We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Nearby Hotels
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$200
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Connacht Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$162
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea-Breeze Lodge(Galway)
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$177
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$158
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,859)
Filter reviews
2,859 results
Traveler rating
1,645
618
359
152
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,645
618
359
152
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakesthermal suitephilip treacyretail parkcup cakespink roomluxury roomon arrivaldouble showerturn down serviceeggs benedictamazing hotellounge areatop classpublic areasfrom start to finishcar park
Filter
Updating list...
2,591 - 2,596 of 2,859 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2009

This hotel, while not centrally located, is worth a stay. It's aesthetically stunning. The rooms are at once plush and comfortable. About a 20 minute walk to downtown Galway, our daily walks were welcome because the food in that city is so great.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An_Avid_Traveler_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

This is the second time that I have stayed at the g hotel in Galway and it is fabulous. The rooms are of such a high standard in every detail, that it is a total luxury to spend a night in the bed and then wake up to the wonderful comforts of the room. This hotel has been carefully planned in every detail. The corridors are totally silent - you do not hear anyone walking past or hear the arrival of the chambermaids in the morning. The corridors have deep heavy pile carpet and low lighting. You can turn on a 'do not disturb' light from inside your room and this is observed by the staff so you can sleep as late as you like.

The service is the best that I have ever experienced in Ireland. Only in 5 star hotels in Europe, have I ever seen comparable attention to detail. The staff are plentiful and really well trained. The guests are really taken care of.

The food is also excellent and reasonably priced. Again, the service is flawless. I truly recommend this hotel on a visit to Galway. This hotel sets the standard for other hotels in Ireland and it costs less!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveloo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

When arriving to this hotel you might question the 5 star grading because of the location, although once you enter this hotel you soon forget. The lady at reception that checked us in was very welcoming & friendly. Our room was very tastefully decorated with a good size of an ensuite. I cannot comment on the Matz at the g Restaurant as we had dinner arrangements made elsewhere.
We found the staff pleasent & helpful which made our stay even more enjoyable.I look forward to our return.
Overall the G hotel is a luxury hotel in a great city....Enjoy

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

Booked this hotel for a short break. Was very dissappointed with the whole hotel. Reception area is so very dark and depressing, receptionist was friendly and showed us to our room. Corridors were very darkly lit and tomb-like. Bedroom was fine, comfy bed, nice bathroom, clean, flat screen tv and table and chairs in the room. Hotel is a good 15 mins walk to Galway city centre. Hotel has 3 big lounge room, where you sit and order your drinks and wait for them to be brought to you, very slow and you could wait up to 15mins for a drink. Breakfast was ok, had the continental choice - which wasnt great, poor selection of cheeses and meats, and had an omlette which was burnt. Also ate lunch in the hotel and it was very bland - seafood chowder and a chicken pannini - which was just a pannini with dry chicken, should have know from the lunch but we had dinner here also. We were shown "to the best table in the house" - which overlooked the main road and a garage?! proceeded to order a caesar salad, which when it came out I couldnt believe it, a head of lettuce sliced in half with a very poor dressing on it, main meal was very dry chicken on a bed of luke warm mash and dessert wasnt great either. Husbands meal was as bad and he had lamb. Overall I wouldnt stay in this hotel again as there are better hotels in Galway, it is far over rated and definatly not worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BernieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

I booked myself and my mother in for one night at this so called 5 star hotel. When we arrived at 3:15pm, we were told our room would not be ready until 5pm, as the hotel was fully booked the night before, so we were told we could wait in the lounge and were given complimentary coffees. Check in time is 3pm. It transpired that some guests who stayed for Valentines night were allowed late check out and that was why we were not able to check in. They should not have offered late check outs for our room as we were booked to check in (see hotel guide for dummies) ! No manager came to see us and explain situation. When we asked for a manager she tried to justify that they were very busy but that there was nothing she could do except offer us a double room. They could have contacted us by mobile to inform us of the delay. We asked for our money back at 5pm as we were still waiting and checked into the fabulous Twelve hotel. G hotel staff should take a lesson in customer service from them. We were treated so badly I will never consider the G hotel again for my frequent trips to Galway. You could do a lot better off than stay in this totally overrated, overstyled, and above all poorly managed hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank travellingbambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews