We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at The G” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
clare
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at The G”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is really my kind of hotel! The decor is absolutely brilliant. From the outside you really don't know what is going to greet you but once you get inside it is fab!! The Pink Lounge is fab could have stayed there all day! The room we were in was gorgeous and overlooked the Lough which was really nice. Spotlessly clean also which Im sure is hard considering they have cream carpets!! I do have to say the shower in our room probably the best I have ever had!!!

Breakfast was really lovely with such a wide selection & the hot breakfast was truly lovely. Huge portions and we couldnt leave any of it behind it was so nice. We also decided to experience the afternoon tea which was a nice treat for us and we found it to be really relaxing and enjoyable.

The staff we met were lovely, the lady in the breakfast room with the purple shirt couldnt do enough for everyone and always in good form. Also, Virginia on reception a really lovely lady who made us feel welcome the minute we arrived.

Location wise the hotel is perfect - less than 10 minutes into the city and taxis are easy to get from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again, although maybe next time go with the girls so we can do the Spa!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireCoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us at the g. It was fantastic to read how much you enjoyed the unique decor and ambiance of the hotel. Our breakfast and our afternoon tea offering receive constant praise and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed them.
Our team were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and Virginia was especially pleased to be mentioned in your review.
Our location makes the g an ideal base for exploring the west of Ireland and Galway. We look forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon and hope that you get the opportunity to visit ESPA at the g on your next visit.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,479
    557
    321
    132
    71
See reviews for
256
1,512
34
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I love the interior design.. It doesn't look like Galway... Nice place to go alone, with somebody else or with the family, but I'd say it's a very fashionable place. I cannot complaint of my stay in this lovely place, defo I will come back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed the design of the g. Our hotel is the ideal base for romantic breaks, family reunions and of course to unwind. We really appreciate your kind words and please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure your next stay is as memorable an experience.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was our second stay and we both loved it. Amazing spa treatments.The rooms are beautiful with probably the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! The G is one of the stylish hotels in Ireland.
The food in the restaurant was amazing but I have to say that the jewel in the crown for the G is their staff. The staff are friendly polite and helpful and incredibly attentive.
I would recommend anyone stay here, they will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseG1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the second time. Our beds receive constant praise and it was lovely to read how much you enjoyed their comfort as well as our beautifully appointed bedrooms. We have shared your wonderful feedback with the entire team who were so pleased to be mentioned in your review.
Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back for the third time again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I had never heard of The G Hotel, and made this booking via hotwire (which meant I did not know the name/brand until after I had purchased the reservation). The hotel is located a bit outside of town--about a 25 min walk or 10-12 euro taxi ride--and it is a commercial shopping center. The building was originally designed to be used for offices, than was changed to a hotel. Considering this, I think they did a fantastic job converting a more traditional office building space into a luxurious and artsy hotel environment. Even with the slightly inconvenient distance outside of town, our stay at this hotel was fantastic and we would stay again. The room was beautiful, the hotel was pretty and quirky, the food at breakfast was delicious, the beds very comfortable, and the staff were always so polite and helpful. Free wifi and parking were nice too. The concierge team (Neil?) were especially helpful in directing us on our day time drives and quick to provide a converter/adapter when the fuse on mine blew. The only complaints we had: 1) the free wifi service was inconsistent and 2) the bathroom layout could improve--there was very little counter space and the sinks were set up such that using them sent sprays of water all around the counter. But again, i would like to stress we loved this hotel and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Get the eggs benedict at breakfast--it was the best eggs benedict I have ever had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlukesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. It was so rewarding to read that you had a fantastic to stay at the g and that you would return to us again. Our beautiful bedrooms, unique design and decor, menu offerings and of course our amazing team combine to make the g a truly unique destination. We will certainly look into your final comments and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Lastly, thank you for recommending the hotel. We are greatly looking forward to welcoming you back to us again.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Amazing experience in this Hotel from the moment we arrived until we reluctantly left. This is 5 star luxury for sure & you will enjoy every moment. The rooms are amazing, we had a deluxe King room. Quiet, amazingly comfortable & great night’s sleep. The lounge area in the room is perfect for relaxing & everything is thought of for your comfort. Huge bath & separate shower, gorgeous toiletries & plenty of towels, robes, slippers just make the experience even better. Food wise – we ate in one of their signature lounges, afternoon tea was lovely & dinner delicious food & wine at a good price - €69 for 2 starters & 2 mains with a bottle of house wine. Plenty of other great deals on offer too. Breakfast was delightful, with plenty of variety and in a relaxed atmosphere. Menu of food cooked to order is very good and food all very tasty. The spa – Thermal area is a must, found it clean, warm, good size and extremely relaxing. The treatments were a bit pricy for what you get. Massage wasn’t great and I felt the relaxation area was very cold. These are small areas that they could add a bit more thought to as the rest of the hotel and service is excellent. Overall – definitely go. You will leave relaxed, happy, well rested and well fed. Great place for a break away.

Room Tip: A deluxe King a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EHMkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience at the g. Your lovely comments about our bedrooms, our Signature Lounges and our breakfast offering in restaurant Gigi’s are all greatly appreciated. We were pleased to read that you made time to visit ESPA at the g, however we will follow up your feedback with our ESPA Manager, Elaine.
We greatly appreciate your review and we hope that you will stay with us at the g the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had the afternoon tea with our stay, the service was realy good. Excellent atmosphere too, we didnt leave the hotel the first night. Their cocktails are fantastic too! The only issue is that its a bit out of the way if you want to walk, not the nicest part of town but the taxis arent too expensive so it wouldnt be a reason not to go.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your experience at the g. It was lovely to read that you made time to enjoy Afternoon tea at the g and that you sampled our cocktail menu.
We hope that you will return to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I actually had to check to see if this really is a 5 star hotel. Compared to other 5 star hotels, it doesn't even come close. There is absolutely no attention to detail. There was no greeting upon arrival or farewell on departure-no assistance or offer of help in any way. The rooms themselves were lovely, nice halls too and the spa was fantastic. Food was good and the staff in the restaurant were very nice. But they have very clearly been trained by someone other than whoever trained the staff at reception. Our room was freezing. There was only the option of air conditioning. When I was leaving for a night out, I asked at reception if somebody could look at the heating. When I returned after a very rainy night in Galway, the room was still freezing. There was still no heating (not sure if it was broken or just doesn't exist!!) and instead there was a very thin blanket left. No note to explain that the heating wasn't working. I actually contemplated sleeping in the hall as it was a lot warmer! Needless to say, I had a terrible nights sleep. When I was checking out, I mentioned the heating issue and the girl at reception literally said "oh-sorry". I wasn't looking for anything except a genuine apology or explanation but her nonchalance made me more mad. I emailed the hotel to give them my feedback and received no reply! Hence why I'm writing a review here! It is that sort of "couldn't care less attitude" that makes this place a very poor hotel and in no way deserves to be a 5 star. Might be flashy on the outside but it certainly doesn't live up to the expectations. So if you are planning to stay here-make sure to wrap up and bring extra clothes as you'll certainly need them. And if something goes wrong, expect the type of response that you'd get at the Ryanair desk. The only good thing about the place is the superb spa and the fantastic staff that work there. But you can still use the spa if you're not staying there-just pay a small fee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 231Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were all greatly upset to read your review. Firstly the g is a 5 star hotel. We are 5 star rated by the AA and the Irish Tourism Board. Our team are all highly trained so it was peculiar to read that you were not welcomed or looked after and that you did not notice the attention to detail that we pride ourselves on. Our bedrooms are equipped with an in-room temperature control unit. This allows the guest to have cold air or warm air. If there was a genuine problem with the temperature control unit a room move would have been offered. We certainly would never expect anyone to sleep in a hallway.
Your review is upsetting. We take enormous pride in everything that we do and we hope that you can see that we genuinely care for our guests.
We hope that we have addressed your concerns.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#5 Spa Hotel in Galway
#7 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing