We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Mayo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is one of the most luxurious hotels that Galway has to offer. When we arrived, we were upgraded to a deluxe king room. The room itself was classy and elegant and the bathroom was amazing. It had a separate bath and a walk in shower! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants a break away.. it's the perfect getaway for anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM932013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the g on Trip Advisor for others to read. It was lovely to read your comments about our bedrooms being classy and elegant. Thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends and family. Please let us know if you are planning on returning to the g so we can ensure your next stay is as memorable an occasion.
Thank you once again.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    564
    326
    132
    74
See reviews for
266
1,532
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The "g hotel" was a pleasant surprise and it was hard to tear ourselves away from the comfort of our room to go sightseeing. The hotel is very modern with an amazing decor, the dark hallways to your room add an air of mystique. The bed, pillows and linen were super, excellent WiFi and two beautiful cupcakes to welcome you on arrival and a daily supply of bottled water. Shopping centre and cinema right next door. The restaurant at the hotel served us a delicious meal and breakfast was also just as a delicious with a menu style hot breakfast offered. The hotel offers relaxing rooms to sit and while away the hours with drinks and food in offer. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. Our stay was a pleasant experience in Ireland

Room Tip: Choose a room close to a lift or you may be walking a distance to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for posting a 5 star review of your recent stay at the g on Trip Advisor. It was lovely to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and the comfort of your bedroom. It was fantastic to read your lovely comments about our beds, linens, as well as our welcome g cupcakes!
It was also fantastic to read that you found time to visit our Signature Lounges and Restaurant Gigi’s. We all greatly appreciate your feedback and we all hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the g the next time you are visiting Ireland.
Thank you once again.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my wife's 40th and they had wee treats & card in room for us very thoughtful. This place is luxury, we didn't bring the kids and we r glad!!!! Spotlessly clean, well kept, modern place with imaginative food offerings. Will be back, maybe on my bday in feb! Thanks again

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to spend your special occasion with us here in the g. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. It was so rewarding for us all to read your comments about the hotel been spotlessly clean, well kept and modern. Our Food and Beverage Team were delighted to read of the imaginative food offerings you experienced whilst staying with us.
Lastly we are all looking forward to welcoming you both back in February.
Best wishes to you and your wife from the entire team here at the g.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Yet again enjoyed a lovely short break in Galway's most glamorous and luxurious hotel. I managed a quick trip to the spa and would seriously recommend this for some instant de-stressing. The rooms are always very spacious and clean but was slightly disappointed we ended up in a room that had a lingering damp smell. On a positive note the breakfast was spectacular. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a 5 star review of your recent stay at the g on Trip Advisor. It was fantastic to read that you found time to visit ESPA at the g, our award winning spa. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issue that you encountered with your bedroom. This is certainly very peculiar feedback and we hope that you contacted our Front of House Team who would have made arrangements for an alternative bedroom.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in making your next booking.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a pleasant two night stay in September. Room was bright and Spotless . Shower excellent. Cupcakes in room upon arrival was a lovely touch. The 3 Lounges on Ground Floor were unique and pleasant on the eye.. Restaurant food was nice , however it was standard fare Seabass, Steak, Chicken etc. Hot Breakfast menu was better, with quality presentation (Pancakes, eggs Benedict, amongst menu.We got a Special Offer Package of E110 per night. Staff were very helpful and it was a pleasant 15minute walk to Eyre Square. Definitely a Lovely venue , but missing those 5 star elements especially on the Dinner Menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish-ed44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the g earlier on this month. It was lovely to read that you found your bedroom to be bright and spotlessly clean. Our showers, arrival cupcakes and Signature Lounges receive constant praise and we were so glad that you enjoyed them.
It was disappointing to read that you were not entirely impressed with your experience in Restaurant Gigis, we will be sharing your feedback with our Food & Beverage Manager, Sharon Waldron, for her to look into further. Thank you once again for your review. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

i recently stayed in the G hotel for my 25th wedding ann,what a fantastic hotel to stay in.beautiful rooms comfy beds that i was actually able to sleep in.the decor of the hotel was amazing,so relaxing.brilliant staff,nothing was to much trouble.as for the food excellent.so if your in galway its the place to stay.rosanna dublin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosanna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary with us here in the g. We were delighted to read your 5 star review of the g and to read how much you enjoyed our beds, food offerings, fantastic team and of course the décor of our Philip Treacy designed hotel.
We hope to get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the g again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night for a treat from my boyfriend. For what he paid for the deluxe room I really don't think it was worth it. The room was fine but there was hardly any toiletries and for a deluxe room where two people were staying was surprising. We went for dinner to the restaurant where the food can not be faulted but the service was terrible. They forgot about our main course so there was a long delay from the starter to the main course and then took us ages to get someone to get our bill. Overall a disappointing service and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the g. Naturally we were upset to learn you were not entirely impressed with the bedroom you had been allocated. We do provide ample toiletries and will deliver any additional amenities required on request. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered in Restaurant Gigi’s. We will be looking into your feedback. Please let us know if you are returning to the g so we can ensure that a far superior experience awaits. Thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing