We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed one night and found the hotel to be very good. Staff very helpful and we managed to get an early check in and late check out. Lovely bright rooms with good facilities. It had a good buzz to it while never seeming to busy. Would return in a flash!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

It really was fantastic to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the g. I was so pleased that you were impressed with our team here in the hotel and that we were able to cater for your early check in needs.

I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed the décor and ambiance of the hotel. Your kind comments are appreciated by us all here in the g and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,595 - 1,601 of 2,739 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Fab Fab Fab hotel. There is nothing else like it. We spoke with Barbara who was extremely helpful and friendly but everyone was great. Decor was stunning. The spa was an experience not to be missed. Rooms large and bed extremely comfortable. The food was incredible and set in a room that would outshine The Ritz in London! Well done to everyone involved and thanks for a great stay. The downside was it was only one night.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneswinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for posting such an amazing review on Trip Advisor of your recent stay at the g. I was delighted to read that you felt that there is no other hotel like the g! I will be certain to share your kind comments about our hotel, the décor, your bedroom and our food with all the team. I will also be sure to pass your wonderful comments to Barbara in our Front of House Department.

Your comments are greatly appreciated by us all at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon for longer!

Thank you once again,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent easter in galway and we found the G Hotel through a friend who knew of it but had,nt actually stayed there himself .Not in the greatest of locations but wow when you go inside something totally different and quirky and somewhere special .Check in was excellent no issues or problems and concerge couldnt have done enough for us .Had dinner on night two and what a suprise the waiter Padraig was again excellent and did he know his menu of the ingredients etc couldnt have been more helpful Dava the wine waiter also new his wines the grapes etc .Breakfast was also very good where you could choose from the buffet both hot or cold and also order from the table .Great to see a hotel of this calibre offering a great dselection of freshly cooked breakfast as so many of are 5 star hotels just doing buffet only i guess this is what makes it unique .Cant wait to revist Bk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjkreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g during the Easter break. I was delighted to read that it was a friend of yours who recommended the hotel. It was also fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your time with us, I will be certain to share your kind comments with Padraig and Dava in Restaurant Gigi’s.

We take enormous pride in the level of service we provide here in the g and your kind comments about our team, Restaurant Gigi’s and the hotel really are appreciated. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Best Wishes,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

From the lifts in the Garage to the cutlery this place oozes sophistication. I LOVED every minute of my stay here; we both did.
My husband and I stayed her in late March 2013. We had been meaning to try it out for a while and it was worth the wait.
First impression are nothing overwhelming, it has to be said, as the hotel is so close to the main road that it is hard to get a proper look at the facade.

When we parked the car underground and went toward the lift to the hotel we expected the same old, same old, but we were wrong. The entrance to the lift has trees on either side, the doors are mirrored and gilded and there is an overall air of opulence.
On exiting the life, the main lobby lounge takes your breath away. It is simply stunning.
The staff on reception were lovely and friendly as was the concierge.

The rooms were beautiful, although I would say, a little underwhelming when you consider the rest of the hotel. The one we got was at the side of the hotel and there was no great, or even pleasant view to be had. They do however continue to provide toiletries which alot of hotels have now stopped doing, and the beds are sooo... comfy and spacious.

The decor throughout the hotel is splendid, with lots of little knick-knacks, and is definitely a fashion lovers heaven - in short it has Philip Tracy written all over it!!

The food is fabulous, speedily served and fabulously presented! We had our evening meals in the main restaurant and also had breakfast. Both had a great choice available, the breakfast was especially nice. I am Lactose intolerant and this was very well catered for.

Again the staff in the restaurant were very friendly and courteous.

The cocktails are a bit pricey, but they are VERY strong , so they last a lot longer that the norm.

Overall, i will be going back to this hotel, it was fabulous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pal18_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay at the g on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed the décor of our Philip Treacy designed hotel. I will be certain to share your kind words about our food quality and presentation with our food and beverage teams. I was pleased to read how well the team catered for your needs as well.

Lastly, many of our deluxe bedrooms benefit from views of Lough Atalia, whilst all of our Junior Suites boast these views as well. We really do appreciate your feedback and please contact us here at the hotel so we ensure that your next stay is as memorable.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

From the moment you step into the lobby you know you're somewhere special.
Philip Tracy has created a vision that must be experienced. The reception rooms are quite spectacular , each one being very unique, while the guest rooms are an oasis of calm .
The bathrooms are fitted out to the highest standard with the most wonderful shower space.
The most impressive attribute of the g is its staff, they are engaging, friendly and provide a wonderful welcome to their guests.
A unique, fun, wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaK487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the g on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time with us in the g and how much you enjoyed our Philip Treacy designed hotel. I have already shared your wonderful comments about our Signature Lounges, our calming bedrooms and amazing bathrooms with the entire team here at the g. However it was your lovely words about the team here at the g I enjoyed most!

I really am grateful to you for taking time out of your day to share such lovely words on Trip Advisor. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure that your next stay is as memorable.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If there's one hotel you need to go to spend a weekend lavishing in its opulent surroundings … it's the g hotel in Galway . Philip Tracey 's expert vision has created a hotel that is most pleasing to the eye…splashes of vibrant colour; luxurious textures ; iconic models of his cute dogs; a fish tank that absorbs the viewer and transports them into a world of tranquility . The thermal suite in the luxurious ESPA is an invigorating experience after a healthy jaunt into and around Galway city. The breakfast menu is extensive and service is of a first class standard…engaging staff who were genuinely interested in their guests and ready to offer help and advice . The bedroom was luxurious and tastefully designed incorporating Tracey's millinery designs even in the shape of the bedside lamps! G cup cakes delivered to our room with complimentary glasses of Prosecco certainly was a lovely touch ! Super king size bed and sofa added to the whole experience. Complimentary newspaper on your doorstep each morning and if you want ice…you got ice…it was delivered to your door! The great, genuine, gracious 'g' experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popstwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for posting what can only be described as an amazing review of the g on Trip Advisor! It is absolutely fantastic to read feedback like this, it really motivates us all here in the g. I was so pleased to read that you enjoy Philip Treacy’s creation as well as all the attention to detail that makes staying in the g such a special experience.

The thermal suite in ESPA at the g is becoming more popular than ever and I was so pleased to read that you found time to visit this hidden treasure. I was particularly pleased to read your finishing line “The great, genuine, gracious 'g' experience”. These lovely words mean so much to us all here and I cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to ensure that your next visit to the g is as flawless. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. I hope that you had a safe trip home.

Best Wishes,
The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night getaway. Being In Galway it can't not be central, but still it's a good thing the rooms are so amazing because for the price you pay, the view is not. The rooms are amazing to say the least. The decor is modern and luxurious. You can almost smell the expense poured into the place to make it what it is.

From the lobby to the bar to the rooms to the toilets nothing is underdone. The receptionist was pleasant and polite yet efficiant. The bar man was friendly and quite the cocktail maker!! We arrived too late for the restaurant but the room service was fab. The breakfast was fantastic. From start to end I can't complain.

I would recommend this as a splurge for a loved one or special occasion, don't think you'll get any corporate rates here, although I believe they just earned a 5th star so fair play there.

Price wise I did find it quite extravagant for a boutique hotel but I'd pay it again just for those showers!!

Brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CitygirlE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the g during your recent visit to Galway. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to the city centre, as well as our modern and luxurious bedrooms. I was so pleased to read that you found our rooms to be amazing. In relation to the view, many of our Deluxe bedrooms offer views of Lough Atalia, as do all of our Junior Suites, Specialty Suites and our Penthouse.

I will be certain to share your kind comments with the entire team here at the hotel, especially our front of house and bar teams.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor, I am also delighted to announce that we do offer corporate rates for business travelers here at the g. If setting up a corporate rate is something that would interest you please contact our Sales & PR Manager, Sinead Cassidy at scassidy@theg.ie who would be delighted to go through our corporate packages with you.

I hope that we get to welcome you back to the g soon.

Kind Regards,

The g Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,752 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,042 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $177 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing