We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Located alongside a retail park it doesnt look like an upmarket hotel as you drive towards it. Free parking is available in the basement car park and the lift is controlled by the room key to prevent non guests from wandering in off the street.

Checkin was quick and efficient. The decor was a little colourful for our tastes. The lighting in the bedroom cooridoors is projected from the base of the walls and was a little gloomy. Get rid of the emergency exit signs and and a few cobwebs and you're set for halloween.

The room was spacious and clean. Water had been placed in the mini fridge to chill and a pair of cupcakes were waiting on the table in the room. A turn down service offered additional bottles of water each evening. The wifi was fast and the connection strong on several devices from the room. The bed was large but slightly softer than I am used to.

We ate one evening meal in the restaurant. We found the staff friendly and professional but the service was on the slow slide - there were a lot of guests in the restaurant that evening. After a mediocre starter the mains were excellent as were the desserts.

Breakfast in the morning was a continental buffet with several cooked to order options. I found the full irish breakfasts to be good but my wife, a vegetarian, was less impressed. A flat and uninspiring veggie omlette was found to have some ham in it and the pancakes on the second day were very sweet to her tastes.

Location wise, it is about a 2km walk into the city centre from the hotel which we made and didnt find a problem distance wise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medic143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the g on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read that you found the hotel to be secure and our check-in to be efficient. Our Philip Treacy hotel is very special to us all here and we were pleased you enjoyed the décor of the hotel.
We were also pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort and amenities of your bedroom. It was also lovely to read that you found the team to be professional. We will be sharing your feedback regarding your dining experience with our Food and Beverage Manager, Sharon Waldron, for her to look into further.
We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Galway. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure that your next stay is a superior experience.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    564
    326
    132
    74
See reviews for
266
1,532
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Amazing stay at this lovely hotel for our mini-honeymoon! Service, food, rooms, everything was perfect. It's a little bit out from the main city centre, but not far if you don't mind the walk in, and a taxi back is only about €8 depending on where you are coming from! The cocktails in the bar are a bit pricey, but you're paying for the decor surrounding you and the atmosphere! Lovely stay here and would love to go back (when I can afford it!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanMcArCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your mini-honeymoon with us here in the g! It was fantastic to read that you found our service, food offerings and bedrooms to be perfect.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you both back to the g again soon. Congratulations to you both and best wishes from the entire team here at the g.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Sceptre 5 star package. It wasn't 5 star on our scale. We had a party of 5 and had 3 rooms. The lobby areas were interesting in a 2005 kind of way, and the staff was wonderful. They offered great recommendations for restaurants and day trips. There is a fine aquarium in the lobby that can soothe the soul. Hallways are very dim, as part of the ambiance. Unfortunately it felt as if the hotel uses dim lighting in halls and rooms to cover worn furnishings and a light rug filled with the experiences of prior guests. We are usually pretty flexible on this stuff, but rugs and chairs were seriously stained.

If you get a bargain rate it would be OK, but I would not recommend it at premium prices. It is a 15 min walk to downtown, and we weren't sure about the neighborhood; taxies will run 12-15 Euros a ride. Free parking. Hotel overlooks a shopping mall and community college, seems to be near industrial parks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytraveler2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the g during your recent visit to Ireland. Naturally we were disappointed to read that you were not entirely impressed with the décor of the hotel. However we appreciate that your review is based on personal preference. It was lovely to read how impressed you were with our team working in the hotel. In relation to your comments regarding the maintenance of the hotel, we do have a rolling maintenance programme here in the hotel and the lounge areas of the hotel will be refurbished in the coming months. We do hope that you will consider staying in the g the next time you are visiting Ireland.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the G in Galway for business and everything about it was great. The room was very large, with everything one could need. The breakfast was excellent, definitely get the Eggs Benedict, one of my favorites. The staff at the desk, the restaurant, and the bar were all extremely friendly and helpful. And it's close enough to walk into town when you want, but far enough that you're not staying in the city. Definitely would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbellomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read that you found everything to be perfect during your recent stay at the g. Our large and spacious bedrooms combined with our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s make an overnight stay at the g extra special. We have shared your wonderful comments with the entire team here in the hotel. We were all so pleased to read your wonderful review and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is an amazing hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The bedrooms are very luxurious and comfortable. The staff could not have been more friendly, efficient and helpful. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel and one meal was nicer than the next! The lounge area is fabulous and the interiour is amazing. We visited the thermae suite which was absolutely lovely and very relaxing. The location of the hotel is good in terms of proximity to Galway city, it's about a 20 minute walk in. However, there was no nice view from the hotel which is a pity, our room was overlooking the carpark. This is a fabulous hotel that I would definately recommend! We had a wonderful time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh_012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were all delighted to read the wonderful review you posted on Trip Advisor. It was fantastic to read that you found our bedrooms to be luxurious and comfortable. The entire team were thrilled to be considered friendly, efficient and helpful. It was also lovely to read that you enjoyed our menu offerings in Restaurant Gigi’s and in our Signature Lounges.
Lastly, we were so pleased you found time to visit ESPA at the g. We really do appreciate your lovely feedback and we hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the g again soon.
Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I love the G hotel and have stayed here many times. The interior in the hotel is beautiful, worth going to see. Service in the hotel is excellent as is the food. It is very luxurious, the breakfast is amazing. Only fault I have with it is the location there is no great view from the hotel and it is a taxi drive from town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyM8420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for your loyal and continued custom to the g. We were all delighted to read how much you enjoyed the unique décor of the hotel as well as the level of service our ladies and gentlemen working here in the hotel provide. In relation to the location of the hotel, we are a five to ten minute journey to the city centre by car or else a fifteen to twenty minute walk.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent a night at the G Hotel on a girly spa break, we were so impressed with the hotel and the staff. Upon arrival they upgraded us to a fabulous suite and a short while later they sent up champagne and fresh fruit to apologise for a delay at check in.
Our suite had a huge bed, view of the lough and a wide screen tv with a comfy sofa. The bathroom was like great too, there was a stand alone bath and separate wet room.

We headed straight to the Spa, very happy with our treatments (Facial and massage) and our time in the thermal suite, very relaxing hot stone beds and pool.

That night we had a delicious meal and cocktails in the lobby people watching!
We arranged to have our breakfast served in our room which was lovely eating on our sofa, We were very impressed with Fiona at reception and Mairead and Triona many thanks for the special treat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Ave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Let us begin by thanking you for posting such a fantastic review of your recent visit to the g on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read how impressed you were with the hotel and the facilities we provide. We were also pleased to read how much you enjoyed one of our superb suites. It was lovely to read that you found time to visit ESPA at the g!
Your review really is amazing and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the g again soon. Thank you once again for such a fantastic review.
Kind Regards,
The g Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing