We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated, stylish and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sophisticated, stylish and friendly”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Family and friends recommended I stay here on a recent road trip, to show some sites to my friends from California, and I couldn’t have thanked them more. The hotel was so welcoming and easy to deal with from when I first booked through their website. I received quick responses to any queries and requests I had. We booked the “The Way I Like It Package” which included breakfast and dinner. I made reservations for dinner by email which was easily done and very handy. The plan was to see some of Galway City after dinner but we were having such a great time catching up in the fantastic surroundings of the hotel and enjoying the amazing cocktail menu that we didn’t leave the hotel!
The rooms were clean, cosy and comfortable. Bottled water and cupcakes made an excellent greeting when we went to our rooms. My friends couldn’t stop taking pictures of the decor. It was interesting and different that it made you feel you were being pampered in a boutique rather than just sleeping in a hotel.
We could only stay one night but I can’t wait to go back. I’ll try to see Galway next time too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirshamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g during your recent visit to Ireland. We were delighted to read that you found our ladies and gentlemen working in the hotel to be welcoming and easy to deal with. It was fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your time in our Signature Lounges and of course our cocktail menu! Our arrival cupcakes receive constant praise and we were pleased you enjoyed your welcome amenity. We really do appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back to the g again very soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    585
    338
    138
    75
See reviews for
279
1,585
37
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in this hotel on a mini break. The hotel is outstanding. The furnishings are quirky and different, our room was great, very different, truly beautiful with a gigantic comfortable bed. Breakfast was incredible, plenty of variety and cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a five star review of your recent stay at the g on Trip Advisor. It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed the unique décor of the hotel, our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s as well as our large comfortable beds. We have already shared your kind words with the entire team. Thank you for such a lovely review. We genuinely appreciate your feedback.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The only thing disappointing about The G Hotel is that it's a good 20 minute walk from the center of the city and not a particularly beautiful walk. That said, we loved the hotel. The room was great and the breakfasts over the top!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank segoldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst visiting Galway. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was fantastic to read that you loved the hotel and our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s.
In relation to the location of the hotel, we are a fifteen to twenty minutes walk from the city centre. However you can walk along the beautiful Lough Atalia. By car the hotel is a five to ten minute drive to the city centre.
Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the g again soon.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in the G Hotel at the end of August this year and were really delighted with our time there. Having mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary when booking, we were upgraded to a suite on arrival. The suite was really beautiful, with a cosy living area and fireplace as well as an absolutely enormous bed. The bathroom had a free standing bath as well as a television to watch while bathing! We were really impressed with the breakfast as you could order from an a la carte menu at no extra cost rather than only having a buffet option. The eggs benedict were particularly tasty. We chose to have afternoon tea instead of lunch – it suited us that afternoon tea is served all day at the weekends as we often find having it at 3 or 4 o’clock means that you’re too stuffed for dinner. Again the quality of the food was very impressive and we enjoyed being able to pick one of the various lounges to sit in. Our dinner was also delicious – we shared the Chauteaubriand which was very succulent and came with a good selection of veg & sides. Our waiter was extremely accommodating – when my husband enquired about a dessert which he had seen on the lunch menu but which was not on the dinner menu, he immediately spoke to the chef and served it up a few minutes later. On the Sunday we had breakfast ordered to the room, and had a nice cosy morning with the fire blazing and the Sunday papers. I have recommended this hotel to a number of my family and friends and would do so without any hesitation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a five star review of your recent stay at the g on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time in one of our suites. Our super king size beds, amazing views of Lough Atalia and a gas fireplace are just some of the features our suites boast. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner offering in Restaurant Gigi’s. It was also lovely to read how much you enjoyed Afternoon Tea in our Signature Lounges. Your wonderful comments are greatly appreciated by each and everyone of us in the g.
We hope to welcome you back again soon so you can experience our bedrooms, breakfast and Restaurant Gigi’s once more.
Thank you for once again.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in May. We were up graded on arrival which was welcomed. Our room was spectacular. The decor, the lighting and the very spacious bathroom and shower. Unfortunately our room was situated just 2 floors up over a busy delivery Area for the hotel and a busy car park. A lot of noise first thing in the morning. The hotels decor is amazing. Purple, golds deep pinks, the lighting and the Venetian mirrors are unique. It was a good 10 walk into the city but I enjoy walking in fact we went the coastal way round which is longer but much more scenic. All in all I would return to The G if visiting Galway. Just for the pure rest & relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narsil2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in the g whilst visiting Galway. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort and features of your bedroom. All of our bedrooms are highly sound proofed so it is unusual for us to get feedback regarding noise, but thank you for bringing this to our attention. It really was fantastic to read how much you enjoyed the décor and ambiance of our Philip Treacy designed hotel. Please let us know when you are planning on returning to the g so we can personally organize your booking for you.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here on Sunday 6th October. We were very disappointed with the breakfast. I had contacted the hotel prior to booking to see if they could offer a gluten free breakfast for my husband. They assured me it wouldn't be a problem. My husband ordered bacon and scrambled egg. The waitress arrived out with a plate with 2 rashers and a dessert spoonful of scrambled egg. A child would eat more. Not what we expected from a 5 star hotel. The chef needs to visit the Menlo for some tips

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deise034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing some feedback regarding your recent visit to the g. Naturally we were upset to read that you were not satisfied with your experience at breakfast. We offer a full gluten free breakfast menu and selection here at the g so it is surprising for us to get feedback like this. Our Head Chef, Pauline Reilly takes enormous pride in her attention to detail and we take additional pre caution at the booking stage by asking our guests if they have any special dietary requirements that we need to be aware of. With all these pre-cautions and a special dietary menu in place it is quite strange for us to read this feedback. We hope that we have addressed your concerns.
Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have stayed in the G hotel 3 times, overall thoughts:
It's a really lovely hotel, the hotel decor is really lovely and you can sit and relax for ages in the various lounges. Food for lunch there is lovely and reasonable. Breakfast is lovey. We didnt eat dinner. Its within walking distance of Galway town and there is a lovely pub across the road which does pub grub in the evenings which is very nice. Rates can be good if you get a special deal.

Visit by visit....
1. In 2009/2010 with my husband and first baby. We got a complimentary upgrade and our room was amazing. We didnt want to leave! I could find no faults... oh just one minor one, cupcakes on day one were amazing so i was looking forward to them on day 2 but they only came on day one!!!!

2. In 2012 with my best friend, and I was pregnant! Room was lovely, we stayed 2 nights. Spa was amazing, we both took a trip there. Its very expensive for treatments though, more than other hotels i have been to. The only fault this time was the pastries ran out very early on at breakfast. We complained about this but were told nothing could be done, they were just gone. We were quick to get them and put on the table for later the next morning!

3. In Aug 2013 with a good friend who was visiting from Australia and my 3rd baby. This time i had issues, mainly with the front desk staff who i found to be uninterested and off-hand. I also felt a second class citizen as i had a buggy which was not easy to get in and out of the hotel. I did raise these issues following my stay however and was assured action would be taken so I can only hope so as it would be a real pity to see the hotel go downhill, i dont want to stay anywhere else in galway!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NikiDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to the g. It is always rewarding for us to have our guests revisit us here in the g. Naturally we were upset to read that you were disappointed with you previous stay. However in relation to your comments about our about our Front of House team, we can assure you that this was not the case. Our Front of House Manager spoke with you on departure and we are pleased that you were able to work through the issues you mentioned and were able to find a solution. We are a family friendly hotel and have a elevator at the front of the hotel specifically for families with buggies or guests who require wheel chair access. Please contact Niall directly when you are planning your next visit so he can personally organize the reservation for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,922 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing