We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5***** hotel in my opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Surely this is a 4 star?

Yes the decor is funky- but there are stains on almost every seat and couch in the place..it's like as if the initial kit out cost a lot, but they havent spent a penny on the upkeep.. but more than that, the service is appalling. Slow and borderline surly.

We had breakfast from 1030-11.55, then at 12:00 (on the dot) went up to our rooms to get our bags to check out.
Key cards disabled- no major biggie, pretty standard lots of places, although proper 5 star hotels will wait until you've checked out and disable the key then.

So i go down to reception, literally 12:02 now at this stage.

Me: Hi, locked out of my room, key already disabled, if you could just let me back in to get my bags, thanks.
Reception (short girl with glasses): yes that's right, the key is already defunct, check out is 12:00.
Me: Yeah i know, but usually 10 mins grace is allowed.
G: Well, our computer system automatically disables the cards at 12:00
Me: fair enough but 10 mins grace mightn't be a bad idea, just to save everyone the hassle!
G: No but that's not the point, our computers automatically do it!!
Me: Well then perhaps they should be scheduled to do it at 12:10 instead!!
G: BUT YOU HAVE TO CHECK OUT AT MIDDAY!!!
Me: OMG have you never heard the saying 'the customer is always right?? Just let me back into the room so that i CAN get my bags to check out''

This is the kind of thing you'd expect at a Travelodge. Whatever about her logic about checkout being midday, the way she delivered it was nothing short of rude. It has left such an awful taste in my mouth. I separately emailed the hotel about it and their response was satisfactory (apparently they do have 'grace' of 30 mins but it was negated after the clocks went back, although if their logic rings true then the cards would be disabled at 11.30!)- but the damage has been done either way.

The location is awful, the rooms are average, the staff and service simply NOT 5 star standard. Stay in the Radisson instead, I love it there- right beside the train station, they have a fantastic resident piano man and the staff are always so friendly

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WonkaBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
We were all greatly upset to read the review that you posted twice on Tripadvisor. Our Front of House Manager, Niall was in contact with you in relation to your first review and as a team we had hoped that we had resolved your issues.
All of our team are highly trained and this situation is extremely frustrating for us all to read. We can assure you that no member of our team would speak to a guest in this manner. In relation to your comments about the upkeep of the hotel, we have a rolling maintenance program in place so it was very much untrue that we have not invested in the property since its opening eight years ago.
Lastly in relation to entertainment within the hotel, we have a Jazz session every Friday and Saturday night and a Jazz Brunch on the first Sunday of every month. We also have a Pianist in the Grand Salon every Saturday and Sunday afternoon.
We hope that we have addressed your concerns.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,357 - 1,363 of 2,739 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

The G Hotel in Galway was our second stop in Ireland. We arrived after a less than 3 hour drive from County Wicklow (just south of Dublin). The G is interestingly located in a mini-mall type complex, but once you are inside, you forget that aspect. The G is very modern, resembling the hotels you would expect to find in the South Beach or Brickell areas of Miami, Florida. Check in was a breeze although the setting sun showers the lobby with an almost blinding light. We were shown several open rooms just off the lobby to relax and have tea. Each of these rooms is brightly colored and appointed with furniture in what seemed like a scene out of Alice in Wonderland.
The hallways leading up to the rooms are very dark and the soft carpet made it a bit difficult to roll the luggage. In a stark contrast to the hallways, the rooms are very well lit with high ceilings opening the room further. Similar to the lobby area, the furniture is very modern and the bed sits lower than normal beds as a result.
Breakfast was included with the room for each day and consisted of both a continental spread as well as an a la carte menu. The food quality and wait staff were both above par.
Neil, front desk attendant, was very helpful and made great suggestions for dinner and our daily self-guided excursions. Not the type of hotel I expected in Ireland because of its modern décor, but very nice and would recommend it as long as you are ok with this style.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g during your recent visit to Ireland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the unique décor and ambiance of our Philip Treacy designed hotel. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed our menu offerings and that you found the quality of our food and service to be of a high standard. The entire team were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you found time to explore our local attractions. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Ireland.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Firstly we arrived to the hotel and we offered to pay full in cash and the receptionist charged us a certain price. Our package included an evening three course meal and entrance to the spa. I didn't like any of the starters and my partners ordered the crab meat which was not particularly nice. My main course was not appealing and I did not eat it and had no appetite for any dessert. For breakfast I ordered the small Irish breakfast (eggs well done) and clearly specified same. My eggs were runny and I was turned off my entire breakfast. On checking out, they added an extra 200 euro to our stay. They did not come to any agreement and we were made pay in full. They said they'd investigate further and come back to us and i am still waiting for the call. Will not recommend the G hotel. However, our room and the decor was impressive but overall stay will not entice me to return.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were all greatly upset to read the review you emailed to us here in the hotel and the review which you posted on Trip Advisor. We have responded by email but we would also like to address some of the feedback you have shared here.
Firstly, we ask all guests for a swipe of a credit card upon check in to take a pre-authorisation. As you did not want to do this we asked for a cash payment. Unfortunately our front desk agent miscalculated the total cost of your stay. However we had confirmed the room rate with you over the phone, on your registration card and at check in also. At check out you mentioned that you thought this miscalculation was a discount. Unfortunately this was certainly not the case. As explained we never added an additional €200, we just charged you the agreed rate that you had booked. As this was a special occasion for you we did upgrade you to a Luxury bedroom for two nights with our compliments.
It was also very upsetting for us to read your comments regarding our menu offerings which were not to your liking. We asked you at checkout if you enjoyed your stay and you brought none of the above to our attention. Had you made us aware of these concerns we may have been in a better position to have rectified them during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our second time staying here and it did not disappoint. The perfect place to stay for a luxurious romantic getaway.

It is abit pricer than other city centre hotels, but worth the extra expense! Lovely at this time of year with the huge christmas tree in the main lounge. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraJaneM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful feedback from your visit to the g on Trip Advisor. We were so pleased to read that this was your second visit to us and that you found the g to be an ideal base for a romantic breakaway. It was so lovely to read that you enjoyed our Christmas decorations throughout the hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just back from a lovely break in the beautiful Galway! Such a pity to what I expected a luxury weekend was disappointing-arrived to a hotel after 3 phone calls later to the hotel the girl on the desk was new & didn't know the directions! Check in was fast & friendly, decor fab! Room was basic I couldn't believe it not a separate bath, was so looking forward to one after all the fab pictures online...so many 3/4 star hotels always have a separate bath & shower!

Bathrobes/curtains had holes in them, staff member barging in on our first morning sleep in!!!

Dust everywhere.

Breakfast was amazing food was fantastic-

No pool :( just a spa!

Bar staff lovely- taxi to town between €10-12 one way!! eekks

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mags2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent visit at the g on Trip Advisor and for emailing us at the hotel also. Naturally we were all upset to read that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. In relation to your comments about directions we have recently had some new team members join the hotel. However you were then connected to our Concierge team who were able to direct you to the hotel. Our Superior or entry level bedrooms have a combined bath and shower. All of our other bedroom categories feature separate bath and showers, Luxury Rooms and Junior Suites have a separate free standing bath and double walk-in shower. We really do regret that none of the issues which you mention in your review were made known to us during your stay. We would have been able to have rectified any concerns that you had. Our Front of House Manager, Niall, has responded to your email and we hope that your issues have been resolved.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

One day only
and from reception to the bar staff to the spa and to the managers around I spoke to everyone and no one gave me attitude just a group of professionals doing a very welcome job to make u feel special ...
...fantastic,great , special , beautiful ....and so much more ...
Is the second time I stay there and once u walk in u just forget every single thing that's negative behind you ,,,,thank u g hotel for being u !!!!
Paulo Liverpool xx

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Paulo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the entire team to be professional and welcoming.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the g for your third visit again very soon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure your next stay is as flawless an experience.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at the G last week for a mini break, It was excellent. From the minute you go in the front entrance until you leave, it's just memorable and remarkable. The staff at reception were most courteous and helpful. The reception area and reception rooms are spacious and both food and drink are available at most times of the day or night. Our bedroom was luxurious ,clean, spacious and although we were facing the main road with stunning view over Galway Bay - there was silence. The G is just Great

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time at the g. It was lovely to read that you found your time with us to be both memorable and remarkable. Our bedrooms at the g make any stay special and it was lovely to read how much you enjoyed the features it boasted as well as the stunning view of Lough Atalia. We all appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,753 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,042 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $175 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing