We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here mid week near the end of February and I have to stay it was an amazing experience. The staff in the hotel were very attentive and made us feel welcome instantly. Our room was on the second floor facing the front over looking the bay which was lovely. We stayed in the Junior Suite, the room was amazing, so spacious with lovely touches including cupcakes and lots of toiletries. There was also a gas fire in the room, the only thing about this is you have to ring reception to get someone to turn it on. This took over an hour for someone to arrive which was a bit annoying. This was my only let down during the whole stay. Bed was extremely comfortable, and the shower was to die for. Breakfast was also incredible, I had the pancakes which may have been the best I have ever tasted. There is also so much on offer in the buffet, and everything was so fresh, I just wish I could have ate more! I will most definitely be returning here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andraya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the g in February. It was fantastic to read that you had an amazing experience and that our team looked after you so well. Our Junior Suites make any stay at the g memorable and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed your time in one of them. Please accept our apologies for the delay in a member of the team arriving to the turn to switch on the gas fire place. We purposely send someone to the room to switch on the fire for the first time for our guests’ safety. We have shared your wonderful feedback regarding our bedrooms, breakfast offering and our ladies and gentlemen with all those working in the g.
Thank you once again for such a lovely review.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,524
    571
    332
    133
    74
See reviews for
270
1,556
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Exquisite hotel with amazing attention to detail that makes each stay a memorable one. Staff are so friendly and polite, they always go above and beyond to ensure a perfect stay. Most definitely one of my favourite hotels and I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaraaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. It was lovely to read your comments about our attention to detail and our team working in the hotel. We too are looking forward to your next visit. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in the run up to your next stay at the g.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I are currently in the hotel in room 119; what an unexpected great jewel of a hotel in Galway; a real 5 star masterpiece with gorgeous details in the room; we were kindly upgraded to a deluxe room; and we were blown away by the door handles and the furniture that has not dated despite it being here for 8 years already, the glass see-through tables and suede sofas, the super-large king-size beds and the cupcakes on entering the room. What matters most is the service especially; nothing is too much; they booked multiple restaurants for us tonight; but as it was a Saturday evening most are booked out but the team kindly printed me the menu of High Cafe which does takeaways too; the parking is free down in underground carpark; the spa area is superlative and feels exclusive. I used the gym and changing room; very nice to have the whole gym to myself for an hour!

Room Tip: First floor near the SPA
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback from your recent stay at the g on TripAdvisor. It was fantastic to read that you found the hotel to be a five star masterpiece and you enjoyed all the design elements that make our Philip Treacy designed hotel so unique. Our team were delighted to read that you enjoyed the level of service they provide. It was also lovely to read that you were able to enjoy the true g experience and made time to visit ESPA at the g our award winning Spa.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I had a one night stay in January. Due to the weather the underground car park was partially flooded, as a result the lifts and escalators were out of commission. When we got to the reception we found a warm environment with a friendly receptionist - she was quite loud and managed to let everybody know that we had a voucher to use. We eventually got to our room down black covered walls with a red carpet, modern but a bit useless when the lighting is also dim. Hard to make out door numbers. The room was great, very big and comfortable with a large size bed with lovely pillows that made sleep very easy. The bathroom was spacious and functional. Like a lot of hotels it was difficult to control the heating and the room varied between too warm and almost chilly. The food was exceptional and served in a bar that was busy enough to have a nice atmosphere. Tables and chairs were not the most comfortable. The staff were professional and attentive. Breakfast was fine, nothing exceptional that you would not find in a 4 star hotel. It would be hard to find too much wrong with the g Hotel it just felt a bit soulless and seemed to lack a bit of passion from the staff - professional, absolutely, just not engaged. I understand that hat designer Philip Tracy did the interior design, I would say stick to hat design and get a professional hotel interior designer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the g in January. Please accept our apologies that our basement was partially flooded on your arrival. The weather in Galway was severe at the beginning of this year, however we were lucky enough to be able to continue operating. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed our bedrooms and bathrooms. We do appreciate that your comments regarding our bedroom corridors are based on personal preference. Our team were delighted to be considered professional and attentive, but disappointed that you did not get a sense of our passion as this is something that is continually mentioned. We have shared your feedback regarding the in room temperature control and our breakfast offering with the relevant departments.
We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just visited for afternoon tea and it was a most enjoyable experience. We were greeted before we even got out of the car by a very friendly young porter who advised us on parking. The hotel is very different and very luxurious. There are three drawing rooms all decorated in different styles and are from the quiet and sedate to the extravagant and over the top. The service was excellent and the tea coffee and treats were wonderful. There were three of us and we had a most relaxing and enjoyable afternoon in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaL495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for joining us in the g for afternoon tea. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your experience and that you found the hotel to be luxurious and unique. Our Signature Lounges are all different and each one has its own personality.
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to us for afternoon tea soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I recently had an overnight stay here with family. Check in was fast and efficient. We had a beautiful room, large, spotless & with all the 5* extras you'd expect. The bathroom is fab, double shower, stunning freestanding bath etc. We had lunch & dinner in the hotel, both were great. My only gripe was our dinner included was in the bar which doesn't have a great atmosphere & it's quite uncomfortable eating from the low chairs & awkward table height. The duck confit was disappointing, dry with no sauce, very unexciting,but all other food was great. Breakfast was great but had expected all hot food to be ordered rather than buffet bacon, sausages etc left out for DIY. We used the thermal suite which is really nice, well worth the 10e. Looking forward to returning to the G, perfect for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcallagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us here in the g. It was lovely to read that check in was fast and efficient and that you enjoyed the bedroom you were allocated as well as the five star extras they boast. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed our menu offerings. We have shared your feedback regarding the seating in our Signature Lounges and the main course you ordered with our Food and Beverage team to look into further. With regards to breakfast, we offer both a buffet and table service option for our guests and we apologise if this was not explained clearly to you.
Lastly, we were so pleased to read that you found time to experience our Thermal Suite. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed a night here on business. Very swish and modern. Professional and friendly staff. I liked the bedroom, nice bed and furniture, though tv and dvd was a bit quaint, and no interactive.
But...
For 5 star, even a basic room, I'd like a separate shower, I'd like a better view than the back of Woodys. You are paying for 5 stars even in that room. The rooms can be a bit of a trek, though again the decor is very funky so it can be a nice walk. The breakfast was not 5 star. Yes the Irish breakfast was well cooked but the cereals had no muesli or bran. The range of meats and fruits was fine but not blow-away good.
It looks fantastic, and there are certainly fine elements. But you are well charged for what you get, and to aspire to 5 stars you really need to hit the bullseye and on balance the G misses

Room Tip: Pay more probably to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankles1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the g whilst on business in Galway. We were pleased to read that you found our team to be professional and friendly. Our entry level bedrooms, the Superior category, do not have views of Lough Atalia and bathrooms have a combined bath and shower. The next category the Deluxe rooms have a separate bath and walk-in shower and subsequent categories have a free standing bath and double walk-in showers. Supplements do apply for higher room categories. We were disappointed to read your feedback regarding breakfast. We do indeed provide muesli and bran at breakfast, please accept our apologies that it was not available when you arrived at Restaurant Gigi’s.
We do hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing