviews for
259
1,514
34
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

Had a fantastic holiday. We were very well looked after. Be sure to take a trip to the Thermal Suite and treatments are highly recommended! Food was delicious. Loved every minute

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EColwell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Me and my husband stayed in the g recently as a treat before the arrival of our first child. We found this hotel to be great in every aspect. Great food, friendly staff, beautiful rooms & excellent spa.

The breakfast was particularly good as you were given the choice of continental buffet, hot food buffet, or to order something from a menu.

The spa facilities were also excellent, I had the yummy mummy treatment - a bit pricey but a lovely treat. Whilst my husband went to the thermal suite- a steal at €30 for 1hr30.

Overall we had a great stay & would recommend to anyone wanting to treat themselves!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccampbell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Room was great, very spacious and comfortable and the girls on reception were a credit, as were the men who looked after the room service. Breakfast was a let down. Sausage undercooked, bacon was dry, eggs (scrambled) were terrible and was told I was not getting anything other than what was sittin pre-cooked for what looked like an eternity. Fruit was past its best, but on the up-side the cereal was great. This hotel has 5 star features, combined with 2 star features unfortunately. If I return and I probably will it will be room only and I will do all my feeding in the beautiful Huntsman public house across the road.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffreyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Staff seem to be caught up in the arrogance of the 5 stars and forgotton what it is that makes a good hotel i.e warm welcome, good food and service.
We ordered .... had to remind staff to bring drinks .... an hour later we finally got our main course, and my wifes food came with "Hair" on the top. No appologies for delays or for additional "Garnishes".

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin20186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

While our room was lovely (Junior Suite) and my experience in the spa was outstanding (Lydia was exceptional), service and overall welcome was not what I would expect from a 5 star.

A drinks order was forgotten in the bar -just never appeared. I had to request a clean ashtray a couple of times in the smoking area outside the bar as waitresses walked by dirty ashtrays (left by others). We ordered Eggs benedict for breakfast in our room and Eggs Florentine were delivered. The DVD player in the room wasn't working (although reception did offer to send someone up to fix it). The €10 charge for valet parking was a joke especially when we had to get our own car on checking out! I think if you're spending as much as we did on a night (room was €360) we shouldn't be charged €10 for valet parkting. I also thought the €20 holding charge for getting a DVD was a bit much. But worst of all, we were told 3 times on checking in that our room card would stop working at noon the next day and we HAD to check out by noon - it felt as if we were barely in the door and they wanted us out. I don't mind being told once but 3 times is way too much(thanks for that Lorna). I just felt I was in school or something with these rules and regulations - we're adults, please trust your customers!

The hotel location is a bit bizzarre. Spending €500 for a night to walk out beside a Woodies isn't exactly what you'd wish for.

Overall it's a very girly hotel - females seemed to outnumber men by about 4 to 1. So a good spot for a girlie weekend away if you're on a deal. And I would go back for that but don't think I'd splurge on a suite again - the service does not deliver a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BitofaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

From the moment you enter till you leave the service and attention to detail from staff is second to none. Guests are made feel so at home and relaxed. The bedrooms are heaven - best nights sleep ever in a hotel and the restaurant is fabulous. The quality of food is fantastic and not over-priced. We also enjoyed the delights of the Spa on our visit and what a delight it was. Highly recommend this hotel. Have visited twice now, once on a romantic break with my husband and then with extended family and both times were brilliant. Can't wait for my next stay. So close to the city and so easy to find - can't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula201003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,606 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#7 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing