We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first time experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Mullingar
1 review
“A first time experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked the G as a surprise for my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary, the first time in fourteen years ! The staff from the time of our arrival to the minute of our departure were truly magnificent. I travel a lot and the staff elsewhere could learn from the G staff. Excellent location and the upgrade and the complimentary extras were well appreciated. And as for the wife. . . . she was delighted and has been raving about the hotel since to her friends and is booking for a girlies weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryaner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special anniversary with us here in the g. It was so rewarding for us all to read how well our team looked after you from arrival right through to departure time. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that your wife has already booked a return stay.
Thank you for your kind words, we genuinely appreciate your time and custom. Congratulations on your anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kindest Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    579
    336
    135
    75
See reviews for
274
1,574
35
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here with my wife just after we returned from honeymoon , I can honestly say that my two nights stay here felt more like my honeymoon than my two weeks abroad, the attention to detail was beyond anything I have ever experienced. The food , the staff and the room everything was just out of this world , I can't recommend this hotel enough , the pink lounge with pink carpet and purple walls in the hall wall it's just opulence at its finest. The staff were so attentive and friendly they really enhanced our stay , I'm already looking forward to my next stay.

Stacey (Dublin)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staceyifa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. It was fantastic to read that you found your experience to be amazing and that it was a continuation of your honeymoon. We have shared your wonderful comments about our food, team working in the hotel and the opulent design of the hotel with the entire team here in the g.
We too are looking forward to your next visit and please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure it is as memorable. Congratulations to you both on your recent wedding.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After 3 weeks touring Ireland, we wanted a nice hotel for our last night before flying out of Shannon Airport the next day. We selected The G based on the overwhelmingly excellent and very good TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. FAST free internet. Excellent heat/AC system. Lovely comfortable king bed. Great restaurant / bar. Friendly efficient service. Gorgeous bathrooms. 10E valet parking was worth it! Brilliant decor and design of lobby, restaurants, hallways and rooms. Breakfast was included and was the best we had in 3 weeks of hotels and B&Bs. Truly delightful in every respect. Stress-free 60 minute drive to Shannon Airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to spend your last night in Ireland with us at the g. We were delighted to read you based your decision to stay at the g on our excellent Trip Advisor reviews. It was so rewarding to read that you enjoyed the facilities and amenities our stunning bedrooms boast. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel is so special to us all and it was really fantastic to read how much you enjoyed the unique décor and ambiance of the hotel.
We hope that you had a safe trip home and please let us know if you are visiting Galway again.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you had told me this was a 4* hotel I would have said yes it's a nice hotel but for 5* I was expecting luxury. Myself and my husband were on a 2 day break in Galway and decided to try the G as we had heard so many reviews. Normally we stay in the city itself. We had a superior king room. The cupcakes were a nice treat. Breakfast was delicious and everything was cooked to order. The service in the hotel through out was excellent. Our room looked out on the Renault garage and décor was ok. The corridors looked liked they needed to be hovered. When we entered the room there was a musty damp smell in the room, we stayed there that night and then asked to be moved. There was no issues changing room. When we got to our new room the TV was broke again we had to ask that some-one take a look at it. I was expecting this from a 5* establishment. . The hotel does not have a pool which I was disappointed with, being pregnant I could not use the thermal suite. Overall I wont be going back as the location is not fantastic (15-20min walk from city centre) and unless you are willing to upgrade to the next level room you could be anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view when booking. Get a deluxe room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SL1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent visit to the g. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our arrival cupcakes and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s. It was also rewarding to read that you found the level of service in the hotel to be excellent.
Naturally we were disappointed to read that you were not entirely impressed with the bedroom you had been allocated and please accept our apologies for the maintenance issues that arose. Whilst we take every precaution to ensure that our bedrooms are perfect sometimes issues do arise.
We hope that you will consider staying with us the next time you are visiting Galway.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing hotel. We can't say enough about it. The bed was the most comfortable we had on our trip, the bathroom was wonderful - full size shower! The concierge was great - he gave us a delicious dinner suggestion, then drove us there! the breakfast did not disappoint - I had the best eggs Benedict I've ever had. If you're looking to truly relax after a long day - this is the place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luckey107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for posting such a fantastic review of your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you found the hotel to be amazing. It was also fantastic to read that you found our beds to be exceptionally comfortable and that you enjoyed the amenities that our bathroom’s boast. We have shared your kind words with our Concierge team who were delighted to be mentioned in your review.
We genuinely appreciate your fantastic review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

There are lots of nice hotels in Galway & some with great value deals but they won't compare to a stay at the G hotel. Luxury is a promise!!! The decor is amazing, the staff are friendly and can't do enough for you.

At night a projector screens old black & white movies on the wall in the white room, add in a cocktail and you have yourself a very relaxing end to the day.

The rooms are fab, unlike most hotels the place actually looks exactly like the photos on the web site.

The breakfast was the best I've ever had in a hotel, not only do you have all the usual cereal, fruit etc the hot menu has several great choices an the fact that its table service really adds to the holiday feel. The breakfast room over looks Galway bay and the views really are incredible.

I've been to a lot of hotels that promise comfort an luxury, the G really does deliver.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macg1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing some feedback about your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. It really was fantastic to read that you found the g to be luxurious and that our ladies and gentlemen working here in the g looked after you so well.
We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in our Signature Lounges as well as the bedroom that you were allocated. We have shared your wonderful feedback about our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s with our Food and Beverage team.
Thank you for your kind words. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the g again very soon.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

my partner always wanted to go to this fab hotel so we decided to go for his 30th birthday. the hotel was amazing. we used the pool it was like another world. The food was amazing. the rooms to be honest i could only give top makes to the hotel and the staff. we will be back.

Room Tip: we just booked a standard room and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racho8230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to spend your special occasion with us here in the g. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you found time to visit our Thermal Suite in ESPA at the g. Our food offerings in Restaurant Gigi’s and in our Signature Lounges make a trip to the g very special and we were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us.
Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure that your next stay is as flawless an experience.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,887 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing