We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Totally worth it !”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I have been wanting to stay here for quite some time now, and finally got the chance last week.
From the moment you check in till when you check out it's all worth it.
The staff greet you in the corridors and other hotel areas like they know you, which is a small but very lovely touch.
I was unfortunately on a business trip so I didn't get to avail of all the amenities, but I'll make it my business to return here again soon
Thanks to all at The G !

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read that you finally made time to stay with us last week. We take enormous pride in the level of service we provide and it was very rewarding to read how well our team looked after you. We hope that you will stay with us again soon and for longer so can enjoy the g fully.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,524
    571
    332
    133
    74
See reviews for
270
1,556
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. First visit. Had heard lots about it, and thought it wasn't my taste. Proved to be much better than I expected. I was upgraded to a luxury room free of charge on arrival. Room size was really fab, and bathroom also. Double sinks, double shower, with super power, plus a very nice free standing bath. Very large bed. Staff in all sections very friendly & helpful.
Where did it not work for me: sense of sacrificing comfort for glamour... Eg. Restaurant seating is not great, nor the lobby area. Seats are not ergonomic. Also while bed size is great, and pillows fab, mattress not up to 5 star standard. Lastly, point of personal taste, is that if you want to be in hub of Galway, not the best location.
Overall I would say a great choice if you want a relaxed stay in the West of Ireland /Galway, with just a few minor quibbles.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Guest64Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that your experience at the g exceeded your expectations. Our Luxury bedrooms live up to their name and it is easy to understand why with you kind words and feedback. We were disappointed to read your comments about the seating in the restaurant and location but appreciate that this is your own personal opinion. We do appreciate your review and we hope that you will stay at the g the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 wonderful days at the G hotel and loved it so much...we stayed in a superior king room and it was beautiful with lots of little extras like fresh water everyday and lovely toiletries...food was lovely and although drinks were a little expensive you expect that in a quality hotel...staff were lovely too and there is a bus stop just across from the hotel if you don't fancy driving into town only 1.90 each way...would be nice if you didn't have to pay for the thermal suite which I did but enjoyed it anyway..Would love to go back again soon

Room Tip: We stayed in room 257 which was really quiet which we requested
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruceDundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. It was lovely to read how much you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated as well as the amenities and features they boast. We have shared your lovely feedback with the entire team. Our thermal suite does command a charge as it is considered a treatment in itself and numbers are restricted at any one time to ensure an atmosphere of privacy and relaxation is maintained for those enjoying this facility.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the g.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

What a weekend in the G hotel. It is truly an amazing hotel with staff so friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay such a memorable one. I would recommend this hotel to friends and work colleagues alike. The room was fabulous, spacious and all you could ask for on a relaxing weekend away. Food in the Gigi restaurant was gorgeous and a great selection on breakfast. The atmosphere was so relaxing it was just the tonic I needed personally.
10/10 for me, I can't fault one thing with our stay and great credit must go to management and staff for such a memorable stay. They have a repeat customer here and look forward to another break in this hotel in the near future. Thank you for everything and hopefully I'll be back in July for the races all going well.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meath1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the g. Our ladies and gentlemen working here were delighted to be mentioned in your review. Our bedrooms and menu offerings combine to make the g a truly unique destination and it so rewarding to read that you found your experience to be 10 out of 10.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon. Please let us know if there is anything you can do to ensure your next stay is as memorable.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have just enjoyed a very nice dinner at the G Hotel. Food was delicious and waiting staff superb.

Decor in main lounges is wonderful, but ladies toilet is dark, dingy and feels dirty ... toilet door would not lock and handle on entry door would appear to be ready to fall off ... disappointing that superb decor was not carried throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizetteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the g. It was so rewarding to see that you had a lovely experience in our Restaurant gigi’s and in our Signature Lounges. We have shared your feedback with our Maintenance team for them to look into immediately.
We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just back from afternoon tea in the G with the ladies. It cost €24 pp for the ladies afternoon tea and €26pp for the mens afternoon tea. We ordered two womens and one mens afternoon tea for three people. The waiter first came and welcomed us and placed a napkin on our table before going through the menu options.

A selection of beautifully presented sandwiches arrived a short time later with consisted of a variety of different bread types such as wraps,baps and brown and white bread. Filings included ham and cheese, mini beef burger, goats cheese, cesar wrap, smoked salmon and cucumber sandwiches. Each tasted delicious and unique.

They then removed the plates and shortly after we received a tiered assortment of pastries. White and brown scones with fresh strawberry jam and cream, apple pie, chocolate scones, meragines, cheese cake, chocolate fudge biscuits, and much much more. the array of desserts were a feast for the eyes and the texture and flavours were amazing. We ordered coffee i.e mocha,cappucino,americo, hot chocolate and vanilla tea(tea was not great) and these were all included in the €24 each. we paid around €70. We were there 3 hours and felt like princesses. Thanks for the amazing experience,looking forward to returning for another girly break soon and visiting the spa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clara2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to have Afternoon Tea in the g. We were so pleased to read that you sampled our new Gentlemen’s Afternoon Tea as well as our traditional offering. We have recently transformed our Afternoon Tea menus with the addition of new teas and we have also themed our Afternoon Tea for special occasions such as Easter and Mothers Day.
Afternoon Tea is an experience not to be missed and we hope that we can welcome you back to our Signature Lounges again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for two nights in March. What a lovely stay. From the minute we arrived we felt very welcome. We were checked in by a lovely girl on reception who was so pleasant and explained everything to us. The decor in the hotel is unique and the rooms are spacious with a lovely bathroom. Breakfast is really good with a great selection.
We had dinner in Gigi's restaurant at the hotel and it was amazing. We were served by a lovely young man who was very friendly and attentive(sorry I didn't get his name, he wore glasses). He explained everything to us and answered any questions we had about the menu. He also served us at breakfast the next morning and was equally friendly.
We found all the staff to be lovely, and this really makes a difference to your stay.
The hotel is also just a short taxi ride away from the city centre with all the great bars and restaurants.
We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time at the g. It was lovely to read that you found the g to be unique and that our team took such good care of you. Our location makes the g an ideal base for exploring the city centre as well as the west of Ireland.
We greatly appreciate your kind words and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay as memorable as this one.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing