We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantasy world of imagination and colour. Alice in wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A fantasy world of imagination and colour. Alice in wonderland”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I recently stayed in the hotel with my 13 year old daughter who is inspired by design and imagination. She loved everything about the hotel - from the design of the bedside lamps and doorknobs to the use of colour and lighting throughout. The G is more than a place to stay it is an injection of imagination and colour.

We loved being treated to the yummy muffins decorated with the letter "g" which were left in the room for us. We loved the comfort of the duvets and the mattress. We loved being fussed over at breakfast and to sleep in longer because breakfast finished at 11am due to it being mid term.

I didn't like being asked for a €50 refundable "deposit" because I preferred paying cash and happened to arrive without a car. The location beside a busy road is a bit disappointing though the hotel is easy to find from the train station - a 20/25 min walk.

A very memorable stay which I would recommend and hope to repeat myself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryTDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the g earlier this month. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel is so special to us all in Galway and we were delighted with how much you enjoyed the design and décor of the hotel. Our arrival cupcakes are one of the many little touches that make staying in the g so memorable and it really was lovely to read that you enjoyed them and the comfort of your bedroom.
At check in we ask all our guests for a credit card to guarantee their stay. If a guest wishes to settle by cash we take a deposit which is refunded at the end of your stay. This is the hotel policy.
Thank you for your feedback. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay as memorable an occasion.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    564
    325
    132
    74
See reviews for
266
1,531
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent another idyllic weekend in Galway staying at the G Hotel. This, I think, was our 3rd or 4th visit in as many years and, as always, delighted us with it's quirkiness and comfort. The location is not the best located adjacent to an indifferent mall it's but very easy to find on the road in from Dublin - just take the road towards the dock area and you'll see it on the right as you approach Lough Attalia. We had breakfast on both our mornings there and the quality and quantity was simply outstanding as was the service. Whilst it is a bit out of the city centre, a brisk 20 minute walk will get you to Eyre square and all the delights of lovely Galway city. And if you're feeling to lazy to walk back after dinner, a short taxi ride does the trick. I wouldn't dream of staying anyplace else in Galway. The G Hotel has become our Galway hideaway. We'll be back in 2014 for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back seem quieter although they overlook the mall car park so if it's a view you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for returning to us at the g for a weekend away. It was lovely to read that you have become a loyal guest of the hotel and that you will continue to visit us. Our Kitchen team were delighted to read that you were impressed with the quality of our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s.
We really do appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share a detailed description of your visit to the g on Trip Advisor for others to read.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the g in 2014.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clare
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed in the G with my partner for two nights over the bank holiday in a standard room. its a beautiful hotel the breakfast and dinner were fantastic on both days. the service is excellent from reception to waiting staff, and a special mention to Elaine o Sullivan the spa therapist who is so professional at her job and I really enjoyed my facial with her, Noel at the desk in the spa was also very professional and friendly. the spa is absolutely beautiful and was the highlight of my stay here. I have to say I did expect the room to be a bit more "spectacular" given everything we have heard about the hotel but iv stayed in many other hotels in Ireland just as nice. all in all a great stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareGonewiththewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the g over the bank holiday weekend. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner offerings in Restaurant Gigi’s and in our Signature Lounges. The entire team were delighted to be mentioned in your review, especially Elaine and Noel working in our Spa, ESPA at the g. We really do appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the g again very soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The downstairs bar rooms are very nice each decorated in a unique style. Hotel had a very boutique feel, corridors lit by floor lights and designer charisma the corners. Two delicious cupcakes with the hotel logo were waiting on arrival. Unfortunately I didn't have time to check out the plunge pool but had a very nice stay. Breakfast was of a good standard, the usual buffet faire.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Conor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed the unique décor of our Philip Treacy designed hotel, especially our individually themed Signature Lounges. Our arrival cupcakes receive constant praise and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed them! We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us again soon so you can experience our Thermal Suite first hand.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, NJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

You will see from the pics on the hotels website how much effort the company put in when building the hotel. All of the decor in the hotel is very unique and worth experiencing. Also, the spa has an option to visit the relaxation room, which consists of a hot tub with many jets, sauna and steam room for 10 Euros per hour. It was well worth it, a very cool experience. Free parking is available in the back, which is a plus. Internet was free and worked well, another plus. It's not an extremely short walk to town, but is a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMNEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a five star review of your recent visit to the g on TripAdvisor.We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us as well as the unique design of our Philip Treacy designed hotel. Our Thermal Suite in ESPA at the g is a must see for any visitor to the g and we were so pleased you found the time to visit it. All our overnight packages include complimentary overnight parking as well as complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed these benefits.
We really appreciate your wonderful review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISBURN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel.The staff service was excellent and the evening meal was outstanding.I will return again with my wife who will love it.The location is slightly out of the centre of Galway but is walkable or a short taxi ride.

Ken Hood

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience at the g on Trip Advisor. It was fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. Our team were delighted to be mentioned in your review. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I don’t do 5 star hotels all the time but I’m delighted I got to do it once... and maybe again after this? A most memorable experience, total top quality and the food was just so good. Totally recommended. There is no swimming pool... but what’s lacks a pool,the spa most defiantly makes up for

Room Tip: Any room but try get one facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyboytango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. We were all delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us in the g. We have shared your wonderful feedback about our food offerings and ESPA at the g with the entire team. We have a thermal suite in ESPA at the g and we were pleased to read that you enjoyed this facility.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,637 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,860 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
1,689 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing