We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very impressive!”
Reviewed October 3, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff are very attentive and helpful without being overbearing and the rooms are lovely. The beds are comfortable and the restaurant is worth a visit. The ground floor is stunning and overall it is great value for a 5 star.

  • Liked — The great design
  • Disliked — nothing.....
  • Tips/Secrets — check prices online then call the hotel direct
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    571
    332
    133
    74
See reviews for
269
1,555
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin 4
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at evn better than the W in New York . You will find other hotels in Galway that are better situated and but dont have the view out over the sea.

The service, the food and the atmosphere was great in the restaurant. The Restaurant Manager Orla is so in tune with her guests that the dining experence was the highlight of the stay just ahead of the Beds God are they comfy. The service and the food in the Restaurant was so good that we dined on the second night there as well. However, the Menu is a little on the small side in terms of items to choise from. the staff being very attentive and most produce from local farmers and markets. Quite a few locals had dinner there, always a good sign. I have read in another review that food was inedible - either the people must have burned their taste buds or something has happened in the meantime, because I had some really great food, and I am fairly demanding. Breakfast was also very nice, buffet style but with cooked options available.

The whole place is contemporary and "Outside the Box".


The spa is very, very nice, even if you don't treat yourself to a massage or other treatment but just want to take advantage of the space you should have some time in the vitality pool.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre with very nice pubs and shops, we walked in and got the Hotel to pick us up after we had all the shopping done. Just in time for afternoon tea, which we had with a glass of Pink Champers!!! what a way to have High Tea, The service in the lounge was a bit slow and hap-hazard and the staff did not have the same polish as in the restaurant.

We have aready booked for a short trip in December with Friends. we can see this as being a regular thing.

  • Liked — The Restaurant
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — get the hotel to pick you up from the airport and the city
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Life-is-Better
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Just back from the g hotel, staff excellent, rooms were very cool. My new husband managed to get tooth ache while there and the concierge were brilliant arranged a dentist within 3 minutes v v impressed. Got to enjoy our stay pain free. Spa is a must. This hotel lives up to its 5 stars.

  • Liked — Excellent service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaEdgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

I have just arrived back from The G hotel in Galway. My boyfriend booked it as a treat and we stayed in a suite for 2 nights. I really cannot say enough about this hotel. From the minute we arrived until the second we left, the staff were impeccable, absolutely fantastic. The decor and design are qualities that will never be beaten by any hotel in the world. Having stayed in Sheen Falls and other 5 star hotels, the G hotel is definetly the best ive ever stayed in. The design in the overall hotel is amazing and it is so different to any other hotels out there. The use of the spa is €30 each and it is def worth the money. When you enter this hotel there is a neon sign saying "This must be the place" and its 100% true. Im looking forward to my next stay already.

  • Liked — Design
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Savour the trip as its not often you get to stay in a hotel like this
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

We stayed in the g with our toddler.
Good points are: service, food, foyer.
Bad points: no pool, no facilities for children at all, on main road, waiting for car could take 20 mins, staff at reception ok only, overpriced for what you get.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank athas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

After having read the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor, it was with caution that we approached 'The g' hotel in Galway. From the moment that we parked our car out front (for valet parking) we felt pampered and special. The decor has a certain 'wow' factor without being overbearing or pretentious, and is a feast to the eyes. From the different coloured lounges to the low-lit corridors, it is unique and impressive in it's difference to other hotels of this class.
The room we had was bright and airy - a contrast to the sexy, sultry corridors, and the complimentary cupcakes and water certainly hit the spot. Whilst we didn't have dinner there , we indulged in a pre-dinner cocktail which was impeccably made and served with plenty of nuts/crackers.
The hotel was able to make reservations at our requested restaurants (at short notice) and organised cabs with ease. The reception/door staff made sure that we had umbrellas before leaving if there was the slightest possibility of rain.
Breakfast in the mornings was included in our package and was beautifully laid out and had a variety of options including plenty of fresh fruit (often scarce in hotel breakfasts).
Having stayed in a variety of good hotels throughout the world, The g is up there with The Ritz, and I would consider it to be the only hotel I would stay in when in Galway.

  • Liked — Sumptious decor
  • Disliked — No pillow menu
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Coyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

We stayed at the G for 2 nights on September 1st and 2nd. Firstly let me say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

First impressions are always important and as soon as we drove up the car and cases were whisked away and we entered the reception area. It is surreal as are most of the public areas.

Checkin took only moments and we were given a tour of the public areas. These are worth going to see as they are so Over The Top that they work wonderfully. Even the elevators and the corridors are beautifully designed.

We stayed in a Junior Suite and it was great. The 6ft Bed was very comfortable and the room came with it's own gas fire and plasma TV. We were even treated to complimentary fruit, water and those little fairy cakes. Newspapers were delivered each morning. The room was pure luxury and could not be faulted in any way.

The bathroom itself was a marvel - the free standing bath had the perfect view of the TV in the bathroom!!! The double shower and twin sinks were very nice. It was great to see large bottles of shampoo, bath salts, body lotion, foam bath etc. Strange though that there was no shower gel of any kind!

We had dinner in the restaurant and it is very expensive - as is everything about this hotel. I can understand paying high prices for the accommodation but it was a ridiculous €15 for beans on toast in your room (plus another €8 per person just to have them in your room). Breakfast was €25 for a full Irish and to be honest it was nothing special.

We didn't use the SPA because the prices are very high and we were also going to be charged €30 per person just to go into the SPA and use the facilities. This is rediculous when you think of the price of a suite in the hotel.

All in all, the staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel is over priced and the food is so very expensive. It annoys me that after paying almost €1,000 for a weekend we were asked to pay for a visit to the SPA area and that wasn't even to get any treatments.

This is not the type of place you go to when you just want a bed for the night and a base from which to stroll to the local attractions. Staying in the hotel and spending time in the hotel, in the public areas, in your room is what this is all about.

The hotel is spectacular but there is the feeling that if you sneeze you will be charged exorbitant prices for doing so!

  • Liked — The feeling of luxury and the extravagence.
  • Disliked — The price fo things which should be included for free.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atomise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,708 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,821 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing