We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay but not a 5 star standard hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay but not a 5 star standard hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in the G hotel last week and had a very good stay there. Having come straight from another 5 star hotel though the differences between the two were striking. In advertising a hotel as 5 star it is the little extra touches one one expect. In the previous hotel there was a doorman who showed us to our room, luggage brought to room for us, executive putter in room, a phone call from reception to see if we needed anything, mr/Madame from staff, prosecco offered at breakfast!! There is a big difference between this and what the G offers! We would definitely say it is a good 4 star but much more personal touches needed for a 5 star rating and price. The cupcakes were a lovely touch though. Drinks were excellent particularly the cocktails - buy one get one free which is excellent value. We had lunch and a four course meal during our stay. Neither of us enjoyed the lunch - pulled chicken sandwiches. Dinner was a mixed bag - we both disliked the starter which was pulled chicken. It was nearly identical to lunch!! Next we had a pasta dish, pork and creme brûlée which were lovely. Dishes served quickly. Our hotel room had lovely decor and comfy bed. Some maintenance was needed on blown lightbulb, stains on carpet, loose tap. Also my night robe had a stain on it. We ordered room service for 9.30-10 slot and knock came to the door at 9.20. We would prefer it too early rather than cold but weren't dressed so had to answer in pjs which I wasn't happy with. Breakfast was nice. If this was a school report it would say - G is working well but needs to try harder.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrtea2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were disappointed to read that you were not entirely impressed with certain aspects of your stay. As the Hotel has three separate entrances we provide Concierge services and porterage assistance from within the Hotel.
It was rewarding to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money. We have shared your mixed feedback regarding our food offerings with our Head Chef, Paul, for him to look into further.
The Hotel is constantly looking for ways to improve and continue to exceed our guest’s expectations. As you will see from other reviews this is normally the case.
We hope that you will stay with us again to witness our improvements first hand.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,481
    558
    323
    132
    71
See reviews for
259
1,514
34
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Upgraded to a suite on arrival.the room was amazing! The styling of this hotel is unique and was the standout hotel on our trip. The lounges downstairs with their individual design are each worthy of having a cocktail in . We ate dinner in the hotel and had the sharing platter. We really enjoyed it. My girlfriend had a SPA and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommy2bago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your experience at the g. Our Philip Treacy hotel is so unique and really is a standout property. We have shared your lovely feedback with the entire team.

We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you and your girlfriend back to us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We've just returned from The G where we stayed for three nights to celebrate our 15 wedding anniversary.

The location is a bit odd, being in a shopping centre, but actually it works well because it puts you on the main roads and you're well away from the touristy bits, but it's only about a ten minute walk or €6 cab fare to the city centre.

The decor is crazy gorgeous! All black and pink and blue and gold and glittery. Stunning!

The room we had was enormous! A huge comfortable bed, but I'd like to have had a pillow menu because the pillows were a little soft for me. The bathroom had an enormous double tub and equally enormous walk in shower.

The cakes and chocolate left for our celebration were a nice touch.

Breakfast - a really good selection of continental and cooked items. I always prefers a buffet, but the menu looked good too.

Staff - brilliant, brilliant, brilliant. Honestly they couldn't do enough to see your stay is comfortable and every need is met. Some of the best service I've ever come across.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the shopping centre and it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexxity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a momentous occasion with us at the g. It was so rewarding to read how much you enjoyed the unique décor of the g. Our bedrooms receive constant praise and it was great to read that you enjoyed the one you were allocated.

We really appreciate your comprehensive review and we have shared your kind words about our location, bedrooms, breakfast and of course our team working here with all.

Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you once again for celebrating your special occasion with us.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Myself and my daughter arrived at the G Hotel really excited ! We were not disappointed at all ! We gad a overnight stay to enjoy and we certainly did that ! Our room was fab and the little cupcakes were a nice touch ! We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and the service was excellent . The next morning we got up ready for our booked cosy spa treatment . When we arrived at the spa we were greeted by a lovely lady who told us we were not booked in :( I told her I had made the booking and showed her the confirmation on my phone . She was genuinely very apologetic and told us that she could give us a later appointment . We couldn't take it as my daughter had to be back in Dublin that night ! We were very disappointed but we got to enjoy the thermal suite ! They did take the price of the spa treatment of the bill but still felt a little deflated :( but having said that we will be back and hopefully our spa treatment will not be overlooked !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the g. We have shared your wonderful comments about our cupcakes, menu offerings and bedrooms with all.

Please accept our apologies in relation to your ESPA treatments. We will look into this at once.

We genuinely appreciate your review and we hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the g again soon.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

When you book a 5*hotel you expect certain minimum standards. Not a thick coat of dust on your bedroom door or to know the height of the chamber maid based on the arc of dust on your bedroom mirror. Questionable stains on the bedroom carpet would not be expected in a hotel claiming 5* status. Also the communal areas are in serious need of a revamp and deep clean. But for the fact that the staff were being so nice we would have demanded a refund on our stay. This hotel needs a serious overhaul to keep its 5 stars and I would rate it at 3* based on our room...... I waited a long time to post this review so as not to give a knee jerk reaction to our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Naturally we were all greatly upset to read that you were not impressed with certain aspects of your recent stay at the g. We take enormous pride in the level of cleanliness throughout the hotel. The Hotel was recently awarded a gold award for this. All of our bedrooms are cleaned and then inspected by a Supervisor or Manager and the same policy is adhered to for the Food Outlets in the Hotel.
We have a rolling maintenance program in the Hotel. Last year we invested heavily in our Ballroom, “the g suite” and this year we will continue to invest in our Signature Lounges.
We hope that you will return to us so you can witness our improvements first hand.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed at the g Hotel over the Bank Holiday weekend. We had a lovely stay. Our room was lovely but not as nice as some of the other 5* rooms I have styed in over the past year. The paintwork and decor is getting a bit worn around the edges in some areas. Reservations team were all excellent and very welcoming. Lovely cupcakes placed in our room in the evening, a lovely little touch. The cocktails in the bar were fab,we stayed in the bar till the late hours and I can safely say I have never had such delicious cocktails. Well done bar staff!! Hotel was busy coming to an end of Race week.I will return,lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacueK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay over the bank holiday weekend. We have shared your lovely feedback with our Reservations and Signature Lounge teams.
Please accept our apologies that you felt your bedroom was not as pristine as it should have been. We will look into this immediately. Thank you for your feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back to the g again soon.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templemore, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This is one of my favourite hotels in Ireland and it's all down to there customer service. It's amazing to see people really enjoying there jobs and putting personal touches on the little things. It's these little extras that really make it the 5 star success it is. The rooms in the hotel are extremely well decorated and have top range, state of the art facilities! The bathrooms are huge and are completely spotless. The breakfast was delicious and again the level of customer service at that early hour was fantastic. See you again soon 'g' and keep up the fantastic work!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 9174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were so pleased to read that the g is one of your favourite hotels in Ireland. Our team take enormous pride in the level of service they provide and it was so rewarding to read your kind words about this. We have shared your wonderful comments with all the ladies and gentlemen working in the g.

We hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us at the g again very soon.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#5 Spa Hotel in Galway
#7 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing