We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab hotel to stay in pure relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fab hotel to stay in pure relaxation”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

my partner always wanted to go to this fab hotel so we decided to go for his 30th birthday. the hotel was amazing. we used the pool it was like another world. The food was amazing. the rooms to be honest i could only give top makes to the hotel and the staff. we will be back.

Room Tip: we just booked a standard room and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racho8230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to spend your special occasion with us here in the g. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you found time to visit our Thermal Suite in ESPA at the g. Our food offerings in Restaurant Gigi’s and in our Signature Lounges make a trip to the g very special and we were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us.
Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure that your next stay is as flawless an experience.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,524
    571
    332
    133
    74
See reviews for
270
1,556
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent hotel. Stayed here for our wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff are fantastic from front of house, Bar and waiting staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was fab, bed was huge and so comfortable . Best night sleep in ages. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you chose to spend your wedding anniversary with us here in the g. Our ladies and gentlemen working here in the hotel were so pleased to have been mentioned in your review. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to us again soon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure that your next stay is as memorable an occasion.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had the good fortune of visiting Galway in August (21st-23rd), a great city, and the even better fortune of staying at the G !!
I have stayed here before and again this first class hotel exceeded my expectations !

I was assigned a luxury room and what a fantastic space; bright, spotless, comfortable and a huge bathroom with double walk-in shower and freestanding bath. If you want to spoil yourself push the boat out and upgrade to a luxury room !!
Breakfast at the G is five star, I loved it ! If I were to compile a list of the top hotel breakfasts in Ireland the G would be in my top 5 !!
We also ate in the lounge on the first evening, there are a number of menus and deals available and again the food is of an excellent standard.

The staff are super-friendly and so professional. This is most evident at check-in and with the servers in the restaurant both at dinner and breakfast, and the lounges.
I most certaintly will plan another stay at the G asap, in the meantime if you choose to stay here lucky you, your in for a treat !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilmainham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for visiting us in the g recently. It was fantastic to read that we managed to exceed your expectations! Our Luxury bedrooms are amazing and we were so pleased that you enjoyed the amenities they provide.
We have shared your wonderful feedback about our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s with the entire team. Everyone was delighted to read your review. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon. Please let us know if we can do anything to ensure that your third stay is as memorable an occasion.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I had heard a lot of people tell me I would enjoy the G hotel. It was on my list if places to stay for quite a while so eventually I got the opportunity to stay with my maid of honour before my upcoming wedding at the time.
From the moment we arrived and parked at the back of the hotel we gad to manoeuvre our baggage though a door that I thought surely was a staff entrance to a corridor or something similar as there was nothing to indicate that this was the main entrance from the parking facility. It felt like acstrange way to arrive at reception almost backwards.
Our room was ok, nice even but nothing as stylish or exciting as I had imagined, bar the Philip Tracy touches here and there.
The lobby made up for this as the separate lobby areas were worth the visit. That said, you could come in for lunch or a drink and experience that so I could have seen the best if the hotel withought the stay.
We ate in the restaurant that evening. The restaurant was almost empty but that was due perhaps to the unseasonal time of year. I had a main course that I really disliked, and I am not a fussy eater so that was disappointing.
After dinner we had 2 cocktails each ... Again the fantastic decor in the lounge area was really fantastic and made the experience very good which was a good thing too because dinner was massively underwhelming. We had to wait 20 minutes to order our drinks as there was nobody behind the bar. Ok it wasn't busy but surely some member of staff should have been there. He left again after we had ordered our first. We had to wait another 15 minutes at the bar to try and order a second drink. This was really irritating and I was surprised when ge eventually returned that he didn't even apologise to us that we had even waiting.He was rude and really didn't want to be at work which was obvious.he asked me if I had any smaller notes and when I didn't ... He couldn't hide his annoyance.We felt very uncomfortable and just called it a night.
Breakfast was more organised, and was fine but I ciuldnt help but think that this is not a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorriMcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. Naturally we were disappointed to read that your were not entirely impressed with the arrival area of the hotel and the bedroom you had been allocated. We do appreciate that this is based on personal preference. However, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the decor and ambiance of our Signature Lounges. We were also disappointed to learn that your main course was not cooked to your liking, had you mentioned this to a member of the restaurant team we are certain that an alternative option would have been found.
We will also be following up your feedback in relation to your experience at our cocktail bar. We have never received feedback like this so we will be following up to identify exactly what happened. It is such a shame that you did not inform one of our Duty Managers of your concerns as we are certain that a resolution could have been found whilst you were staying with us. Please let us know if you are ever visiting the g again so we can ensure that you have a far superior experience.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Was looking so forward to staying here and felt the whole experience was overrated and to be honest felt a little disappointed. The beds were the comfiest beds I've ever slept in but the corridors and the reception are very dark. Breakfast was okay not a great buffet selection and nothing was topped up straight away. Pancakes were delicious but have to say the staff were a bit clueless. They forgot about our breakfast order and then got it wrong on the first morning. It was okay the following two days. There was also no pool. Also in the bedshade in the bedroom there was a load of dead flies in it which was manky. The g is nice but highly overpriced for what you receive

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redtripblog76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. Naturally we were upset to read that were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. However we were pleased that you gave the g a 4 out of 5 star review. It was fantastic to read that our beds were the most comfortable you have ever experienced and that you enjoyed the freshly prepared pancakes in Restaurant Gigi’s. Please accept our apologies for the mishap that occurred at breakfast, although we can assure you that our entire team are all highly trained. Whilst we do not have a swimming pool here at the g we do have a thermal suite in ESPA at the g. Many of our overnight packages include use of this facility.
If you wish to discuss your review in more detail please contact our Front of House Manager, Niall Kelly, on nkelly@theg.ie. We hope that you will consider staying at the g the next time you are visiting Galway.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on 2nd September. Noel at concierge is amazing and really helped us throughout our stayed. Cannot fault this hotel. Rooms are spacious, food is great and the spa is so relaxing. Above all the staff are this hotels greatest asset. Will definitely return.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shauna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a 5 star review of your recent stay at the g on Trip Advisor. Noel was especially trilled to be mentioned in your amazing review. It was lovely to read how impressed you were with our bedrooms, food offerings in Restaurant Gigi’s and in our Signature Lounges as well as ESPA at the g.
We all greatly appreciate your kind words and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon.

Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is one of the most luxurious hotels that Galway has to offer. When we arrived, we were upgraded to a deluxe king room. The room itself was classy and elegant and the bathroom was amazing. It had a separate bath and a walk in shower! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants a break away.. it's the perfect getaway for anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM932013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the g on Trip Advisor for others to read. It was lovely to read your comments about our bedrooms being classy and elegant. Thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends and family. Please let us know if you are planning on returning to the g so we can ensure your next stay is as memorable an occasion.
Thank you once again.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,826 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing