We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Nearby Hotels
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$200
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Connacht Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$162
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea-Breeze Lodge(Galway)
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$177
$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,859)
Filter reviews
2,859 results
Traveler rating
1,645
618
359
152
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,645
618
359
152
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakesthermal suitephilip treacyretail parkcup cakespink roomluxury roomon arrivaldouble showerturn down serviceeggs benedictamazing hotellounge areatop classpublic areasfrom start to finishcar park
Filter
Updating list...
1,351 - 1,356 of 2,859 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed a night at the G as part of our honeymoon. Beautiful room and lovely spaces throughout. A nice personalised welcome was really appreciated. Both concierges were excellent, as were the front of house staff. Bit disappointed with the evening meal, particularly with the pre-dinner cocktails, which had to sent back. But the morning at the spa the next day more than made up for it - beautiful, calm environment, great treatments and fabulous thermal suite - not to be missed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eadaoin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate part of your honeymoon with us at the g. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated and our Signature Lounges. Our Front of House team were delighted to be mentioned in your review and we were all pleased you enjoyed your time in ESPA at the g. Naturally, we were disappointed to read you did not enjoy your cocktails. Please accept our apologies for this.
We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The team at G could not have been more helpful. Noel went out of his way to help us and every amenity at the hotel was fabulous for the price point. While not right in town, it was a short, lovely walk along the water (it was a gorgeous sunny day while we were there!). The staff was most helpful and the breakfast (included) was nicely done.

Water and cupcakes included when you check in as well!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
It was so rewarding to read how well our ladies and gentlemen looked after you during your recent stay at the g. Noel was delighted to be mentioned in your review. It is a 15 minute walk along Lough Atalia into the city centre and we were pleased to read that you enjoyed this walk. Our arrival cupcakes are one of the many little touches that make the g special and we were so pleased that you enjoyed these.
We hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Fabulous, friendly staff (Noel, their Concierge who does everything and knows everything is awesome and the lovely young lady, Natalie, who checked us in ended up being from our home town in the US), nice hotel, good food (we did not eat dinner in the hotel just breakfast). Our room was large and comfortable, if you want a very modern hotel (bright decor, dim lighting, etc.) in Galway you will enjoy this place. It's a 15 minute to walk to the Bars and shopping on Quay Street. We walked there for dinner and after some time listening to Irish music in one of the many Bars on Quay St we taxied back for 8 euro's. The Hotel is located in a small shopping plaza that has a giant home store and a movie theatre which seemed a little weird at first but it didn't bother us at all during our stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TechSalesVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read how well our team looked after you during your recent stay at the g. Noel and Natalie were especially pleased to be mentioned in your review. It was lovely to see that you enjoyed our breakfast offering, comfortable bedrooms and of course the unique decor of the hotel. Galway is a fantastic city to visit and it seems like you enjoyed it thoroughly. We are located adjacent to the Wellpark Retail Complex which offers our guests the opportunity to see a movie, sample our sister restaurant ‘the g Counter’ and shopping too.
We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at The g Hotel in Galway. From the moment we walked into the foyer we felt totally welcome and completely at home. The staff were genuinely super friendly and were more than happy to help you in any way they could, but they weren't at all pushy or over-attentive. The hotel itself is wonderfully furbished and always looks spotless. The rooms were well maintained, never too hot or cold (the heating system was very easy to use) and the bathrooms were very nice.
There are many different options on all the menus - I only ate breakfast at the hotel as ate out at other meal times but everything I tried was delicious.
The spa is wonderful and offers a lot of treatments, or just some chill out time if you want to use the various jets and bubble type pool.
The hotel is also nicely located to the centre of Galway - you can easily walk or get a taxi to/from the hotel. Definitely the place to stay in Galway - highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 684livd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay with us in the g. It was lovely to read that you felt completely at home and that our team were friendly and assisted you whenever possible. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel is very special to us all and we were so pleased to see how much you enjoyed the unique decor of our bedrooms and Signature Lounges. Our Thermal Suite in ESPA at the g is a hidden treasure and it was nice to see that you made time to use this facility. We have recently added four new menu offerings in our Restaurant so we hope that we can welcome you back soon to sample these for yourself.
Thank you once again for such fantastic feedback. We really do appreciate this.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and i stay here for one night UNFORTUNATELY...
from check in to check out staff were amazing and extremely welcoming ,not to pushy...
The room was amazing ,double showers freestanding bath,double sinks ,flat screen with speakers in bathroom ,a massive king size bed.
when we eventually tore ourselves away from the amazing room we had dinner in the Gi Gi restaurant, a great selection on Scrumptious food and not expensive ,and as for the service in the restaurant, excellent..we ordered breakfast in bed and this was the deal breaker for me ,at 11:30, as requested ,breakfast was rolled into our room on a hostess trolly everything than should have been hot ,was hot .. I've stayed in a lot of hotels, some 5 star and this one is worthy of every star.
so much so i just booked 2 nights in September for my birthday .I'm already looking forward to it

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyann1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the g. It was lovely to read how well our team looked after you during your time with us. We have shared your fantastic comments about our amazing Suites with their double showers, freestanding baths and tiled televisions with all. Our Food and Beverage team were delighted to read how much you enjoyed the level of service they provide as well as our creative menu offerings.
We look forward to welcoming you back in September to celebrate your birthday with us. Thank you once again for such a fantastic review.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews