We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“g for great hotel galway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“g for great hotel galway”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Fantastic room with relaxing decor. Food was excellent at reasonable prices.
All staff very friendly and dedicated to delivering customer satisfaction. Four lounges to relax and enjoy a selection of drinks. A thoroughly enjoyable experience..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Galway. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel is very special to us and we were so pleased to read that you enjoyed the relaxing décor of our hotel. We have shared your lovely comments about our reasonable prices and our dedicated team with all.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,535
    579
    336
    135
    75
See reviews for
274
1,574
35
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel as a treat for our 10th wedding anniversary and had an amazing time. We were given a complimentary upgrade which was fantastic. The room was stunning, the bathroom was stunning, the bed was so comfy. We didn't want to leave the room. The fire was so nice. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening which was really good. The restaurant manager, I'm sorry I didn't get his name but he was very hands on and very welcoming. Breakfast was fine, no complaints but nothing wonderful either. I had a spa treatment which was excellent. The staff were friendly and attentive with the right balance and the hotel was clean and very comfortable. We are definitely hoping to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TALKGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your tenth wedding anniversary with us at the g. We were delighted to read that you had a fantastic time and that you enjoyed the comfort of your Junior Suite and the additional benefits they boast.
We have shared your lovely feedback about our bedrooms, as well as your experience in the Restaurant and Spa with all.
We hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon. Congratulations on your special occasion.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My partner and I stayed her for 2 nights, this would have been our 3rd visit to the G over a number of years and it just keeps getting better. We just wanted a relaxing break and that is what we got from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Lovely cosy room, good selection of TV stations, fantatsic food in the lounge where we ate both nights, fantastic selection of breakfast, cooked fresh and an excellent place just to sit and relax. We went to the thermal suite on one day with spa trestments which was bliss and relaxing.
Most of all the staff are excellent, friendly and always smiling.
We went to the cinema on one night which is next door, we availed of the move and meal selection on the menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOCCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the third time earlier this year. It was lovely to read that you have become a loyal guest and that you feel the hotel keeps on getting better. We have shared your kind words about our bedrooms, menu offerings and of course our Thermal Suite with the entire team here in the hotel.
We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back for a fourth visit again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed for 1 night B&B plus evening meal .. 2nd time staying in "G"...Absolute luxury !.. Easy going atmosphere in dining lounges & lovely to relax with cocktails !! We recommend the breakfast in bedroom .. A real treat !! Tom from Limerick

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomkatliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing such lovely feedback regarding your stay at the g on Trip Advisor. It was lovely to read that you found the hotel to be luxurious and that you enjoyed our Cocktail menu. We hope that we will welcome you back to us for a third time again very soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co galway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my 5 year old daughter stayed in the g hotel in February.It was a birthday treat for our daughter and some quality mother and daughter time. The staff were so welcoming on arrival. We arrived earlier than expected but the room was available for us to use straight away which was great as there was no hanging around.We were asked if we wanted the concierge to bring our bags up to the bedroom which we thought was a nice treat.The room was lovely with the view looking out on the water.The hotel staff had lovely treats left in our room for when we came back that evening with it being our daughters birthday.The staff really did go above and beyond to accommodate us if we needed anything.We didn't eat in the hotel that night but we did have breakfast in the room the next morning the waiter even rang us that morning to see if we wanted anything else for breakfast.All the staff made us feel like royalty our daughter had a ball she's even planning her next visit to the hotel.My only issue with the hotel is there was no swimming pool and we couldn't use the thermal suite as our daughter is only five but I do plan on goin down again with myself and my partner to the hotel again so we'll get to use all the facility's then.The room was very bright and airy and the bathroom was lovely the place was spotless.I couldn't fault the hotel it got 5 stars from us

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us in February. It was fantastic to read how well our front of house team looked after you and your daughter on arrival to the hotel. Our front facing bedrooms make a stay at the g extra special, especially a birthday treat.
We too hope to welcome you and your partner back to us again in the future. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay as memorable an experience. Thank you for sharing such kind words and please pass our best wishes onto your daughter on this very special occasion.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a dream! The spa, the restaurant, the room and the staff were all flawless. The hotel itself is stunning, really beautifully finished, very modern but with classic touches. I met with the wedding coordinator Rachel and she was so helpful and made me want to get married there the next day! We stayed in a luxury room, and it was just that! The bathroom was like something out of a magazine and the little touches like cupcakes in the room and turn down service just made us feel so welcomed. I've already planned another visit! I would stay here over anywhere else in Galway, and as an ex-galwegian that's saying something! It's definitely worth it for the big bit of luxury! Plus the relaxation room in the spa is heaven, I find myself drifting back in there in head! They made our visit special and a real treat.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tinkops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was so rewarding to read how much you enjoyed your time in the g. Rachel was especially delighted to be mentioned in your review. Our Luxury bedrooms are the ideal choice for a special occasion and we are so pleased you enjoyed the additional benefits and features they boast. We have shared your kind comments about our Spa, Restaurant, Bedrooms and of course our ladies and gentlemen working in the hotel with all.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful review. We hope to welcome you back to us again very soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic. It was a birthday gift to my boyfriend and it was our first time staying here. When you first arrive the first thing you notice is the fantastic decor. Everything from the amazing staff to the gorgeous food this hotel is a must stay. I could not fault it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becka253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read that you will not stay anywhere else in Galway other than the g after your recent visit. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel is very special to us and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed the decor of the hotel as well as our creative menu offerings. Our team were honoured to be mentioned in your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to us and please pass our best wishes on to your partner on this special occasion.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,891 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing