We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Myself and a friend stayed here for a post christmas getwaway. We were expecting good service and to be treated well and we were. I was a little dissapointed at first when the thermal suite was out of action due to technical problems.We also did not relaise you had to book in advance for treatments/use of the espa, but due to cancellations and a very friendly and helpful receptionist at the spa we managed to have treatments on day two of our stay (but not the thermal suite). Generally the service and attitude of the staff was very good and friendly. Overall it was good value and gave two friends a special treat!

  • Liked — large room and very comfortable bed
  • Disliked — air conditioning difficult to regulate
  • Tips/Secrets — Book the thrmal spa and treatments at time of booking or may be disappointed
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cousinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    584
    338
    138
    75
See reviews for
279
1,585
37
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West of Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2006

Myself and my husband spent 2 nights in this hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary.

We arrived at about 7.30pm and were advised that our car would be parked for us and all our luggage would be brought to our rooms - excellent!

The reception area is so different - black decor with lighting candles and impressive floral displays and oh my God - you have to have a look at the fish tank, watch out for the colour changing sea-horses!

The concierge showed us to our rooms and offered to show us around the hotel if we liked (we were in a rush, so declined). He talked us through all the functions in the room and offered to take care of anything that we needed.

The room was fantastic. Big king size bed, flat screen TV, fully stocked mini-bar (at the same prices as the bar), volume control for the TV in the bathroom(!), air conditioning and complimentary shoe shining service! The bathroom was lovely and was stocked with complimentary spa products.

We were advised that there were a number of Christmas parties going on in the hotel over the weekend – but to my surprise, we were not disturbed once as the rooms seemed to be very well insulated.

We ordered breakfast in bed on both mornings (any room service ordered was very prompt) – what a luxury as it comes up on a trolley, which folds out into a table with a heating oven underneath so your food stays lovely and warm. We had the full Irish and the pancakes which were really tasty. Freshly squeezed OJ and great tea!

The bars were very impressive, table service and every cocktail you could imagine (they are quite expensive though at €12 a pop, but lovely as a treat). The staff were super friendly and efficient.

Our only crib about the hotel was the restaurant. The surroundings were beautiful as with the rest of the hotel and the staff were very capable. They didn’t have the wine that we initially ordered. We were very impressed with our starters, but both of us were disappointed with our mains (sirloin steak and sea bass) which lacked imagination, taste and any unity. Our deserts were ok – but again, not what we were expecting from such an impressive 5* hotel and at the prices they were charging.

Things to consider:

-Location as it is outside of the city centre. We called out a taxi and it cost €10 into the centre at 9pm.
-Cost – a complete luxury hotel and an ideal location for celebrating something special, but unless you have a lot of money at your disposal then beware of the costs.
-Personally I loved the décor, it was truly different and unique, but I could see how it may not be to everyone’s liking as it is very modern and “out there” in parts.
-Give them 10 mins to retrieve your car, if in a hurry ring down before hand.

All in all – a great hotel, but not for the faint hearted or faint of pocket!

  • Liked — The feeling of luxury and the comfort of the rooms
  • Disliked — The restaurant food
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

It first started out rocky when our "butler" was nowhere to be found when we arrived into Galway Airport. We called the hotel and they sent our "butler" (so funny) to pick us up. From that moment forward the G was an amazing experience. Every single staff person seemed geniunely kind and friendly. Unfortunately we only stayed one night at the G since we thought it was going to be far from the center of Galway. Not the case at all, short 5 minute taxi ride into main area...plus they offer a "butler" to take you to and from the airport well worth the stay.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — internet access, no business room, the rooms had wifi connection
  • Tips/Secrets — definitely stay here, short taxi ride to center of town
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jinabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

It's been five months since I visited the G and I had to write this review because I can't stop thinking about the great time I had there. This hotel doesn't have a typical Irish atmosphere but it was a great opportunity to stay at a 5 star hotel at a reasonable price. If this hotel was in New York or London it would easily be a $500 per night hotel - maybe more. The service we received was unmatched and the spa is unbelievable- I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Spa Bathroom, cupcake arrival gift, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — nada
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a spa treatment so that you can use the Spa facilities without paying.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank goosebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

So much has been written about the decor and style of the g. It's all very accurate! Depending on your point of view, it's either a designer triumph or perhaps a bit of an over-the-top fantasy. It will be interesting to see how modern and trendy it looks in 5 or more years time! Inevitably, there's no real trace of Irishness about it either. But all in all, a lavish experience.

We had hardly stopped the car before the first of the very many attentive staff was there to take the bags, park the car and usher us inside to our first experience of the ultra dark lobby and reception. The check in clerk personally took us on a conducted tour of the public areas and escorted us right to our room. Service is excellent indeed. The room lived up to expectations- superbly furnished and decorated, and very comfortable indeed.

The hotel was full, (Saturday) so much so that when we went to make a dinner reservation we were told there were no vacancies. "Would you like to make one for next weekend?" we were asked! It was disappointing that this problem wasn't made clear when we checked in, considering all the other minor details they went through on the tour. The alternative lounge menu is a little thin, so we ended up going across the road to the Huntsman gastro pub- and it was very nice indeed. That too was very busy so we were glad we went over earlier to make a reservation.

Perhaps it was just a coincidence, but the guests seem to comprise about 85% females! There was one very large group of about 30 ladies, which probably caused the restaurant reservation block. But in the main and pink lounges after dinner I counted 6 men and perhaps 50 ladies!

The g is some 2-3km out of town, so it's a taxi ride to the main entertainment areas. There are always ones hovering outside. There's a new multiplex cinema in the same complex.

Finally, we had to leave early on the Sunday morning to catch a flight. Though we surprised them, breakfast was rustled up fairly efficiently. However, when we checked out there was a long wait for our car to be brought up by the valet. When it came, it wasn't our car! Actually it was a better one than ours. But there was some worrying delay before the right keys and car were found- in fact we went to collect it ourselves. That, and the less than piping hot coffee we had in the lounge, was something that shouldn't happen in a hotel in this class. A shame, for the g is so very different, and in so many respects deserves the plaudits it gets.

  • Liked — Extravagant decor and design, comfort and service attantion
  • Disliked — Not being able to make a dinner reservation- restaurant too small for guest demand?
  • Tips/Secrets — Make a dinner reservation when you reserve the room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elton_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2006

Stayed in the G Hotel in July for a mid week break after hearing much hype about it. I have to say, along with alot of other reviews, my first impression of the hotel was not great. It is rather unimpressive to look at - a grey building, and we actually drove by it and had to call for directions. When we arrived we were greeted straight away by concierge who parked our car. I found the lobby disappointing - very small and dark, and while I know the design is supposed to be "out there", I don't think it really works. They should have made this area larger and brighter. The bar areas are indeed beautiful, although we didn't have anything to eat, just a couple of drinks.
The bedroom corridors were so unusual but I liked them - only thing I wondered about was how impractical they seemed to be - how do the poor accommodation staff service them with them being so dark?! Also, you would think there might be a few accidents due to the darkness.
The bedroom was fab - really liked the decor, and the little touches were very nice - as mentioned before, the free large bottles of water, the cup cakes, the slippers at turn down. The bathroom was also top class.
The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was disappointing. I was really looking forward to the local produce as mentioned in the menu but, to be honest, it wasn't one of the best cooked breakfasts I've ever had. Perhaps that was down to personal taste. We did not have dinner there, instead opting to go into Galway which is such a buzzing city it would be shame not to go to one of their many fine restaurants/pubs.
Overall I thought the hotel was nice but, lacked atmosphere, and wasn't a "wow" product. There is just something missing, which I cannot put my finger on. Yes, prices are expensive, but I wouldn't gripe over that as when you book a 5 star hotel, what do you expect?
I probably wouldn't go back, due to the few points mentioned above, and also due to the location. I'd much rather stay somewhere in the city centre.
Don't get me wrong, we had a lovely stay, but just wouldn't be rushing back.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cas120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

We enjoyed a weekend at the G for the Oyster festival at the end of September and it was an amazing stay!!

Throughout our stay, we enjoyed excellent service - willing to go the extra mile without being overbearing.

The room was luxurious - huge comfortable bed, big bathroom with a free standing bath, DVD player and free fairy cakes as a welcome gift. One of the few hotel rooms that felt like home and we could have easily spent the whole weekend in our room if we had not planned to attend the Oyster festival!

A stay at the G is not complete without a visit to the spa. They do charge for the use of the spa, but this is to keep numbers down and ensure that it remains an exclusive experience. We enjoyed several hours in the tepidarium - warm pool with massaging jets of water. Different showers, sauna and steam room are provided to continue the heat experience. But you can't beat relaxing on the heated beds around the pool. Incredibly relaxing and that's before you've even had a treatment!!

I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break and a truly pampering experience. We will definitely be going back again soon!

  • Liked — Very luxurious and beautifully designed
  • Disliked — It's location doesn't do it justice
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire_Wilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing